I'm going into town now

I like it for an early afternoon pint but wouldn’t go in after 5 o clock

Have only ever been in after 5 and never impressed. Felt like bar staff thought they were asked a favour to pull you a pint

I was in town last night at a REM tribute band gig in the Grand Social beside the Halfpenny Bridge.

A great show in fairness.

Poor place for a gig though. A bit of a kip.

I called into the Flowing Tide briefly beforehand. The place has lost its character. No sign of any regulars and now all shiny and sparkly. Functional bar people as well.

The upstairs venue there? Always found it fine for a show of a certain size.

That’s it.

The lights were all over the shop last night. Also the bar was a load of shite.

Sound was very good though.

That’s the main thing for me. I never really think about the bar if I’m going to see a band. The likelihood is the draw on pints won’t be great.

I’ve to pick up a Dickie Bow and a vinyl
Record.

I’ll report on the mood in town later.

Try not to set fire to anything.

Not even a celebratory cigar.

please tell me thats rhyming slang

You’ll be alright for another hour or two. The rioters are still in bed

I’ve postponed my trip to town as I had some domestic chores to attend to which I decided to prioritise and am now going to go to the gym.

I was in town late morning*, back to Dublin 5 for a while & I’m going back into town again now^.

*not to riot

^not to riot

Town was eerily quiet today. I left work early (and encouraged my coworkers to do similar in case there was any substance to the rumours more protests were planned). Seems like plenty had the same idea as there were queues at some of the bus stops I passed which would be unusual for midafternoon. I went to the gym and did a 5k in a shake under 30 mins.

I also cancelled a planned work related social event as there’s likely to be fewer taxis on the road and people could be stranded in town. Not great for retail and hospitality sectors to lose a day of trading in the run up to Christmas.

Stay safe @Bandage. Give my phone two rings when you get home.

I’m putting on the blue & navy jersey again tonight to support our capital city. I’ll post on this thread later, if I return home safely.

That’s me home, lads. A real struggle to secure a taxi but got there in the end. Rumours of Dublin’s demise have been greatly exaggerated.

It’s most concerning and slightly surreal to be reading this thread about our nation’s capital and its current malaise.
Glad you got home safely mate.

Festive atmosphere around Waterford City this morning @Fagan_ODowd

Im on the dorsh bringing madame into town so her mammo can bring her into the panto. Ive also to wait around town so i can bring her home.

FML

You’ll hit a cathedral?