But then lads will be giving out about the stop start nature of the game and the whistehappiness of the referee.
Send off a few lads for the spare arm tackle, that’ll soften the cough and there’ll be little of it done soon enough.
But then lads will be giving out about the stop start nature of the game and the whistehappiness of the referee.
Send off a few lads for the spare arm tackle, that’ll soften the cough and there’ll be little of it done soon enough.
Then we’d have everyone giving out about all the frees. I actually think the rules as they are are actually sufficient, if they were enforced. But there’d be a bedding in period when it’d be frees everywhere.
65 make rate at Liam McCarthy level is about 80%, so it’s definitely not a gimme
I think the punishment of a 65 isn’t right though. A great save getting punished with a free uncontested scoring chance actually doesn’t make sense. Same for something like a poxy deflection after a ruck etc.
I’d suggest something by like basketball - incoming ball from endline out of hand that has to go beyond the 21
To echo another comment - so, so many ‘issues’ in the game would be solved by a scaling back of the sliotars… and then scaling back or truly restricting Hurley bas sizes
When the 3-up rule and the 50 yard rule for not handing the ball back in football was brought in we were told it would cause chaos also - 99% of players cop on to things very quickly.
If hurling is to ever spread outside its traditional areas then Down would be one of the counties it would have the best chance in, probably 2nd to Kildare, as there is a tradition in parts and we have urban areas with big populations. With football being almost completely unwatchable for 2 decades progress was being made too - Castlewellan is the very centre of Down football country but this year they had enough hurlers to field 2 minor teams but were struggling to put out a football team at that age group. However with football reinvented, and hurling getting worse, I’d say a lot of that progress will unravel in the next few years. Hurling will always be strong in some areas, but them areas will only shrink further if the game is allowed to just drift along in its current direction.
But if you remove the shooting chance from a 65 then you will have an uptick of defenders just putting the ball out over their end line when under pressure which they don’t do today.
Better to give away that incoming ball you have suggested rather than trying to deal with a ball under pressure facing your own goal.
Make it an indirect free.
Patrick Hoggie Horgan thinks strict application of the steps rule would eradicate a lot of fouls…
Where is that clip from you’re hardly on the tickety tock that you hate!!!
Hoggies suggestion makes sense
Forcing 15 seconds for puck out after a wide I don’t know…you’d have fellas killing the game shooting from anywhere knowing they can get fully reset for puckout
I’m a master of pro Limerick propaganda on there on behalf of the side group.
The battle for hearts and minds is 24/7 online cc @Raylan
It would have to be with your experience and knowledge
I 100% agree with him (although I still maintain it’s very difficult for refs to start counting steps the second a player receives the ball because of all the other things they have to deal with).
Some very good points made by him there, hopefully he has been in touch with Meyler.
Allow pass to the keeper but he can’t handle it. Can strike on the ground or from the hurley.
Increase the depth and width of the penalty box. Say 20m deep x 30m wide
Indirect frees for technical fouls. Turn over possession but not give a free shot at goal.
Change from a 65 to a sideline cut taken near the corner flat.
Even the Joe Show wouldn’t put that one over in his prime.
That’s a good one.
One point game in the last minute; a lad is bottled up but deliberately fouls the ball knowing that an indirect free and chance to reset is more advantageous than getting turned over. I’m not sure
A player takes more than four steps if taking a striking from a standing position to drive it down the field. That would have to be enforce also
I still think enforcing the rules we have would improve the game a lot. Think horgan is spot on about steps. It should be a first step rather than going making rule changes.
Goalkeepers get away with this a lot… start slowing down taking another 5 steps walking, then plant feet and strike.
It’s like refs take their eye off it completely keeping an eye on other things
Hawk eye for steps? Can have it so a light flashes on a player’s helmet