if he was voting, he was on the council and shouldve recused himself
Iâd imagine he will argue he only voted for it to be put on sale. When they decided to sell it to his missus he was gone.
Itâs all very much operating in the grey. A fellow FF councillor proposed the motion. Wouldnât be too hard to join the dots
Didnât his wife approach the council asking them to sell it?
I think Niall is in the shit here. Heâll have to step aside as half-minister for whatever.
On the plus side he may expect 3k+ first preferences next time out.
Was a grand cosy little scheme all the same. The switch from medical use to development was a sidestep and dummy sale Eoin Mulligan would have been proud of.
Look over there
Niall could be staring down the possibility of a massive pension for the rest of his life here
Why have Sinn Fein not pushed this?
Sinn Fein supporters want to talk about nothing else than Niall Collins.
But their party is telling them to look over there.
Why?
Arenât they supposed to be the opposition? Yet theyâre not doing their job.
Youâll have to adk SF that.
SF are not the story here.
It would seem to me that because the ditch broke this story you want it to go away. Regardless of whether it is in the public interest for it to be discussed or not
Yes they are.
SF online supporters are baying for blood based off what their hero Moscow Paddy is ranting about. Yet their party is silent.
Thatâs a far bigger story than Collins, who appears to have done fuck all wrong.
SF supportersâ consistent and complete rejection of the concept of them facing any sort of scrutiny is also a major story.
Lads like you are cultists.
Youâve already said what Collins did was within the rules.
Personally I couldnât give a fuck about Niall Collins and I very much doubt many people out there do.
What I do care about is that the Ditch is a thinly veiled pro-corruption, pro-Russia propaganda rag which is out to cause utter chaos, spread lies, fear and conspiracy, bring down liberal democracy and move Ireland in a pro-Russia direction.
I have nothing to do with SF.
Im an active member of the communist party of Ireland.
Please god
And dead men donât tell tales.
Like all true communists you work in financial services.
I drew you out lovely there⌠What would you know about where i work?
Youâre tying yourself up in knots.
Oh come off it. And this in follow up to his previous lies to get planning.
In fairness it reeks of the rural cute hoorism that has been a blight on the country for decades.
The whole thing is weird.
The Ditch broke this story a week or so ago, did they not? It has been trending for days but the mainstream media only covered it once Paul Murphy TD wanted it dealt with in the Dail.
On the face of it, it looks a significant enough story. A Minister of State voting to sell land to his missus who in turn looks to sell the land back at what is no doubt a huge profit - ultimately paid for by you, me and every other tax payer.
What I will say is that there is a very rotten relationship between journalists and politicians in this country. Depending on the party or person involved, coverage of any particular story will vary.
Will never forget at the height of Covid and the main RTE political reporter Paul Cunningham was doing a live broadcast when he casually mentioned âIâm just after receiving a text from the Minister for Health.â It just shows how pally all these lads are - give the politician or government/opposition some positive press and youâll be repaid with leaks, info etc.
It stinks. Varadkar cheating on his partner in a niteclub and the establishment not covering it is another example. If that was certain other politicians it would have been plastered everywhere. (Nothing to do with sexual orientation before anyone starts)
Politics and political reporting is a real grubby business, no wonder so many of them ending up working as political advisers and the cycle continues.