Irish pubs abroad

Anything within a half a mile of the mother in laws villa in spain he means. His liver riddled with 8 litres of piss a day and his guts hanging out from eating cheap ‘tapas’ thats actually rotting food soaked in hydrogenated oil.

And he looking down at @BruidheanChaorthainn because he can say Ola and Gracias

In fairness, i think he has ‘donde esta la centro medico…’ as well.

The dodgy boxes have the bars in New York ruined for the GAA , once upon a time you could land onto a bar at 8am with the door closed and the blinds down and they’d be 40 people inside drinking pints

Huge pity

Yeah that’s when setanta had a monopoly on the matches.2 bars in Sunnyside 2 in Maspeth 2 in Woodside 2 in McLean Ave 2 in Katona Ave and a couple of pubs in Manhattan were your choices back in the 00’s.You wouldn’t get alcohol in McLean Ave though as it was in Yonkers.

Is Yonkers stricter on drinking?

I was in a pub and Galway lads had the Thomas’s game on tg4. Soem dodgy box.

It may have been GAAGO. I remember the stream being an absolute bollox, but we got enough to get the gist of what was happening. I ended up shoplifting a che guevara emblazoned shirt after the match from a shop on the promenade and tucking my sweaty donegal shirt in amongst a stone wall along the beach, and waking up in a single bed adjacent to the most monstrous looking dub that I slept with the night before, and the faint recollection of waking up and seeing the horror of what lay beside me in the middle of the night and clamboured to the adjacent bed. Many years later, I tracked down the clothing store on the promenade via google maps, and sent them the price of the shirt in addition to an amends letter. Wilder days.

I vaguely remember watching Armagh v Donegal in ‘06 in the gaslight. Might have been a different opponent, but I do remember it being jammed, and hoppin’.

Different opening times

That bar gone since, a victim of covid, was a good spot. A year before that a young lad from Longford died there after getting a box from a Dublin fella and hitting his head, sad all around.

If you were in Manhattan where would you drink?

There was many a stray box thrown by the Irish. A miracle that there wasn’t more deaths. Although I lived in Maspeth and Woodside, I did my drinking and most of my working in Manhattan.

The White Horse Tavern when I was having notions, Winnie’s in Chinatown for needing a quiet drink in a dark place, the now closed Fontana’s at Eldridge & Broome. Ulysses in the financial district used to let the underage (18-21) NYU girls in on a Thursday night and the place would be like shooting fish in a barrel. That was at a time when energy levels were peaking.

A pal of mine works in Ulysses’s it’s a very busy spot.

So Connollys,O Malleys,The Fenian,Keg and Lantern,The Glen,The Red Setter,The Beacon/Byre,Sean Carews,The Station Cafe,Sean Ogs, Cuckoo’s Nest and The Starting Gate.Did i miss any?

All the bars down there used to be dead Fri-Sun but thursday night in that bar never failed to go off. We did some work on the British memorial to 9/11 down there, which the south armagh lads spray painted the concrete with a pro IRA slogan days before before I think it was Charles flew over to open it, as well as Cipriani’s in that part of town.

That was them. I kept a massive distance from them unless unavoidable, unlike the lads I worked with who lived in those joints.

I would argue that back in my drinking days, there were some countries/cities/towns that their pub cultures were so dead, if you wanted a bit of craic, it lay within the confines of the Irish bar. It was oftentimes my last resort, but sometimes a welcome one in a sea of shite.

There probably wasnt room for yours and his in there anyway.