I'm going into town now

I’m just back from a sneaky trip into town. I hopped on a red line Luas in Pretend IRA territory and alighted at Abbey St.

I then made my way across O’Connell Street, onto Henry Street and my first port of call was:

1. Vision Express. I picked up a packet of contact lenses here having recently received a text notification advising me they were available for collection. The young gentleman serving me asked if I was “on the scheme”. I quickly got into negotiation mode and replied that I thought I was on the scheme but I didn’t have the paperwork with me, but why does it matter anyway. He said people on the scheme get free contact lens solution with their order so I said, ah yeah, of course, I usually get the solution so I’m actually pretty sure I’m on the scheme now that I think about it. I took possession of the lenses and a large bottle of free soft lens cleaning solution and made my way to:

2. The Ilac Centre :face_with_hand_over_mouth:
    My life partner bought various items of clothing for her niece in Dunnes Stores there yesterday. However, the size of a particular pair of leggings didn’t match the size on the hanger. A real schoolgirl error not to double check herself in truth. I made the exchange and also purchased a €100 (one hundred) gift voucher at the cash register. I’ll give this to my Mam as a contribution to my eating and drinking at the homeplace over Christmas.

I then went into the back entrance of Debenham’s from the Ilac Centre side and through the store and out the front door to get to:

1. Arnott’s
    I tend to save my good suits for occasions and have a few cheaper ones for standard office wear. Unfortunately my imposing thighs and bandy walking style results in lots of chafing and all too often I end up with holes on the inner thigh/balls area of suit trousers. Not on the stitching which can be fixed up, but tears on the actual wool itself. As a result of recent rips, I wanted to buy a couple of pairs of “men’s trousers” for work. I went to the men’s section and procured two functional pairs of Meyer trousers, one in black and another in charcoal. The German brand’s trousers, while not particularly stylish, retailed at €115 each.

I then made my way downstairs to the sport section and bought a new pair of Asics jogging runners. I’d taken note of my size this morning, found an acceptable running shoe on display in that size, put it on, confirmed the fit and then brought it up to the counter and asked could I get it in the exact same size. There was no need to try them both on. Pleased with the efficiency of my Arnott’s business I then made my way to

1. Jervis Street shopping centre.
    The big Boot’s had no Carabel so I made my way upstairs to the Celtic Store. Here I purchased an official club onesie for my son in size 6-12 months. It’s a green and white hooped garment with the crest on it and the feet part is designed/colored black in such a way that it looks like football boots. It was a delightfully cute purchase.

I then went back downstairs and out and made my way around the corner to:

1. Smyth’s Toys
    I bought some vouchers for various nieces/nephews here. I had also planned to purchase a Vtech Kidi Super Star Light Show for my niece but it came in an awfully big box so I decided to buy it online later.

I then walked down to the Jervis Street stop and hopped on a Luas heading back to the financial district and was back to my desk in work circa 1hr 40mins after leaving.

When I got back to my desk I logged on and purchased the aforementioned light show for my niece (choosing for it to be delivered to my folks’ house in Wexford to save on car space).

Then I got an urge, went onto the O’Neill’s site and impulse bought a Dublin mini kit for my son in age 1-2 (he can wear it next summer during the championship) and a Wexford GAA padded jacket for early 2019 national league game attendance for myself.

I then rang up a local chemist and ordered 4 boxes of Carabel.

All in all, it was a very successful bout of shopping. It combined traditional high street buys, online transactions, phone call ordering, interaction with people, browsing internet catalogues and so on. A mix of the old and new.

I’ll definitely go into town again before Christmas.

You’re some auld fanny, do you know that ?

I got given out to yesterday for telling lads on the golf thread I was going playing golf :man_shrugging:

Golf? What kind of an auld fanny plays golf? Are you 70 (seventy)?

dude you just regaled the forum that you had to buy new pants because of your old man balls.

a €100 (one hundred) gift voucher as a contribution to my eating and drinking at the homeplace over Christmas.

Have you no decency? You could come out of negotiation mode for your poor mother, and you eating all around you over the season.

No you fanny.
You logged in to tell us you were going golfing as opposed to boring us to death regaling how the Golf went.
Big difference there and you should apologize to @bandage for your outlandish comparison ( not a comparison at all ).

That’s good shopping.

While I enjoyed the post I find it odd that people actually ‘liked’ it. I doubt that was your intention, surely you were settling in for an afternoon of abuse, the sycophants have fucked it up for you now

this is a thread for telling people you are going shopping or planning to go to town.

Not for regaling people with what you bought in town and how you bought it.

I feel @Bandage should open a new thread and apologize to the forum.

and I also feel you should remove your tongue out of his sizeable, pants breaking, arse

A disgusting retort.

Did you make sure your bowels were empty before you left the house?

I liked it and then abused him, as was appropriate

it’s not really.

Go away and answer the question on your FAO that I’ve asked you repeatedly and don’t be annoying me

You’ve a wonderful way of telling a story. It feels like we were there with you every step along the way (bar the changing room when you were trying on your specialist trousers).

Did you make any stop for a snack/refreshment or was it just full steam ahead?

It’s actually the way he tells them.

It’s an art in itself and one not to be jealous of but admired and cherished. We’re very lucky as a forum of brothers to have him.

Amen to that.

I wonder what he’ll do tomorrow

Da fuq

Wondeful post pal.