"I wouldnât know anything about that hurler transferring counties to play with us only to say heâd be a great asset to have, but I wouldnât know anything about that, no. "
Itâs an interesting thought and Iâd love if it was true but I really donât think it is.
Itâs just a regional thing Iâm guessing. There are curious unique aspects to mentality in every county.
Using some overstated broad stereotypesâŚ
In the same way that:
[LIST]
[]Cork kids are told that Cork is the greatest place in the world and a surprisingly large amount actually buy it
[]Tipp kids are obsessed with winning an AI and everything goes out the window once they do
[]Mayo, Waterford and Limerick seem to have bottled bottling generationally
[]Angry Nordies pass their angry Nordieness onto their angry Nordy kids
[]Those cute Kerry hoors are taught how to be cute Kerry hoors
[]Kilkenny kids are ingrained with understatement and humility that borders on cumbersome shyness
[/LIST]
That doesnât work well in a media that are dying for soundbytes to attract interest to their stories and punters who demand to be entertained.
It would be great if everyone was like Dinny Cahill predicting how they are going to retire players and the like and turning interviews into WWE style promos but you just canât afford to do that in the modern era. e.g. Having Iarla Tannion declare before the 2012 AI Final replay that âWhen the ball is thrown in on Sunday, Michael Fennelly, Iâm gonna pull neck high and break my hurl off your faceâ. Not sure how that would go down with the CCCCCCC, might sell a few more tickets to lesser games assuming lads fulfilled their threats. The simple idea in the media is to give your opponents nothing to work with other than the natural need to beat you. Nothing more.
Eddie Brennan is doing a decent job with RTE, not amazing or anything but heâs progressing well.
John Tennyson on Setanta looked a bit nervous in the Cork Laois game.
[quote=âcluaindiuic, post: 908592, member: 258â]
It would be great if everyone was like Dinny Cahill predicting how they are going to retire players and the like and turning interviews into WWE style promos but you just canât afford to do that in the modern era. e.g. Having Iarla Tannion declare before the 2012 AI Final replay that âWhen the ball is thrown in on Sunday, Michael Fennelly, Iâm gonna pull neck high and break my hurl off your faceâ. Not sure how that would go down with the CCCCCCC, might sell a few more tickets to lesser games assuming lads fulfilled their threats. The simple idea in the media is to give your opponents nothing to work with other than the natural need to beat you. Nothing more.
.[/quote]
Couldnât agree more. The game would benefit from it in the long run but there would be a lot of outrage before it becomes the norm. There just isnât any motivation for the players to do it though. They get no financial return from ticket sales, and they are not at all insulated from the public so making themselves hate figures has a significant cost. I guess what youâd really need is some mould breaking team to come along who are arrogant as fuck and deliberately play up that angle. They would be despised but theyâd change things too.
Wonât happen though. The best we can hope for is a Loughnane style lunatic to come along every now and then and grab the publicâs attention. Love him or hate him, he knew how to grab the headlines.
he was right about those fat Offaly bastards too, Div 3 here we come
[quote=âSidney, post: 908458, member: 183â]Quality listening on Sunday Sport today as Darren Frehill congratulated Colin Fennelly on his 3-4 scoring haul in the Kilkenny-Tipperary match.
Colin: âThe lads put it on a plate for me for a few of ''em, it was their hard work - I was happy enough today to be the man to put the ball in the goal and put the ball over the bar today.â
Darren: "You need to tune in tonight to League Sunday this evening on RTE2, and see your third goal, an absolute belter and that one was made by yourself, as well, a terrific individual effort.
Colin (in an embarrassed, modest tone): âThanks very much.â
Darren: A great comeback by Kilkenny, in fact it was a 16 point turnaround. What do you put that down to?
Colin: I suppose⌠the will to win, I suppose.
Darren: Well the message, clearly from Nowlan Park today is that Kilkenny are not going away.
Colin (in an embarrassed, modest tone):âThanks very much.â[/quote]
Fennelly would not generally be know for his sharp intellect.
[quote=âWatch The Break, post: 908602, member: 260â]Couldnât agree more. The game would benefit from it in the long run but there would be a lot of outrage before it becomes the norm. There just isnât any motivation for the players to do it though. They get no financial return from ticket sales, and they are not at all insulated from the public so making themselves hate figures has a significant cost. I guess what youâd really need is some mould breaking team to come along who are arrogant as fuck and deliberately play up that angle. They would be despised but theyâd change things too.
Wonât happen though. The best we can hope for is a Loughnane style lunatic to come along every now and then and grab the publicâs attention. Love him or hate him, he knew how to grab the headlines.[/quote]
Davy Fitz does it - cleverly draws attention from his players to himself
[quote=âWatch The Break, post: 908602, member: 260â]Couldnât agree more. The game would benefit from it in the long run but there would be a lot of outrage before it becomes the norm. There just isnât any motivation for the players to do it though. They get no financial return from ticket sales, and they are not at all insulated from the public so making themselves hate figures has a significant cost. I guess what youâd really need is some mould breaking team to come along who are arrogant as fuck and deliberately play up that angle. They would be despised but theyâd change things too.
Wonât happen though. The best we can hope for is a Loughnane style lunatic to come along every now and then and grab the publicâs attention. Love him or hate him, he knew how to grab the headlines.[/quote]
Retaining titles in GAA is so difficult that it is tough to try and be the bad guy and trolling teams before matches. Youâd want to be 100% sure that you will win otherwise youâd look ridiculous. See Dinny Cahill.
If any of ye are watching UFC lately, they are beginning to move towards this type of WWE mentality. The womenâs champion there, Ronda Rousey[former Judo Olympic medalist], has even described herself using wrestling terminology as a heel[Wrestling for âbad guyâ]. She is doing a good job at getting the crowd to hate her [e.g. after arm-barring her opponent in submission Rousey then refused to shake her opponents hand] and sheâll make money from that because the crowd will pay to watch her lose, whenever it is. Here she is explaining the lack of handshake.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HHESvcU1FA
Chael Sonnen is pretty much the same, loud mouth, making money from talking himself up before fights. Doesnât seem to matter that he has been KTFO in 3 of his last 4. He is box office.
Iâd settle for honest interviews. Honest as in âYeah, weâre flat, training is not going well, I dunno what to expectâ. Rather than the yerra nonsense that is everywhere in GAA. But honest ones are even less likely than the hype ones.
Itâd stick in WTBâs throat to give Davy any hop.
[quote=âcluaindiuic, post: 908620, member: 258â]Retaining titles in GAA is so difficult that it is tough to try and be the bad guy and trolling teams before matches. Youâd want to be 100% sure that you will win otherwise youâd look ridiculous. See Dinny Cahill.
If any of ye are watching UFC lately, they are beginning to move towards this type of WWE mentality. The womenâs champion there, Ronda Rousey[former Judo Olympic medalist], has even described herself using wrestling terminology as a heel[Wrestling for âbad guyâ]. She is doing a good job at getting the crowd to hate her [e.g. after arm-barring her opponent in submission Rousey then refused to shake her opponents hand] and sheâll make money from that because the crowd will pay to watch her lose, whenever it is. Here she is explaining the lack of handshake.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HHESvcU1FA
Chael Sonnen is pretty much the same, loud mouth, making money from talking himself up before fights. Doesnât seem to matter that he has been KTFO in 3 of his last 4. He is box office.
Iâd settle for honest interviews. Honest as in âYeah, weâre flat, training is not going well, I dunno what to expectâ. Rather than the yerra nonsense that is everywhere in GAA. But honest ones are even less likely than the hype ones.[/quote]
Sean Og was great for the honest ones and look how you treated him.
What did I do?
[quote=âcluaindiuic, post: 908592, member: 258â]
Eddie Brennan is doing a decent job with RTE, not amazing or anything but heâs progressing well.
John Tennyson on Setanta looked a bit nervous in the Cork Laois game.[/quote]
agree re Eddie Brennan. One of the better anaylsts on RTE.
Who are you comparing him to?
nearly every one else they have on!. Cyril and Mulcahy are on for years now. You can predict what they will come up with at this stage. Brennanâs Sunday Times articles last year were interesting.
Eddie Brennan is a better analyst than everyone RTĂ have?
Cyril is an institution, hopefully theyâll never remove him. Himself and Loughnane are a great pairing. Unintentional comedy at times.
Mulcahy is just woeful, doubt he has ever made an interesting comment in all his years on it. âKilkenny are still Kilkenny, Michael.â
Ollie Moran is an excellent analyst and will be used a bit more by RTE this year I believe.
Think he did the Tipp-KK game foe radio yesterday. Heard him after the match on the way back from the Gaelic Grounds.
Last night on the radio an excitable Des Cahill asked Brian Cody if he could remember one of his Kilkenny teams conceding 5 goals before. He said he couldnât remember. FFS. Without having to trawl through obscure matches I can remember at least two. The 2003 league final when they conceded 5-13 to Tipp and won and the AI semi in 2005 when they conceded 5-18 to Galway and lost.
One other observation on KK. Itâs a bit early to be writing them up as All Ireland champions based on yesterday. They always play out of their skins against Tipp especially in Nolan park. So you tend to get a false read on where KK are if you focus on the Tipp games. Pundits fell into that trap twice last year. In reality theyâve entered a phase of long slow decline which will be punctuated by the odd hammering of Tipp but which will otherwise be gloomy enough.
[quote=âFagan ODowd, post: 908734, member: 706â]In reality theyâve entered a phase of long slow decline which will be punctuated by the odd hammering of Tipp but which will otherwise be gloomy enough.[/quote] Well that makes me feel just wonderful, thanks buddy.