Hurling All-Stars 2013

He was good against Tipp, I really hardly remember him against cork.

Harnedy is a deserved All Star, not denying that.

Just find it hard that certain players are being championed for All Star awards when they concede 4-03 in a final (which they only lose by 6 points) while other players like Richie McCarthy concede far less in three games to their direct markers (the first job of any defender) but people still don’t rate them or even acknowledge them as contenders

He was the only Kilkenny forward that took the fight to Dublin. He can’t be blamed for the rest of the Kilkenny forward line disintegrating around him against Cork.

When are these awards actually announced so we can all continue with our futile arguments?

I can understand a non-KK person not seeing what Power was doing for them. When you are watching games involving your own team live and it’s close or they are in trouble you are always looking for someone to “do” something. Power was brilliant and incredibly consistent at this. Weather it was a score or win a free or catch a high ball or whatever. He was the man 7-8 out of 10 times than man this season. Brilliant.

Towards the end of October normally. Think the nominations are out in the next couple of days

Which team are they announcing before the awards night?

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 840262, member: 1552”]Harnedy is a deserved All Star, not denying that.

Just find it hard that certain players are being championed for All Star awards when they concede 4-03 in a final (which they only lose by 6 points) while other players like Richie McCarthy concede far less in three games to their direct markers (the first job of any defender) but people still don’t rate them or even acknowledge them as contenders[/quote]

I think he is very worthy of nomination. However I think a few inspiring catches have blinded some people.

Ah here, leave Gerry Quinn out of this.

He’s half back on my yet to be disclosed 15

What the hell you on About! Watch the game again will ya.

Harnedy had him in trouble for about 10 minutes in the 1st half after which Richie Stormed into the game. Christ Loughnane said it a half time that Richie was like the boy with the finger in the dyke! He was basically holding the whole thing together back there. He absolutely dominated the last 15/20 minutes of that half. He would have been man of the match in that game aswell only that he had nothing to do in the second half.

Look I have no problem Cork lads arguing for Shane O Neill. I would have had him in there ahead of McInerney only for the replay but quiet frankly some of the shit ye are talking about McCarthy only getting an all-Star because he “outran Eoin Kelly” and because he “made a few good catches” is insulting to a player who had an outstanding year for his County. Id like to think Im being fairly realistic about our all-star chances. We will and should get 1. Thats it

We await it with baited breath :rolleyes:

[quote=“The Burner, post: 840289, member: 1580”]What the hell you on About! Watch the game again will ya.

Harnedy had him in trouble for about 10 minutes in the 1st half after which Richie Stormed into the game. [/quote]

Funny that you dismissed David McInerney as being cleaned out by Maurice Shanahan something very similar happened in the Waterford Clare game when the Waterford half backline were on top and put excellent ball into Shanahan for a 10-15 minute spell in the first half, once the quality ball dried up McInerney took over and comfortably held Shanahan in the second half

You should.

Top 15 hurlers - not All-Stars

Anthony Nash

Paul Murphy
David McInerney
Michael Cahill

Brendan Bugler
Liam Rushe
Kevin Moran

Michael Fennelly
Brendan Maher

Richie Power
Tony Kelly
Seamus Harnedy

Podge Collins
Patrick Horgan
Noel McGrath

Top 15 footballers

Stephen Cluxton

Marc O’Se
Rory O’Carroll
Keith Higgins

Karl Lacey
Cian O’Sullivan
James McCarthy

Michael Darragh McAuley
Sean Cavanagh

Paul Flynn
Colm Cooper
Diarmuid Connolly

James O’Donoghue
Conor McManus
Colm McFadden

Socks Dunne is a glaring omission from your football list @Sidney

Yep you are right I should have specified 1st half. Waterford helped the situation by deciding to bring Shanahan out the field a bit. I rate McInerney chewy, just arguing with the point that both he and o Neill were better full backs.

Not saying you don’t rate him. I thought McInerney did very well v Waterford given it was his first champiosnhip start, he won everything on the floor that day and there isn’t an intercounty forward in the country who wouldn’t have made hay given the dominance of the Waterford half backline in that 15 or so minutes, he was getting serious quality ball. Once Duggan came on and we got a foot hold Shanahan was on the periphery again. Wouldn’t be using it as a stick to beat him with.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840234, member: 273”]

Harnedy is the best half forward in the game right now. Wake the fuck up ye tards.[/quote]
No he isn’t.

Tony Kelly is both the best midfielder and the best half forward in the game.