Ireland - Euro 2012

Real pity Givson has gotten injured. He needed the Czech game to put down a marker imo.I’d say he is in serious doubt now to make the squad. Given his international performances of late im I’m not really sure how he can be selected.

I suppose the onus is now of James McCarthy to impress against the Czecks next week and move ahead of Gibson in the pecking order. Trap has been praising him and his development in recent months so a half decent showing and he will be on the plane to Poland

Irish squad agree to reduced bonuses

By Liam Mackey
Friday, March 02, 2012
The Irish squad has agreed to a Euro 2012 qualification bonus deal which amounts to less than the squad received for qualifying for the World Cup in 2002, according to the players and the FAI.
Agreement was reached at a meeting this week, as a result of which there has been a reduction in the figures which were paid when the Republic reached the finals in Japan and Korea ten years ago.

An FAI statement issued on behalf of the players and the association said: "The Football Association of Ireland and the players have confirmed that they agreed qualification bonuses after a constructive and brief meeting on Monday.

"During the discussions, the players emphasised the immense honour and pride which they feel in representing the country through this and previous campaigns.

"The players thanked the FAI for their professionalism and the preparations which are made around the international squad.

"In recognition of the wider economic climate, the players were happy to agree to a reduction in qualification payments made in 2002.

“On behalf of all strands of the sport, the Football Association of Ireland thanks the players for their readiness to accept a reduction and for their determination to avoid the use of external agents during direct talks which were conducted in an atmosphere of trust and mutual understanding.”

Skipper Robbie Keane had signalled that an announcement about the deal was imminent at Tuesday’s pre-match press conference ahead of Wednesday’s friendly against the Czech Republic, saying that the meeting with the FAI had been amicable and positive.

And yesterday, even before the official announcement was made, Giovanni Trapattoni confirmed that a deal had been done.

Last night, the FAI declined to confirm the figures involved, against the background of reports suggesting that the players would receive €1 million in settlement for qualification and outstanding match fees, with the possibility of earning as much again in performance-related payments depending on how they fare at the finals in June.

I think we can all agree, a great bunch of fellas.

What kind of bonuses do the bigger football nations like Italy, Germany, France and Spain pay?

The lads are alright sorts :clap:

A credit to their families and parishes.

Stephen Kelly just gave a very good interview on Newstalk there. Seems like a good guy. Very articulate.

Did anyone hear Roddy C the other day? Wrote off Ward, St Ledger, Andrews, McGeady and Keane as offering nothing and should have been dropped long ago.

Shawoddyroddy can fuck off with himself, the small time prick.

Its surprising that professional footballers in this day and age would negotiate without their agents being involved. Fair play to them, says a lot about Robbie Keane’s leadership of the squad actually.

A great bunch of lads indeed :clap:

A very happy 73rd birthday to Giovanni Trapattoni. :ireland: :clap:

[left]
Green Army expected to swell to 20,000 for Euro invasion

By Liam Mackey
Wednesday, March 21, 2012
Giovanni Trapattoni’s team could be boosted by having as many as 20,000 Irish supporters in attendance at each of their three group games in the European Championship finals in Poland.
The huge figure — more than triple the original official allocation — is being predicted by FAI chief executive John Delaney and is based on additional tickets already sourced by the association plus tickets being bought directly through the UEFA website and other channels, sponsors’ allocations and the traditional ingenuity of Irish supporters.

If the prediction comes to pass, it would mean that the Green Army would comfortably fill approximately half of the 42,004 capacity Municipal Stadium in Poznan, where they will face Croatia and Italy, and half of the 40,818 capacity PGE Arena in Gdansk for the meeting with Group C favourites Spain. Currently, says Delaney, Ireland are on course to have the fourth-highest support at this summer’s finals.

Ireland’s original official UEFA allocation was 6,000 tickets per game, on top of which the FAI have already secured an additional 2,300 spread across the three games and, likely to be officially confirmed this week, another 2,000 for the Italy game because the Italians have not taken up their full allocation for that fixtureon June 18.

The FAI boss said: "We now have about 7,000 for each game and probably 9,000 for the Italian match. If you add in what Abbey Travel get and what the UEFA sponsors get and our own sponsors get, that’s going to be close to 10,000. Then you’ve got to factor in how many Irish have bought their tickets directly and I think we’ll have close to 20,000 in the grounds for each of those three games.

“I’m going on the basis that, within Ireland, about 10,000 tickets will be distributed for the first two games and 12,000 — if we get the extra 2,000 — for Italy. Then you’ve got to add how many Irish have bought abroad through Poland and how many will buy off the ticket touts or whatever.”

The numbers sourcing tickets through the UEFA resale facility would appear to be significant.

“It would be, we hear,” said John Delaney. “Because we’re getting e-mails coming in saying, ‘we’re okay now’. And we’ll be trying right up to the end to get as many fans in as we can.”

Delaney has also noticed a spin-off effect of mushrooming Irish interest in the Euros.

“A guy came up to me in a shop the other day,” he said, “and he thanked me and I said, ‘for what?’, and he said because he brings most of the camper vans into Ireland. He said, ‘you’ve made me a fortune’. A lot of guys are basing themselves in Germany and moving in and out for the games. The Irish are ingenious at finding a cheaper way of finding their tickets.”

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/green-army-expected-to-swell-to-20000-for-euro-invasion-187863.html#ixzz1pjtkCGJl[/left][/left]

[font=arial]While I am starting to agree with Giles that McClean should be brought the part underlined really pisses me off and shows how out of touch the man is [/font]

[font=arial]=================================[/font]

Giless: Bring McClean to Euros, Trap

By Liam Mackey
Thursday, March 29, 2012
John Giles believes Sunderland star James McClean should be included in the Irish squad for the European Championship finals.
“I wouldn’t necessarily believe in systems, I believe in players,” said the RTÉ pundit and former international player and manager, adding that the Sunderland winger has done enough to merit inclusion in the travelling panel this summer.

"I don’t think it’s ever too late for any player to make an impact. Mr Trapattoni said a few weeks ago the players who got us there deserve the chance. That wouldn’t be a policy I’d subscribe to. There’s no sentiment in football really. You pick the best team available.

“I think McClean is a top-class player and he’s going to get better. His attitude is good and he’s looked a very good Premiership player. And I don’t think it’s such a big leap [to the Euros]. You talk about young lads. Liam [Brady] played his first international against the USSR at 18 and he was like a duck to water.”

And Giles added he has no fear of burnout for a player who has been playing virtually non-stop since pre-season at Derry City some 18 months ago. “When you’re young like him, you’re well able to handle it.”

Giles, along with Paul McGrath, yesterday attended the launch of the 2012 Walk of Dreams at Aviva Stadium. Building on last year’s inaugural effort, which raised €360,000 for sports clubs and community projects. This year’s walk, on May 7, takes place at 20 locations nationwide.

nThe event is organised by the John Giles Foundation in association with the Irish team sponsors 3.

For information and to get involved, see www.johngilesfoundation.com or www.facebook.com/JohnGilesFoundation

Read more: http://www.irishexam…l#ixzz1qUMhKKqL

The greatest footballing brain in the country doesn’t believe in tactics or systems.

McClean could do with an extra friendly to stake his claim because there isn’t much time to force his way in and Trap has to play his starting team in whatever opportunities he gets. And presuming it’s Hunt who he’s competing with then I guess Hunt deserves a run out too.

I think he will go with a 7-8-5 split. With the usual back 4 along with O’Dea, Kelly and probably Foley. 4 central midfielders in Whelan, Andrews, Fahey and Gibson, 4 wide players Duff, McGeady Hunt and McClean and the 5 attackers. With both O’Shea and Kelly possibly used across the back 4 if there are injuries/suspensions. I think there is one spot up for grabs between Green, McClean, McCarthy & Coleman and I think he will go for the Derry man

I’d have McCarthy as favourite in that scenario you’ve described above with his fellow Donegalman maybe even ahead of McClean too. That’s not to say I’d pick Coleman ahead of McClean but I think Trap might given his emergency right back potential.

Im not so sure, Coleman has had a very average year and given that we will have O’Shea, Kelly and Foley in the squad I’d doubt that his ability to fill a gap at right back will get all that much weight. I would have it between McCarthy and McClean myself and i just think that McClean’s form and eye catching displays will get him in the squad. I get the feeling that Trap doesn’t have much trust in either McCarthy or Coleman yet, given that both have been involved for the last 18 months or so and seen very little action, I’d doubt he would need much persuasion to leave them at home.

The one thing this does point out is out lack of depth at the back, very hard to even make a case for any of the possible alternatives to be even considered

Do you reckon Conor Clifford has a chance?

Mac does. I’d have Jeff Hendrick and Chris McCann in the squad ahead of him

Any chance that Trapp will shock us all and go with four strikers?