Good man puke
No concern for the Irish people? Could you flesh that out a small bit. Itâs a fairly sweeping statement to make without explaining why. Itâs funny how youâve resorted to this culchee thing again when presented with clear facts that contradict your argument.
They price up some races but donât have a huge amount of staff on that side. Theyâd have a lot of people looking at fraud, they also have their marketing, finance, HR, operations all based out of there. Thereâs a lot to manage in a 50 odd store network. Then theyâd have the actual race room management, and telebetting employees as well.
yes, FOBTS have absolutely no place in Ireland, there is no demand from the punters & the health services are totally against them conidering the damage they have done in Australia & the like. they are known as the opium of gambling because they get people addicted & their addiction can ruin them- ex politican yates showing his social conscience disregards all this though so he can make a few bucks- in this regard he has no concern for th irish people all he cares about is his bottom line- fuck him the cunt- i dont recall mentioing culchies at all
They have alot of people looking at fraud? :lol:
I wouldnât say there was no demand from the public based on this. So is Ivan Yates on par with all the bookies offering 24/7 poker and casino gambling online where punters wonât even have a measure of what theyâre losing as they can just stack up debt on credit card after credit card? If FOBTS were in bookies theyâd only be available during certain hours - not fantastic but certainly better than all the channels currently open, someone can become a pure addict without getting out of bed.
FFS- yates gets his staff to vote & you use it as evidence
the FOBTS are the opium of gambling-
its led to a social emergency in oz
How come thereâs been no social emergency in Northern Ireland where theyâve been running for years now - surely theyâre more similar to us than the Aussies or people from mainland UK. Also, as far as Iâm aware thereâs numerous casinos with FOBTS up and running at the moment in the 26 counties and Iâm not aware of any major emergencies caused.
The idea of these FOBTS is to try and bleed the last few quid out of mugs who donât beat online and spend all day in the shops.
I would be very much against them.
A defiant post to chalk up 18,000 Runt!
northern Ireland,mainland britain??? wtf are you on about???
Amen to that
Hallelujah to that
I donât know if youâve ever been to Oz Mac but the place is plagued by them. Most pubs now have a bigger gaming area than they do boozing area. I saw lads do a weeks wages on them on the course of a day. Awful cunts of yokes.
Only seeing this now. Re-read the post - its pretty easy to understand.
Have never been to Oz Runt and as far as I know they were only talking about bringing them into bookie offices here initially and trying to keep them away from pubs. As I said in an earlier post, they have them in pubs in the north and thereâs been no issues. They have them in casinos in the south and thereâs been no issues. If people wants to waste their weeks wages away theyâll always find some method or get addicted to some other form of gambling. The FOBTS are just an easier mechanism than the other channels. If someone doesnât want to bet online theyâll find another method.
have you a social conscience at all mac? does ivan yates profits mean that much to you that you are willing to welcome the scourge of FOBTS into bookies - shame on you
I like the way youâre trying to turn this into an attack on me now. I couldnât give a shite about Yates profits to be honest with you.
Iâm a realist NCC - if FOBTS donât get people gambling something else will. If you canât see that then youâre being quite short sighted. I used to pop into the Sporting Emporium for lunch when I worked in town to have a read of the Racing Post. Youâd have lads in there playing blackjack and other casino games that would arrive at opening time and stay right through until they ran out of money or the casino kicked them out. The collosus (sp) off Harcourt St is open 24/7 and is never empty. Again, itâs not often people walk out with more money than they went in with. Google Poker or online casino and see how many results come back with different offers from Poker rooms. Players playing here donât even realise how much money theyâre losing as thereâs no physical exchange of cash. Nearly every town or county in Ireland now has at least one casino so itâs never been easier for people to lose every single penny that they lose.
With all of that going on, I really donât think one extra terminal in a bookies office would have made a difference as there are so many other ways for people to bet now that they will get addicted no matter where they are.
to be honest mac i have no interest in your anecdotial stories but I would like one final question answered before i put this thread to rest. why are you supporting something that the only demand for them is from the bookmakers?
I think its funny how you lose interest in something when someone is willing to try and seriously debate something with you and actually contradict your arguments without letting it get into the usual exchange of rolleyes and personal insults (not that theyâre not amusing as well).
Iâm not supporting FOBTS, Iâm saying they are no worse than anything else everyone on the street has access to so I donât think theyâll have the same âopiumâ impact in Ireland as they did in Australia as gambling has moved on a lot since 2001 or whatever year they came in over there (think it was 2001 in UK anyway). High street bookmakers are seeing less and less footfall through their shops and some are barely surviving. If things continue as they are this is going to result in shop closures meaning more people out of work and more people struggling to make ends meet. FOBTS would be one extra thing that might draw people into shops and keep some of the shops ticking over financially. Yes it will mean some gambling addicts are going to lose money but I would argue that they will lose it anyway regardless of whether itâs through a FOBT or not.
i like the way that you need to analyse the argument at the start of each post
-i think its funny that you need to do that & i like the way you turn it into an attack on me but what you are basically saying is that you hope addicts lose at the expense of fat cat shareholders
We know that FOBTs are highly addictive - 2004 research in the UK by Gamcare found that the use of FOBTs among problem gamblers had escalated from 12% to 40%. We know that those affected most by problem gambling are the financially vulnerable working class (90% of members of Gamblers Anonymous). With over 1200 betting offices in the state the proliferation of the machines would be widespread, as would the associated social problems. Furthermore, as argued in the report of the Casino Committee, to mix âbettingâ and âgamingâ is to creates enormous difficulties in implementing any system of regulation in the industry. Everyone concedes the industry must be effectively regulated in some form but the negative social implications outweighs yates lust for money