Hurling League 2014

[quote=“Sidney, post: 840226, member: 183”]Do you think it’s acceptable to arbitrarily change the already agreed format of a competition without telling anybody?

Do you think this would happen once in any other sport?

Do you think it would happen twice in two years in any other sport?[/quote]

But it’s not the same thing.

Wexford got fucked the last time, not right. But what did they do about it? Did they rise up and get support from other small counties, did they Rock th boat? Did it really bother their CB enough? I think iTs negative to all those. If you want things to change you need action, not words.

The 4 teams involved in the up down this year are all going up. That’s the end of it.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 840226, member: 183”]Do you think it’s acceptable to arbitrarily change the already agreed format of a competition without telling anybody?

Do you think this would happen once in any other sport?

Do you think it would happen twice in two years in any other sport?[/quote]

I really don’t give that much of a fuck. I think the league is a load of bollix and should be scrapped anyway.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840217, member: 273”]So you are still bitter about something that happened 2 years ago because not the exact same thing happened thi year. The way I see it nobody is losing out here from this seasons results.

You are working up about nothing here[/quote]

I’m not particularly bitter over 2 years ago, just annoyed at the complete disregard the GAA shows in their consistency.

despite 2 of our league games being Cork and Limerick replaced by Carlow and Westmeath? that to me is us losing out. plus it is also creating a wider gap to the rest of the teams that we were slowly bridging.

I think thats the crux of it here though. I’d put a good deal of importance on the league, as it is one of the main sources of competetive games and income. If I didnt give a shit about the league, I wouldnt give a shit what they are doing.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840241, member: 273”]But it’s not the same thing.

Wexford got fucked the last time, not right. But what did they do about it? Did they rise up and get support from other small counties, did they Rock th boat? Did it really bother their CB enough? I think iTs negative to all those. If you want things to change you need action, not words.

The 4 teams involved in the up down this year are all going up. That’s the end of it.[/quote]

What would your view be if the league structure in 2014 stayed as it was this year, Cork won promotion on the field of play next April and then the following October they were told “actually sorry, we’re not having any promotion this year. Stay down in IB for another year.”

Regardless of the teams involved it is totally wrong to change the rules and shift the goalposts without any prior warning.

To be honest the whole system is wrong, ridiculous to change the league structure because one of the dominant teams was relegated and they’ve a new stadium to pay for.[/quote]

10 team league that runs from March till May, 2up 2 down- Shorter Championship.

American football style groups of 3 x 4 - and a series of play offs to get more championship like games.

Have a big fuck off league that runs from chrimbo to may but where teams are given a handicap- Thereby you have to play a number of u21 or development players against weaker counties- that will also ensure no burnout (except the weaker counties but who cares about them)- loads of games for the weaker counties to bring them on.

or else just leave it as it is? gobshites…

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 840245, member: 1552”]What would your view be if the league structure in 2014 stayed as it was this year, Cork won promotion on the field of play next April and then the following October they were told “actually sorry, we’re not having any promotion this year. Stay down in IB for another year.”

Regardless of the teams involved it is totally wrong to change the rules and shift the goalposts without any prior warning.[/quote]

It is. Never said it wasn’t. It’s wrong.

But two things

1. people let this happen. It’s the same in Cork with the club scene. Nobody wants things to change enough. Nobody has the balls (well not enough anyway, some do) to stand up to Frank and the other wankers. Clubs wait 5 months from 1st round to 2nd round because their board rep won’t rock the boat as he is in line for a big job. Those same clubs don’t have the balls or will to get rid of these delegates. They reap what they sow. In a bigger scale Wexford (and everyone else) let the likes of Frank run our games. He just happens to be from Cork, but the fact is he is a self serving cunt, but other counties don’t have his staying power or his ability to manipulate. Either start a war or shut the fuck up. Wexford andLimericks delegates are letting this happen.

2. the league isn’t worth a wank. It will never be worth anything until it affects what championship you play in or wins you home advantage to a certain stage or rewards you Ina any way for the real deal. Do that and counties wouldn’t be long getting their house in order.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 840248, member: 1796”]10 team league that runs from March till May, 2up 2 down- Shorter Championship.

American football style groups of 3 x 4 - and a series of play offs to get more championship like games.

Have a big fuck off league that runs from chrimbo to may but where teams are given a handicap- Thereby you have to play a number of u21 or development players against weaker counties- that will also ensure no burnout (except the weaker counties but who cares about them)- loads of games for the weaker counties to bring them on.

or else just leave it as it is? gobshites…[/quote]

Full of ideas today Renton. What gives?

Nothing really, half piss taking but just think it’s a whole load of bollox. Like you said, the league isn’t worth a wank really but if these fucks are going to introduce change, introduce something radical and forward thinking… Changing the numbers is gonna achieve fuck all.

Radical and forward thinking that doesn’t fuck anyone over.

Who is being fucked over here mate?

You just don’t get it, do you?

Nope. I think it’s retarded.

Cork and Limerick are the winners in this. There are inevitably corresponding losers. If you can’t see how other teams are being fucked over then you are just being wilfully close minded. Gman had this thing sewn up in about 2 or 3 posts and you still don’t seem to get it. It is retarded though.

I think Wexfords problems a re a bit deeper than the few 100 extra bob they’d get from one of Cork or Limerick down there. It’s an astonishing over reaction.

But nobody does anything about it, so I have no sympathy.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840276, member: 273”]I think Wexfords problems a re a bit deeper than the few 100 extra bob they’d get from one of Cork or Limerick down there. It’s an astonishing over reaction.

But nobody does anything about it, so I have no sympathy.[/quote]

You really are a pussy. MBB has u well trained.

You don’t get it Kev. It’s been spelled out for you forwards and backwards for you. You’re not a stupid person, so as I said you are just wilfully close minded, which is worse than being stupid really. There’s no point engaging with you because you would rather repeat yourself over and over which just makes you look like an increasingly vexed dicktard.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840276, member: 273”]I think Wexfords problems a re a bit deeper than the few 100 extra bob they’d get from one of Cork or Limerick down there. It’s an astonishing over reaction.

But nobody does anything about it, so I have no sympathy.[/quote]

The inter-county side has taken steps forwards in recent years, not huge steps but progressive steps like drawing with Dublin and Clare in the championship and winning the Leinster U-21 title. For the senior side this return to competitiveness coincided with playing a higher standard of opposition during the League. Games are played at a faster, more intense pace than they are against the likes of Carlow and Kerry and the team have clearly responded to that.

You’ve utterly embarrassed yourself in this debate and I’d expect someone working with a professional sports set up (or having experience of this) to at least know that playing against better opposition makes you a better competitor.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 840282, member: 306”]The inter-county side has taken steps forwards in recent years, not huge steps but progressive steps like drawing with Dublin and Clare in the championship and winning the Leinster U-21 title. For the senior side this return to competitiveness coincided with playing a higher standard of opposition during the League. Games are played at a faster, more intense pace than they are against the likes of Carlow and Kerry and the team have clearly responded to that.

You’ve utterly embarrassed yourself in this debate and I’d expect someone working with a professional sports set up (or having experience of this) to at least know that playing against better opposition makes you a better competitor.[/quote]

I’m talking about Wexfords administration croppy. Not the players. My point is not that it isn’t better to play better teams, it’s that it’s over for now for Wexford, so they should be taking a different angle and taking a positive outlook. Guck the begrudgers and drive on a la Clare & Cork.

The manager doesn’t seem like the right type of guy to bring a young team forward if I’m honest. Makes a lot if excuses and does a lot of moaning.

As for Frank pulling stunts. Elect strong characters to your boards. It’s the only counter to that shit. I abhor the carry on of the Cork CB for what it’s worth.

Shut your mouth, we’ve spoken about this in the past. Now, log off for an hour.