Ireland v Serbia - Wednesday 5th March

You couldn’t tell much from last night, so no point reading too much into it.

My thoughts in random order.

We tried to play a bit of ball at times last night but didn’t look overly comfortable, I’ll put that down to the missing players at the back and the lack of time O’Neill has had:

Forde is an awful fucker for hoofing it. We were keeping the ball well at times, they’d pass back to Forde then he’d belt it up the field to Long. Although he didn’t have much choice some of the times (see below). At one stage Whelan was roaring at him for the ball, he was about 10 yards inside our half in a load of space, Forde had a free or something and waved him off to hoof it over Whelans head. Bizarre, the only conclusion is he didn’t trust himself to place a simple pass.

The two centre halves were very uncomfortable on the ball, all the passes were sideways going nowhere passes. I can hardly remember a pass from either that went forward. Very hard to build a passing system without a centre half that is at least able to change direction. Countless times they passed themselves into nowhere and were forced back to Forde to hoof. They are also at best average defenders.

Ward is shit, but that’s hardly news.

McCarthy may aswell have been at home. No interest, strolled around the place, rarely showing and when the Serbs decided to play in the second half they completely over ran them. Never supported Long. Should have been replaced.

McGeady & Houlihan played some nice ball at times. Houlihan in particular showed he was worth his spot last year. Two players actually capable of unlocking a defense.

The McClean experiment has to end, he offers nothing. A poor mans Kilbane.

Long is the only man for the 5-4-1, great chasing, good in the air, holding up the ball well when on his own etc. terrible finishing on the night however. Was isolated all night mainly due to McCarthy’s laziness. Robbie won’t fit in this system.

The Serbs are a good side in fairness and are unlucky not to be going to Rio, when they decided to play in the second half there wasn’t much we could do. It’s nice to watch a team of players so comfortable on the ball. However neither Poland or Scotland are anywhere near as good as Serbia.

I know it was a friendly but what was the attendence last night? Looked about half full max. Atmosphere was non-existent. I hope Trap hasn’t killed off Irish soccers following for good. I naturally didn’t pay, but if I’d shelled out €30 for that shite last night I’d be slow to go back. The FAI need to fill the stadium, lower prices if necessary because I’ll stop going even if the tickets are free after much more matches like that.

Purely from a financial perspective the FAI also need to either get some big names to town or else stick to playing on the foreign based populations here like the Czechs, Poles, Baltics. Someone like the Nigeria might be one to mix it up a bit. There was about 50 serbs there last night which contributed to the complete lack of atmosphere.

That’s a fairly long list of lads though

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 912666, member: 332”]
I know it was a friendly but what was the attendence last night? Looked about half full max. Atmosphere was non-existent. I hope Trap hasn’t killed off Irish soccers following for good. I naturally didn’t pay, but if I’d shelled out €30 for that shite last night I’d be slow to go back. The FAI need to fill the stadium, lower prices if necessary because I’ll stop going even if the tickets are free after much more matches like that.

Purely from a financial perspective the FAI also need to either get some big names to town or else stick to playing on the foreign based populations here like the Czechs, Poles, Baltics. Someone like the Nigeria might be one to mix it up a bit. There was about 50 serbs there last night which contributed to the complete lack of atmosphere.[/quote]
This is the land of the bandwagon, Julio-MO’N will have to build a winning team before fans start to go back. International friendlies are dire anyway-the Vicente Calderon looked half empty for Spain v Italy last night too. They are fucking awful spectacles-as bad as it gets in sport.

I think it’s this rather than the bandwagon point. Unless you get a freebie you’re basically paying €20-30 plus whatever amount if you bring a nipper or two along for about 50-60 minutes of football, with both teams only usually giving it about 75% and then the rest of the match is a disjointed mess when all the subs come on. I’ve been to almost every home qualifier in the last few years but I wouldn’t pay for a friendly. Maybe if it was Brazil or Spain or someone like that, but certainly not to see those war-mongering, racist fucks last night.

BTW, did anyone get the score in the Kosovo game?

[quote=“Bandage, post: 912659, member: 9”]Just saw brief highlights on SSN.

Looked like the guy in the bottom of the picture was playing Hoolahan onside for the early disallowed goal. Presume this is the incident that Houghton was being ridiculed for - he was talking utter shite in the background and was completely wrong in his interpretation.

Coleman seemed to be poor for both of the conceded goals.[/quote]
Yeah that was the incident. They then showed a replay about 5 minutes later and Ray explained in laborious terms that Hoolahan wasn’t offside because he wasn’t ahead of play when the ball was last touched and was offside later but that didn’t matter. He was implying this was some sort of modern interpretation (and hence his initital confusion) as opposed to the same rule that’s been in place for a century or so.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 912666, member: 332”]You couldn’t tell much from last night, so no point reading too much into it.

My thoughts in random order.

We tried to play a bit of ball at times last night but didn’t look overly comfortable, I’ll put that down to the missing players at the back and the lack of time O’Neill has had:

Forde is an awful fucker for hoofing it. We were keeping the ball well at times, they’d pass back to Forde then he’d belt it up the field to Long. Although he didn’t have much choice some of the times (see below). At one stage Whelan was roaring at him for the ball, he was about 10 yards inside our half in a load of space, Forde had a free or something and waved him off to hoof it over Whelans head. Bizarre, the only conclusion is he didn’t trust himself to place a simple pass.

The two centre halves were very uncomfortable on the ball, all the passes were sideways going nowhere passes. I can hardly remember a pass from either that went forward. Very hard to build a passing system without a centre half that is at least able to change direction. Countless times they passed themselves into nowhere and were forced back to Forde to hoof. They are also at best average defenders.

Ward is shit, but that’s hardly news.

McCarthy may aswell have been at home. No interest, strolled around the place, rarely showing and when the Serbs decided to play in the second half they completely over ran them. Never supported Long. Should have been replaced.

McGeady & Houlihan played some nice ball at times. Houlihan in particular showed he was worth his spot last year. Two players actually capable of unlocking a defense.

The McClean experiment has to end, he offers nothing. A poor mans Kilbane.

Long is the only man for the 5-4-1, great chasing, good in the air, holding up the ball well when on his own etc. terrible finishing on the night however. Was isolated all night mainly due to McCarthy’s laziness. Robbie won’t fit in this system.

The Serbs are a good side in fairness and are unlucky not to be going to Rio, when they decided to play in the second half there wasn’t much we could do. It’s nice to watch a team of players so comfortable on the ball. However neither Poland or Scotland are anywhere near as good as Serbia.

Purely from a financial perspective the FAI also need to either get some big names to town or else stick to playing on the foreign based populations here like the Czechs, Poles, Baltics. Someone like the Nigeria might be one to mix it up a bit. There was about 50 serbs there last night which contributed to the complete lack of atmosphere.[/quote]
Agreed with most of that but I don’t think attendances for friendlies were much better before Trap came along and England aside, most countries struggle to get any sort of crowd in for a friendly.

The sooner Forde makes a high profile error the better - still playing fine for Ireland despite being a poor goalkeeper who is just waiting to get found out.

37, 595 were at it according to the Indo. That’s not too shabby.

Disagree on Forde, Rocko. I think his distribution is poor but he’s a good shot stopper and commands his box well enough. He’s made several vital and excellent saves in various matches at this stage. If he’s started a dozen games or so up to now and hasn’t made a high profile error, then that’s good going in my book.

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 912685, member: 129”]37, 595 were at it according to the Indo. That’s not too shabby.

Disagree on Forde, Rocko. I think his distribution is poor but he’s a good shot stopper and commands his box well enough. He’s made several vital and excellent saves in various matches at this stage. If he’s started a dozen games or so up to now and hasn’t made a high profile error, then that’s good going in my book.[/quote]
Have you see any of his Millwall performances? He is timid and error prone.

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 912685, member: 129”]37, 595 were at it according to the Indo. That’s not too shabby.

Disagree on Forde, Rocko. I think his distribution is poor but he’s a good shot stopper and commands his box well enough. He’s made several vital and excellent saves in various matches at this stage. If he’s started a dozen games or so up to now and hasn’t made a high profile error, then that’s good going in my book.[/quote]

I would have Westwood ahead of him when he is back fit, the problem for Kieran is that Mannone has been excellent for Sunderland and he will struggle to get first team football there when he does return from injury

So long as he does the business for us, I don’t care about that. He seems to relish playing for Ireland and grows in stature, if that doesn’t sound too bent. He also has a better defence in front of him (marginally, I know, but Millwall aren’t very good).
Westwood appears to be much more talented but is either injured or not playing games. And we saw how Given was when he wasn’t playing at club level. You can’t take the risk.

Elliot is the only other keeper involved at EPL level but I read on his Wiki that he’s already 27 and was once second choice to Nicky Weaver so I wouldn’t be holding out too much hope in that regard.

We will really need the likes of Westwood, St Ledger and Dunne fit and playing regularly come the start of next season. I am not convinced by Wilson or O’Shea but both would be a better option at left back than Ward. We are pretty much fucked if we have to start likes of Wilson or Clark beside O’Shea at centre half in the qualifiers. All are far too passive and limited in what they do. Would agree with @Thrawneen (I think) about persuing Curtis Davies. I have the feeling that O’Neill will continue with O’Shea as a first choice centre half unfortunately

We could do with unearthing a central midfield option beside McCarthy, Whelan is honest but limited and we could do with someone with a bit more energy and aggression there, not sure if Meylor is the answer. Could do with an upgrade on McClean as well but the likes of Pilkington have been very underwhelming thus far

A team of
=======Westwood==========
Coleman-St Ledger-Dunne-Wilson
=====McCarthy-Whelan=======
McGeady-Houlahan-McClean
=======Keane=============

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 912678, member: 129”]I think it’s this rather than the bandwagon point. Unless you get a freebie you’re basically paying €20-30 plus whatever amount if you bring a nipper or two along for about 50-60 minutes of football, with both teams only usually giving it about 75% and then the rest of the match is a disjointed mess when all the subs come on. I’ve been to almost every home qualifier in the last few years but I wouldn’t pay for a friendly. Maybe if it was Brazil or Spain or someone like that, but certainly not to see those war-mongering, racist fucks last night.

BTW, did anyone get the score in the Kosovo game?[/quote]
Yeah you’re right-I would be in my seat in about 15 minutes from my front door and I still couldn’t be arsed going to friendly matches.

I believe Dunne is doing well for QPR, but he’ll be 35 in September and 36 by the time qualification ends. For all his flaws, O’Shea is at least playing EPL (for the moment) and is captain at Sunderland.

What’s the craic with Gibson? Is he coming back when he’s fit, or wha’?

[quote=“Rocko, post: 912682, member: 1”]
The sooner Forde makes a high profile error the better - still playing fine for Ireland despite being a poor goalkeeper who is just waiting to get found out.[/quote]

I’d like to see the tipped one over the bar last night again, which was a good save, but from first look I thought the reason he had to tip it over the bar was poor positioning for the cross. May be harsh I only saw it the once.

But if it had been a cross he was positioned well. It ended up a shot and he adjusted superbly. He can’t be in two positions at once.

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 912696, member: 129”]I believe Dunne is doing well for QPR, but he’ll be 35 in September and 36 by the time qualification ends. For all his flaws, O’Shea is at least playing EPL (for the moment) and is captain at Sunderland.

What’s the craic with Gibson? Is he coming back when he’s fit, or wha’?[/quote]

I’m not a huge fan of his but the two lads last night wouldn’t lace John O’Sheas boots (not as centre halves at least). It’s absolutely vital he stays fit. Any Oirish lads knocking around the Championship who can play centre half who we could steal?

Agreed like I said I only saw it once but I thought he was positioned poorly no matter what came into the box

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 912696, member: 129”]I believe Dunne is doing well for QPR, but he’ll be 35 in September and 36 by the time qualification ends. For all his flaws, O’Shea is at least playing EPL (for the moment) and is captain at Sunderland.

What’s the craic with Gibson? Is he coming back when he’s fit, or wha’?[/quote]

Aside from a decent run of games in the World Cup 2010 qualifying campaign O’Shea for the most part has been poor especially when played at centre half, he has been terrible for the most part in any qualifier he played centre half in when Dunne wasn’t beside him. Dunne and St Ledger is our best pairing IMHO.

I would have no real faith in our defence if O’Shea is the first choice centre half it is built on

We need Stephen Ireland back asap, great on the ball, come on Martin, get your best team out.

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 912701, member: 1137”]Aside from a decent run of games in the World Cup 2010 qualifying campaign O’Shea for the most part has been poor especially when played at centre half, he has been terrible for the most part in any qualifier he played centre half in when Dunne wasn’t beside him. Dunne and St Ledger is our best pairing IMHO.

I would have no real faith in our defence if O’Shea is the first choice centre half it is built on[/quote]

I completely agree with you but I just wonder if Dunne will still be able for it when he’s 35 years old. And if he isn’t O’Shea plus Sledge or Wilson would be my preferred choice, due to a lack of any other options. I repeat that I think Davies should be pursued. He seems to have a bit of presence about him and there’s a few articles knocking around giving out that Hodgson didn’t select him for England last night. Come autumn he might be ready to give up on that.