Yeah heās fucked, just looking at that rabble, Iād rather watch a half-fucked Robbie Brady than a fully fucked turn-back OāDowdaā¦and Oādowda isnāt a bad footballer, its just he isnāt a good enough footballer to make up for the fact that he has really no athleticism at the level.
OāDowda was our only outlet at times last night. He got a few balls in but nobody was on the end of them. He put in a decent shift but he gassed after about 65 minutes. Heād get absolutely fucking reamed if he played LWB against France. As would Robbie Brady. Weāre fucked bud. No two ways about it
Yeah, Brady canāt run either, one of them might do a job in a midfield three. Collins and Browne aside, it looked a team that canāt get round the pitch to me. Iād nearly say we are not a million miles from ditching this crop and going looking to the next generation again. We arenāt getting out of that Euros group anyway. Iād sooner get behind a young, energetic pressing team which is more our inclination anyway.
When theyāre playing those deep, pointless passes, the idea is to draw out the opposition, but thenboys donāt seem to have the poise or technique to do it. Brighton have ruined a few teams doing it under their new manager. Iād say yer man Ferguson and what his ceiling is will be massive. Spock is lucky they havenāt a bob.
A very large percentage of the match going public are primary school children. I wouldnāt trust their judgement on the manager.
Iāve a season ticket and couldnāt be bothered going to watch that appalling football.
I said from the start that he has somehow conned the greater public into thinking passing the ball around at the back is some sort of attractive or progressive football. And yet itās exactly what every team who comes to Dublin to play us is hoping we will do. Itās stale and unimaginative and cowardly.
I have had many gripes with the team selection but the arguments about Duffy etc are kind of irrelevant. The results and performances are pathetic. The teams he has picked should be playing an awful lot better.
We beat Scotland when we had already pretty much given up on the Nations League again. A very average team like Scotland, responded by topping the table and winning the group anyway. And they have plenty of disquiet about their manager but they have won the group with twice the points total we managed.
His track record is very poor. His tactical awareness is so clearly sub standard. He appears to be a useless motivator. He does care about Irish football, but Jesus you donāt give a manager a job because he cares.
Kenny is stone useless, nobody can argue differently. Well in TFK land, youāll probably find some oddball who would try in fairness.
He wouldnāt be in the conversation for any half decent managerial position.
Hoofball is what brought us to Euros and World Cups since 1987.
The gobshite comes in and starts changing things that have worked.
Heās a clueless idiot who canāt string 2 sentences together.
Friendlies against Andorra and Malta were arranged to boost his record. Andorra and fucking Malta. That is how low he has dragged us.
The fucker needs to be gone yesterday
Iām a match going public member and at the last at the last two games I was at Scotland and armenia there was definitely not anywhere near resembling a Kenny out attitude among adults. Iāve seen that attitude at the latter end of trap and O Neillās reign. Booing, people properly pissed off etc. I agree that attitude could well be on the way and probably deserves to be present given the results but for some reason the vast majority of people seem positively disposed towards Kenny and want him to do well. The mood after the Scotland game, which was only 6 months ago was incredibly positive (even on tfk!) So things can change very quickly too.
In regard to the style of football, Im not as much of an expert on tactics as some of you and there is no doubt heās not playing some sort of scintillating Barca 2011 style stuff but I genuinely think, having played and watched the sport for nearly 40 years, that it is a big improvement on what Iāve seen from most Irish teams. The simple thing of the full backs passing the ball to a midfielder instead of humping it down the line every time really stands out to me.
Heās an inoffensive, ordinary guy with the best interests of Irish football at heart and he deserved a chance at the job given his profile and record in domestic football. It doesnāt appear to be working out results wise but given that there appear to be literally zero other candidates, let him at it, get behind him for the next campaign and in the meantime line up a replacement
The astute lads on here knew what a gem Glenn was
Jesus this is fucking depressing. Leave him at it?!!! For how fucking long do we leave him at it?!!!
I guarantee you there are candidates. Much better ones. Go out and canvas. Donāt fucking accept mediocrity. Thatās a shocking attitude to have, to any aspect of life.
For a LOI man i would say he has done less for the LOI when Ireland manager than MON and McCarthy
You send a delegation to Argentina and ask Marcelo Bielsa what will it take for him to take the gig. If he says no, then you ask him to recommend one of his coaches for the gig.
Failing that you give it to Brian McDermott til the end of the season
I know you havenāt liked him from the start due to club rivalries and him being a total oddball but unfortunately if he is run out of town as a failure there is no chance of an LOI type fella ever getting the gig again. We are stuck with Sean dyche, big sam, āhe got leyton orient to the play offs and made them hard to beatā types in perpetuity. Kenny represents an idea. That there can be some type of organic, homegrown football culture in this country. When he fails itās footix forever and youāll have to get used to it.
I dont agree, things in the LOI are the best they have been for years, crowds are the highest in 40 years. Clubs in the premier league are more professional than ever. Young players are being developed here and LOI teams are getting compensated well.
The underage LOI has given proper pathways now and a new club in Kerry to develop players is great
Brexit seems to have encouraged english clubs to invest in Irish clubs
It pains me to say it but Derry being owned by a billionaire will see them fly, they have potential for big crowds a new academy and to do up the stadium. So the top teams will improve more and more.
Jack Chambers weirdly enough seems to be a decent minister for the LOI so hopefully LOI clubs can get a dividend from the euros and the shit stadiums can be improved and academies can be created. Bohs , Shels and Pats seem determined to improve facilities
The future is bright
A successful Stephen Kenny type in charge of the senior team would be a key component of all that positivity but theyāll never get the chance again when he gets the boot.
Dela would deliver Biesla
we would have qualified for Qatar and would be boycotting it if Dela was still there
At last a man talking sense. Thursday night was woeful but people would want a reality check. Our midfield and strikers consisted of Burnley, Preston, West Brom, Swansea and Cardiff players. Very average championship players. None of our younger players Parrott, Obafemi etc have pushed on as expected. I wouldnt rate Wales massively but even without Bale and Ramsey they can field an attacking four of Johnson, Wilson, James and Moore. 4 premier league players. We are miles off even that standard. One of the main critics on here is calling for Stephen Bradley to get the job. Bradley is promising but as shown by Rovers performance in Europe is miles off the standard required. Lads claiming they donāt attend games anymore. Well their was 41,000 there the other night. Huge attendance for a friendly in November. If Kenny spoke with a cockney accent their wouldnt be half the criticism. Lads love seeing Irish men fail. Very sad really.
There was a huge attendance because people thought Haaland was going to be playing. Stop kidding yourself.
Has the new CEO even found a sponsor yet?
This isnāt true but if it is then itās his fault