IT Professionals, Guilty

is chatgpt one of @thelimericks?

surely 94 has to be in there

Not hard to see chat gpt replacing a few lads

Tipp did well to win to come back and win the 2001 All Ireland having been knocked out in the quarters.

That was a great Sunny South-East Showdown.

@TreatyStones would want to take another look at his SQL code on Monday morning.

I’d say he’ll be buried in transaction logs for the night.

I wouldn’t be a DB man really, thank fuck.

Any OneNote experts on here? @stones_off your name pops up in a search.
I’ve a serious sync problem ongoing.

I lost a load of pages there yesterday trying to fix the sync problem.
I have them backed up but it won’t restore them while the sync problem exists.
Any ideas?

I’ve two notebooks. One syncs fine but the other, the larger one, has the problems. Same settings.

Does syncing the bigger one put you over your storage cap.

It started off with this:

OneNote can’t sync your notes right now. We’ll keep trying.

and I noticed it wasn’t syncing to my phone. So of course I went at it. It’s seems, and has always been slow to seemingly do anything. Anyway at one stage it did flash up a size warning on one folder only. So that’s when I split the folder and lost stuff in cyber space.

The internet isn’t very helpful. It says the size limit is 2GB but I can’t find it that’s for a whole notebook or just for a single folder. I’d be well over two for the big notebook.

Since I split it, it’s been syncing away for a good six hours now. No errors. If only the bloody sync icon would spin or something it would give you a bit more confidence that something is actually happening.

Mostly I leave it alone and it starts working again of it’s own accord. But it’s been hanging now for weeks, not hours.

I forgot to mention that when I tried to split the large folder it told me I couldn’t do that as the notebook wasn’t synced. Figure that one out. That’s when the fun started.

You’re gonna get no help with this one pal.

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Yea, it’s a known fix to ‘physically’ close the notebook. But when you reopen it, it takes ages to rebuild the database. And seeing as it wasn’t synced in the first place you’d have no confidence it would rebuild it correctly anyway.

You laptop might be stuck doing a windows update, finish it off first.

Stock excuse for everything.

What did you do?

Ah there was just a windows update that was pending, I ran that and rebooted. It should be grand now.

Because it’s often correct!

Teams is some buggy bucket of shite and outlook is the clunkiest fucking thing ever.

Why are IT nerds so in love with Microsoft?

I’m not sure if that’s a question for me or not.

I gradually bit by bit, over the course of a few days, I took everything out of the Notebook until there was absolutely nothing left in it. I divided the material between four or five other Notebooks which work fine.

The old Notebook was still 2.6GB with absolutely nothing inside it and still wouldn’t sync. I think Microsoft might have been getting me back for that little storage expansion trick I used further up in the thread. I emailed them but sure heard nothing back.

One of my Notebooks is still over 2Gbs and works fine.