I'm going into town now

Was done up a bit – meaning, varnished in places – in quite recent past. But still an oasis of proper ‘pubness’, I think. Down to earth boozer, really.

Sign in every half an hour so you can know your safe @Fat_Pox

Your poor wife is frantic, will you send her a message for Gods sake, those poor kids :astonished:

Cleary’s is the sort of pub which gives off strong vibes that anybody under the age of 35 is not particularly welcome.

I’m increasingly finding that to be a good thing in a pub.

I don’t think I ever set foot in it until I was around 36 - actually I was possibly there once when I was 31.

The clientele are grand, in my experience. No rough vibe at all. Lot of salty Dubs who enjoy porter. I enjoy listening to them.

First ran across Cleary’s when we were looking for a good pub within handy distance of SFX gigs. Was obvious, by the exterior, it was an old style place. Back then, in the mid to late 1980s, Cleary’s was much more like the Gravediggers.

Spent most of the night of the 2010 AIF in Cleary’s with Keith Duggan and Seán Moran. Was a good distraction from the disappointment. Neither of them had been there before and both of them loved it. More tellingly, I left my phone behind me and did not realize until the next morning. Went back into Cleary’s at lunchtime, before trip home from Busáras. The barman saluted me as I came in the door: “You’re after your phone, I’d say? You’re in luck. Someone handed it in.”

Not something you forget. So I became even keener on Cleary’s, on extolling its non roughness.

Picture perfect

You’ve made me a tfkism you bollocks

Thats a fair enough summation. I’d only ever really venture to a couple of pubs around Croke Park on matchdays, North of the Liffey but I make an exception for Hugh in The Boars Head.

The only time i was ever slightly nervous in a Dublin pub was in one up by Dalymount Park before a Dublin Derby between Bohs and Rovers way back in 2019.

Thanks fella, home safe now, the novenas can stop.

I’ll regale all with my tales later.

Tomorrow looks like a day for the dame tavern followed by Peadar kearneys

Quite the enjoyable day.

@Malarkey I was in Clearys before 1. I was their first customer of the day, although 5 minutes after my entrance three seasoned drinkers appeared. It’s a lovely pub. Reminds me of a smaller, tidier Mulligans without any of their pretentiousness. The barman was a gent and at €5-50 a pint I doubt there are many cheaper pints in Dublin. I had a few pints on the day of the 2021 AI hurling final a few doors up in Lloyds and Mullets with @Declan_Moffat. We should have been in Clearys. That mistake won’t be made again.

After one in Clearys I ambled down Talbot St. The Gardai have boots on the ground although looking at some of them I doubt they could handle a 1st year CSPE class. Talbot St really is a mad place. A melting pot of new Irish, lost foreign tourists and the Antos and Decos of Dublin. @binkybarnes I saw a lad from a distance with a hurley. As I approached him I recognised him. It wasn’t for personal protection but a young lad from school who is stone mad about hurling tipping away with a sliotar as he walked along.

After a disappointing lunch in the Golden Whisk i hit into the Savoy. Cillian Murphy gives a Tour de France as does Emily Blunt. However the bit with the congressional hearings/interview at the end is at a minimum 20 mins too long. Its a good show but I’m no fan of Nolans fancy atoms splitting/exploding or the loud humming noises/beats that reach cresendos at different times.

After that I crossed O’ Connell st to the Oval. It was fairly packed with tourists. The kind of ones that would buy a pint of Guinness, nurse it for an hour and not finish it. A poor business model for a pub if you ain’t charging top dollar.

Back over O’ Connell st again aiming for my favourite haunt Briodys. Had the one there again. A noble spot. A right crew of real Dubs there. Ranging from the PO sorting crew to a table of auld wans drinking pints of Guinness.

I had then had to return home. Back by 7 as Mrs Pox was arriving back after herself and @backinatracksuit looked after my crew for the day. Then off the hop got a msg from @Declan_Moffat who back in the auld sod. Met him and crew for two pints in Gibneys.

A great day all round.

Dublin is a cracking city

41 Likes

Hard to top the above @Fat_Pox

But… I have the rest of the week off & I’ve a great day mapped out for myself tomorrow. The most touristy/culchie day ever.

Getting the train to Dublin, i’ll be there for 9am.

I’m finally gonna get a look inside the Guinness storehouse for 9:45am.

I’m expecting to be disappointed tbh but I want to tick it off in my head. I also won’t be getting my head printed on a pint that’s even too much for me.

I’ll then be heading to the zoo (12:30pm) which I’m extremely excited about, I was there I think 2/3 years ago now & had a very enjoyable time in there, it was during Covid so not even sure everything was open.

I’ll get dinner/lunch & I’m then gonna finish off the day with a good few pints (Guinness obviously) in a few different locations if i can. Dublin has the greatest pubs in ireland, don’t bother coming at me.

My biggest obstacle is how I’ll move around. Distance between each point. Foot/Taxi/Luas/bus etc… I’ll have to sus that out later as I don’t really know.

I have all my tickets bought & i’ll have a few podcasts & tunes downloaded to keep me company along the journey.

I’ll be back in Colbert for 9.10pm

I would be shocked if this doesn’t turn out to be the greatest day of my life tbh. I won’t sleep a wink tonight.

My expected expenses.

Train - 50e
Storehouse - 26e
Zoo - 20e
Food/drink - 70/80e?

25 Likes

A Dublin bike is prob your best bet to getting to Guinness and the zoo. You can then park it off in the city centre as you swallow pints.

The Guinness Storehouse and Zoo remind me of activities a Club GAA Manager would come up with as part of a team bonding trip, to avoid the narrative that its all ‘only a piss up’.

Fair play to you though. Make sure you get the breakfast in Heuston Station before the Storehouse to make it a 10/10 day out.

Sounds great, my only observation would be I’d have done them in reverse. Zoo first, then the storehouse. It would give you a better lead in to the pints.

You’d want to bring a hurling helmet just for safety.

I’ll hopefully be in the dame tavern to watch the racing in York.

all of a sudden I think me and @FlakeAway could be friends.

McEntee will be on the news later promising more Garda overtime as you’re wheeled away in a bodybag in the background with a hatchet stuck in your head.

@FlakeAway will be attacked by a lion at the zoo after letting his guard down after surviving walking through the streets of Dublin.

Fuck you might be right there but I dunno how much I’ll enjoy the zoo I don’t want to rushing away outta it to go to the storehouse. There’s times on the tickets, not sure if they are strict on that or what. I’m just Gettin the storehouse outta the way early really tbh to enjoy the rest of day