To the Brave and FaithfulâŚ
If such a split ever happened Iâd be in favour of a townies v culchies divide. Salt of the earth rural lads v the high flying city slickers.
To the Brave and FaithfulâŚ
If such a split ever happened Iâd be in favour of a townies v culchies divide. Salt of the earth rural lads v the high flying city slickers.
Sneaky Cork cunts trying to sneak back into division 1aâŚwhat a shower of wankersâŚ
[quote=âGman, post: 840075, member: 112â]I wasnt sure if it had been public knowledge or not, but have since seen it mentioned elsewhere so it can go here. The financial issue of this is something that has to be factored in too.
Last year, Wexford got âŹ4,500 income after their league campaign. The home gate against Antrim was the lowest ever recorded income since they kept records on what has been paid in. If this proposal goes ahead, and we once again only have 2 home games against low level opposition, then the financial hit will be even worse. (the footballers income was close to âŹ30,000 for their stint in Div 2. Home and away gates get split hence their large total as they get fuck all home support anyway)
Was that âŹ4,500 after expenses etc were paid?
nope. direct income from the gates.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 840076, member: 1552â]To the Brave and FaithfulâŚ
If such a split ever happened Iâd be in favour of a townies v culchies divide. Salt of the earth rural lads v the high flying city slickers.[/quote]
Iâm not sure anyone in Limerick city could be described as a high flyer. Maybe to you backward hicks I suppose.
In fairness at Limerickâs home league games this year (v Carlow, Antrim and Wexford) the total combined attendance for all three matches must have been barely 5 or 6k.
A home game with Clare next March would probably draw more than that alone. The CB have said that it was crippling them through lost revenue in the last few years being stuck in 1B.
Obviously this proposed new league benefits us but itâs bad for the game generally. Teams should be made earn promotion, not handed it on a plate because it suits certain counties. The GAA is a great organisation but antics like this make you wonder sometimes.
There would be 15,000 at Limerick V Clare in the Gaelic Grounds if they meet early in the 2014 league.
The Crescent Shopping Centre is like Times Square to people living out the county, mate.
Iâm guessing season ticket sales arenât factored into those numbers?
What about the lads who blag their way in as being part of another county panel?
[quote=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 840062, member: 1624â]I just feel the link may not be as major as people think. The seeding deal was all about revenue and nothing else. It probably suits Cork more than Kerry from that point of view as, with Pairc Ui Chaoimh going to be out of commission for a year or two, it will virtually guarantee a couple of big gates at Munster Football finals when it reopens.
Plus the mood for supporting the seeded draw came from the joke that is the Limerick Football Board who have done fuck-all to develop football in the county to the extent that every underage (and the senior) squad would rank 6 out of 6 in Munster at present. With the current structures and personalities governing football remaining in place, this wonât change in the foreseeable either.
Cork, in fairness, have supported an 8-team league since this prick-acting started in 2011. Limerick were also of the same mind and, despite pissing away 2 league finals since, both counties have at least been consistent in their approach. Kilkenny also favoured the 8-team structure with only Tipperary, of the Big 3, prevaricating as their delegate was harbouring ambitions for the Presidency and was dancing to Croke Parkâs tune.[/quote]
To be perfectly honest I didnât even know Limerick had a football board.
Certainly from a Cork POV there was only one man making calls. All these lads know each other well, the administrators of GAA are like a cult of men wearing cheap sports jackets and combed over hair that meet regularly for sandwiches for show. But the real decisions are made before anyone even arrives at these meetings. Youâd by the surprise that meets a challenge at CB meeting how the whole thing works.
Thatâs a good idea, but I wonder about the impact in the clubs. You would have to have âCounty weekendsâ alternating with âclub weekendsâ I think.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 840085, member: 1552â]In fairness at Limerickâs home league games this year (v Carlow, Antrim and Wexford) the total combined attendance for all three matches must have been barely 5 or 6k.
A home game with Clare next March would probably draw more than that alone. The CB have said that it was crippling them through lost revenue in the last few years being stuck in 1B.
[quote=âGman, post: 840075, member: 112â]I wasnt sure if it had been public knowledge or not, but have since seen it mentioned elsewhere so it can go here. The financial issue of this is something that has to be factored in too.
Last year, Wexford got âŹ4,500 income after their league campaign. The home gate against Antrim was the lowest ever recorded income since they kept records on what has been paid in. If this proposal goes ahead, and we once again only have 2 home games against low level opposition, then the financial hit will be even worse. (the footballers income was close to âŹ30,000 for their stint in Div 2. Home and away gates get split hence their large total as they get fuck all home support anyway)
As a comparison, Kilkennys national league income was reported to be over âŹ80,000. I dont have figures on the other counties, but they would all generally be much closer to that figure than the paltry figure in the lower division. So by doing this, you are really creating a massive financial divide in the counties. Not only are they making Div 2 pretty shit with more weaker team coming into it and less competetive games, they are increasing the games in Div 1 and thereby increasing their revenues.
Wexford may well go up after the first year, but after playing a year of shit to effectively compete with them and Offaly, they will be hammered out the gate by the 7 teams left in Div 1 who will have had more competetive games against better opposition, and itâll be Wexford and Offally yo-yoing up and down with some random side in Div 1 who will go down and more than likely come straight back up and then itâll be back to the same crap they had where the Div 2 will be worthless once again.[/quote]
Gman youâre off your game. Itâs nobodies but Wexfords fault for low attendances.
Not saying I agree with the way they are doing this (Iâm not even 100 how they are doing this) but people not going into a match in Wexford is their own problem
[quote=âMac, post: 840107, member: 109â]Iâm guessing season ticket sales arenât factored into those numbers?
What about the lads who blag their way in as being part of another county panel?[/quote]
season tickets probably would, but I doubt many in Wexford bought these.
if they didnt pay money, then how would they get income from it? fucksake Mac.
[quote=âGman, post: 840114, member: 112â]
if they didnt pay money, then how would they get income from it? fucksake Mac.[/quote]
Youâve a short memory.
Wasnât there players a few years ago who were asked to pay in and kicked up a massive fuss.
[quote=âMac, post: 840115, member: 109â]Youâve a short memory.
Wasnât there players a few years ago who were asked to pay in and kicked up a massive fuss.[/quote]
Matty was asked to pay in but I think be might have been on the panel at the time.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 840113, member: 273â]Gman youâre off your game. Itâs nobodies but Wexfords fault for low attendances.
Not saying I agree with the way they are doing this (Iâm not even 100 how they are doing this) but people not going into a match in Wexford is their own problem[/quote]
not really Kev. If Wexford are playing Tipperary or cork or Clare, they will get more poeple going to it. If they are playing Carlow or Westmeath, they wont. They were in Division 1 and were relegated off the field of play, and now when there is a semblance of a competetive Div 2, they are changing that off the field too. Plus, Wexford have no control over the fact that the 8 counties in Div 1 get a higher revenue through having more games.
I do take on board that they should be getting more into the games, but if the GAA organise a league with that is less competetive and with weaker teams, then people arent going to go to it, and thats not in their control. Yes, they can get promoted, but as I said, they already were and then were shunted down.
[quote=âMac, post: 840115, member: 109â]Youâve a short memory.
Wasnât there players a few years ago who were asked to pay in and kicked up a massive fuss.[/quote]
that was for a Kilanerin championship game. and the issue was that the Kilanerin secretary had given out all the passes at the gate to the squad and whoever else was left. Matty turned up (not playing due to injury), no passes left, and still expected to get in for free, and kicked up a fuss.
Ha, you have to pay into games you are actually playing in, in Oz. Ironically at amateur level is most expensive, Semi-Pro less so and pros donât pay anything.