The lowest ranked team to qualify (aside from the home nations) was the Czech Republic. I looked at it earlier think it was 47th. Some fall from grace weren’t they ranked first in the day of Nedved and them?
I like Coleman and touted him as a great prospect when I first saw him star for our U21s against Spain around 3 or 4 years ago during his Sligo days. But he’s on record himself as saying he hasn’t hit the ground running yet this season and I imagine getting that ankle injury in Everton’s final pre-season game and missing the first 3 or 4 weeks of the season set him back somewhat.
But you wouldn’t know that listening to Dunphy - he said during the coverage of both games against Estonia that he’s having a fantastic season for Everton and should definitely be starting. There’s a class of Irish football observer who thinks that anyone who plays in the Premier League simply has to play. ‘But he’s playing in the Premier League for Everton.’
Trap actually confirmed in an interview last week that he’s been doing something larryduff had been clamouring for over the past few years. He said his players play several different systems for their clubs but he bases team selection on how they have performed in the Irish system in games and matches because their club roles may often bear no resemblance to the task they’ll be asked to carry out for Ireland. For example, as has been said, Hoolahan plays a free role behind a lone striker for Norwich and McCarthy plays in a 3-man midfield for Wigan. Some people think one of those two should get into the team ahead of Whelan or Andrews but it’s not that straightforward. They’re not asked to play defensive midfield roles in a midfield two for their clubs.
Getting back to Coleman, I think he had a fine game against Italy in Liege when we were under serious pressure. I reckon he’d be a good option particularly in tough games away from home when he can help out his full back and get up and down the flank. I think McGeady and Duff are deservedly the first choice wide men overall though.
Hunt and Fahey are deservedly ahead of him too as wide options. Coleman is a very limited player in truth. Been really poor when I’ve seen him a few times this season. Just can’t seem him making it as a right sided midfielder and he has a lot to learn to be a decent defender. Can’t fault his guts and I’m sure his form will improve but a long way to go to even make the squad I’d say.
I don’t rate McCarthy one iota. No cojones to him at all.
Has Moyes all but given up on Coleman ever becoming a right back? He can look a bit headless defensively at times but I’d hope he could develop into a quality attacking full back who is sound defensively similar to Carr and Finnan in their prime.
He is nowhere near as composed on the ball as those 2 though. Ah Moyes would want to cop on and drop Hibbert and play him right back. Hibbert is dreadful. Think I heard Moyes say recently that he was looking to bring in a pacy player on the right in Jan so maybe the plan is for Coleman to move back there.
Trap’s Ireland edge towards top 20
Wednesday, 23 November 2011 10:34
Giovanni Trapattoni’s Republic of Ireland side sit just outside the top 20 in FIFA’s latest world rankings.
After qualifying for Euro 2012, Ireland’s play-off success against Estonia has lifted them four places to 21st.
Northern Ireland are down five to 89th in the rankings after a run of disappointing results at the end of their qualifying campaign.
England have moved up to fifth thanks to recent victories over world champions Spain and Sweden, however, Spain remain top of the list.
Holland are second in the rankings but third-placed Germany have closed the gap following their 3-0 win in a friendly between the two sides.
Uruguay remain fourth after extending their unbeaten run to 13 matches, while Brazil drop to sixth.
Portugal climb one place to seventh and Croatia move up four places to eighth thanks to sealing their place in Euro 2012 through the play-offs.
Scotland are up two places to 49th, while Wales have dropped five places to 50th despite winning four of their last five games.
Trap’ keeping tabs on Norwich trio
Thursday, 24 November 2011 17:47
Norwich trio Wes Hoolahan, Anthony Pilkington and Marc Tierney are all in the frame for the European Championships next summer, according to Republic of Ireland assistant manager Marco Tardelli.
Giovanni Trapattoni is weighing up all options over the make-up of his final 23-man squad for Poland and Ukraine, and Tardelli was at Carrow Road for the Arsenal match last Saturday.
Hoolahan’s solitary cap was in 2008 for a friendly against Colombia, while former Huddersfield winger Pilkington, 23, has played for the Under-21s and full-back Tierney, 26, is also eligible.
Tardelli, a World Cup winner in 1982, revealed all three were on Ireland’s radar and could feature in an upcoming friendly in February, the opposition for which has not yet been announced.
“We follow all players and we decide, Giovanni decides, when will be the right moment,” Tardelli said in the Norwich Evening News.
"Maybe it is possible they could play in the friendly, but I cannot say for sure.
“They know that we follow them, if they play everything is possible.”
Tardelli added: "The Norwich team they are good players also Pilkington and Tierney is a good player.
“For us and the international team it is very good because they are young players for the future.”
Tardelli has been impressed by Hoolahan’s development, the 29-year-old being an integral part of Norwich’s double promotion back to the top flight under Paul Lambert.
“I know him (Hoolahan) from two or three years ago when we arrived in Ireland. He is a good player, good quality, a skilful player and I think now more experienced than three years ago,” Tardelli added.
“He can play in midfield but he can also play as the second striker. He sometimes plays in this position for Norwich which I think is good.”
I hope Trap gives a chance to Stokes in the friendlies before the summer. Lennon said he would make a personal call to Trap if Stokes keeps his form up.
The FAI will set aside between 6,000 and 10,000 tickets for loyal fans wishing to take in the Euro 2012 group stages, depending on what venues in either Poland or Ukraine the Republic of Ireland are allocated in the draw in Kiev on Friday, December 2nd.
The tickets will be available through an FAI fan sales portal on www.uefa.com to supporters who have attended away matches during the qualifiers, Vantage Club members, current season ticket holders and active block bookers.
Each of these 6,500 fans will be permitted to apply for two tickets per group game, as well as the knock-out stages of the tournament should Ireland progress, meaning there is a potential demand for 13,000.
The pricing structure for group stage tickets falls into three categories – €120, €70 and €30.
Entitled fans will be contacted by the FAI soon after December 5th and provided with a password. They can apply for tickets between December 12th and midnight on February 29th, 2012. This process will not be done on a first come-first served basis, meaning an application at any time between those dates will suffice.
Successful applicants will be see their payments deducted and receive notification by March 15th, 2012, though they are not guaranteed getting the allocation requested.
Fans who do not fall into the categories mentioned can purchase tickets from FAI partners Abbey Travel or official Euro 2012 agents Thomson Sport. The can also try their luck on the Uefa European re-sale portal which redistributes tickets based on availability of returns.
In a footballing context, Ireland will be hoping to draw one of the co-hosts from the pot comprised of the top seeds, considering the alternatives are either Spain or the Netherlands.
Drawing Poland or Ukraine would be similarly beneficial for fans considering the venues for Group A (Warsaw and Wroclaw in Poland) and Group D (Donetsk and Kiev in Ukraine) have a combined capacity of 100,916 and 132,568 respectively.
The venues for Group B (Kharkiv and Lviv) and Group C (Poznan and Gdansk) are smaller - 75,915 and 83,000 - and that is likely to be reflected in the allocation of tickets to travelling fans.
Anyone see the Robbie Keane feature there on Soccer Saturday? Brilliant stuff. I really wish those who said he was a disruptive dressing room influence and poor professional would have the good grace to withdraw their blatantly incorrect and absolutely fucking ridiculous remarks.
Smashing news today with Mr Trapattoni agreeing a new contract to manage Ireland through the 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign.
A quick recap. Pool A held in Warsaw and Wroclaw. Pool B in Kharkiv and Lviv. Pool C in Gdansk and Poznan. Pool D in Donetsk and Kiev.
Pool C with Poland, England and Greece please Carol.
what time is the draw on at lads? and is it live in the tele?
Shortly after half 5.
Euro 2012 is a little-known event with not much public interest, much like the other main soccer competitions, so the draw won’t be televised, as far as I’m aware.
Live on Montrose 2 and Sky Sports News. Will be on shortly after 5.30 I imagine.
Think that’s impossible Larry
On Eurosport as well. Not a soul in the hall yet
cheers lads …thrawneen cant figue out if your being sarcastic there or not…
Why so?
Is it not predetermined that Poland are in Group A?