In The Courts

Theres a real frustrated aggression in those old threads reading back.

The birds thread is the saddest of all.

Anthony Nash driving while pissed case dismissed. What a country - 4 times over the limit.

Came out with the classic “Do you know who I am?” line. Cark would want to be winning a few Celtic crosses to be coming out with those dingers.

The judge couldn’t be making any assumptions, even though there are murderers locked up with less circumstantial evidence presented.

Nash is in the driver side of the crashed vehicle and made a full admission to the arresting Garda stating that he was drunk. But the judge in his honourable wisdom made this esteemed judgement.

If it looks, walks and acts like a duck it’s a donkey rationale

Absolutely. Its astonishing. Makes an absolute mockery of the law.

Time of driving is the essential missing ingredient, all those factors aside

How often would a guard forget to record it?

He wasn’t in the car and didn’t make any admission as to having driven it. There was no independent witness to him having driven it. Such are the intricacies of those particular cases

Garda Byrne said there was a strong smell of alcohol from the driver.

“He was unsteady and his eyes were glazed,” she said, adding “I asked the male if he was driving the vehicle at the time of the accident and he replied that he was”.

I stand corrected on that part, but to get it over the line the guard would most probably have to have a signed admission after caution with an specific time of driving included in her notebook.

Not saying it’s right or wrong but that’s why these are the most contested cases at district court level

I dunno much about the law but that’s pretty damning you’d feel

How else are solicitors supposed to make money in fairness?

By stealing from people? Enough of them do it.

Former All-Star hurler Anthony Nash was charged with public order offences in Dublin just two days before drink-drive case in Cork

Anthony Nash playing for Cork. Photo: Sportsfile

Former Cork goalkeeper Anthony Nash. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

Ali Bracken

Today at 02:30

Former All-Star hurler Anthony Nash was arrested and criminally charged with public order offences in Dublin this weekend, just two days before his court appearance on a separate drink-driving charge in Cork.

The Irish Independent has learned that Mr Nash (40) was arrested on Saturday evening at a hotel in the Dublin 1 area.

It is understood that gardaí were contacted on Saturday over concerns that the former Cork goalkeeper “needed help”.

GardaĂ­ attended the scene and the 40-year-old was arrested for public order offences, and taken to Mountjoy garda station on the northside of Dublin city.

He was granted station bail and is scheduled to appear at Dublin District Court in early July

He was later charged with public order offences arising from the incident and was charged in the station.

He was granted station bail and is scheduled to appear at Dublin District Court in early July.

A garda spokesperson said: “Gardaí have arrested a man further to a public order incident in Dublin 1 that occurred on Saturday June 14, 2025.

“The man (aged in his 40s) was detained under the Public Order Act, at a garda station in the Dublin area. He has since been charged and is due to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice at a later date. Investigations are ongoing.”

It is believed that Mr Nash may have been in the capital to attend the United Rugby Championship final at Croke Park between Leinster and the Bulls.

The hotel where he was later arrested held a drinks reception, which the former All-Star hurler had attended.

This took place just two days before he appeared in Cork District Court on a unrelated drink-driving charge.

Learn more

Pause

Unmute

On Monday, a judge dismissed this drink-driving charge against him.

Cork District Court heard that Mr Nash asked a garda, “Do you know who I am?” when he was arrested on suspicion of drink driving after his car was found in a ditch with the back of the vehicle protruding on to the road.

Mr Nash of Barters Wood in Tower, Blarney, Co Cork, also told the garda, “I’m drunk” when she approached him on August 9, 2023, the court heard.

Garda Catherine Byrne told the court a Skoda Kodiaq crashed into a ditch on the side of the road at Cloghroe, Blarney, Co Cork.

She arrived at the scene at 9.22pm, having received a report from radio control minutes earlier.

Gda Byrne said a male came from the driver side of the vehicle. She said he was “dishevelled and appeared distressed”.

She said he identified himself as the driver and he stated, “I’m drunk.”

She asked him if he was driving the vehicle at the time of the accident – and he replied he was, the court was told.

I asked if he had alcohol and he said, ‘Yes, a bottle of wine’

“He then said, ‘Do you know who I am?’ I replied, ‘No’. I asked if he had alcohol and he said, ‘Yes, a bottle of wine’. He said, ‘I’m Anthony Nash’,” Gda Byrne said.

Mr Nash was arrested on suspicion of drink-driving at 9.35pm on the day in question.

Gda Byrne said at that point he became visibly upset and said: “My life is ruined.”

Mr Nash was taken to Gurranabraher garda station in the patrol car.

He was asked if he wanted to give a sample of blood or urine. He opted to provide urine but was unable to do so. He then complied with a direction to give a blood sample.

The allegation in the summons was that Mr Nash had 236 milligrams of alcohol per 100 millilitres of blood. That exceeds the limit of 50 milligrams of alcohol per 100 millilitres of blood.

Paula McCarthy, defending Mr Nash, said her client had fully complied with gardaí and had been unable to provide a urine sample “through no fault of his own”.

She told Judge Philip O’Leary that while Gda Byrne received a call about the incident at 9.15pm, there was no evidence as to the time of driving.

Ms McCarthy applied for the case to be dismissed on the grounds that there was absence of evidence on the time of the driving or the fact of the driving.

For a case of this type to succeed, there must be evidence the driving occurred within three hours of a test for alcohol being carried out.

The judge said as there was no evidence of the time of driving, he had no option but to dismiss the case.

Davy Fitz ruined him

Addiction,arrogance or both, but that’s a terrible look.

Like he’s a 40 year old man. Not a cocky teenager. You’d think he’d have a bit of cop on.

Do you know who I am :laughing: a sub Cork goalie. He pulled a Kyler @Kyle.