whatâs the word??
Keane has rubbished yesterdayâs stories about his Birmingham move - calling them a PR stunt, and pointing out that there was no deal offered for him to reject.
Of course some people will choose to believe greed got in the way.
And youâll choose to believe him over quoted BâHam sources, so none of us know whoâs telling the truth.
But have you ever heard about the boy who cried wofl?
Keaneâs always sought regular first team football and heâs moved on in the past when it hasnât been available (Inter, Liverpool). Birmingham are in a relegation battle and their ownerâs representative publicly spoke about Keane yesterday and did likewise with Miller amongst others. Iâd go with Keane on this one ahead of a goal shy club thatâs possibly trying to pacify its supporters.
The huns have announced that Kenny Miller has agreed terms with Bursaspor and is travelling to Turkey tomorrow to undergo a medical ahead of signing for them.
I have of course heard of him Kev. You donât seem overly familiar with the message in the story - it has little relevance here unless you can show us instances of Keane lying about his wage demands before and then of course you might recall the end of the story which is when the boy tells the truth. Are you in fact suggesting that Keane is telling the truth here, having lied before, or did you just choose your parable badly?
Anyway the statement from Birmingham yesterday was fairly gracious about Keane, and as I pointed out yesterday it was as much a decision about the contract length Keane expected rather than anything. Birmingham said:
âEveryone knows he is a tremendous player but having considered the overall package (one which certainly wasnât unfair on the part of his representatives to ask for given his talent and experience), Keaneâs age and the length of contract we felt that financially he wasnât the best option available.â
That was spun into âgreedy Keaneâ and the accusation he was demanding a wage increase and all sorts of other nonsense.
Itâs not that hard to arrive at something approaching the truth. Informal soundings out from Birmingham of ball park figures from Keaneâs representatives. They send back his current salary and expected contract length and Birmingham conclude they donât believe heâs worth it.
No offer, no rejection, no wage increase sought etc etc.
But despite the actual statements in the public domain feel free to conclude otherwise.
Rocko, you nicely left out the fact that they questioned him not willing to move to BâHam, openly, and that it may affect the moral in the team in their opinion. The assistant manager said this 2-3 days ago.
That would be a more likely story for me than the money. This was stated before any money came into it, and i believe what happened was AM decided as soon as he wasnât willing to move that heâd forget about it, and the press kept it going till yesterday.
The defending of Keane is hilarious, youâd swear he was related to some of ye.
I think the truth will hit Robbie when its all over Rocko, when its too late and he realises he fucked around too much. Like his namesake heâll admit as much down the road.
The sniping at Keane based on media conjecture is obscene. Peter Grant tried his heart out as a player for Celtic but he was part of an inept management team with Mowbray and Venus and I donât put any store in what he said about Keane. Frankly, I didnât expect him to uproot his family to Scotland last year as he signed on a loan deal for 5 months. I also didnât have any issue with him returning to London after a game on Saturday if he was not required to report back for training until Tuesday morning; itâs effectively no different to people heading home for a weekend from any job. His record of 16 goals in 19 games doesnât indicate a lack of professionalism either.
Apparently those who believe the Birmingham Chairman and the statements from Robbie Keane himself are deluded but Kev isnât because he knows better.
The quotes from Grant were in the papers here 2-3 days ago but they were actually made about 10 days ago and in the overall context of Grant saying that Birmingham are interested in signing him but itâs not a done deal yet. The story in the past couple of days is that Birmingham have said theyâre not signing him for financial reasons based on his age and that his demands were reasonable.
Only someone with a chip on their shoulder would twist it.
I hope Keane moves and Iâd hate to see an agent get in the way of it but I find it particularly funny that a moron with no professional sporting background can slag off Irelandâs record ever goalscorer and talk about the truth hitting him down the road and Keane fucking about too much. What a first class clown. Heâs done rather well for himself and youâd want to be a peculiar sort of begrudger to refuse to admit that.
Ha, they are really upset by this. Iâm not entitled to my opinion now because iâm not a professional sportsman. :lol:
Someday youâll realise how retarded what you said is.
I have actually been quite realistic and balanced on RK, he has done alot of good things, but ye are so blinded its funny. In my OPINION he moved around far too much, and i firmly believe he never realised his full potential, due to that, not being properly fit in the early years of his career and having massive runs of not playing.
On the other side ye refuse to accept he had/has fairly major failings for a pro.
I think Kev is spot on about Keane here to be honest.
You are entitled to your opinion, youâre not entitled to your opinion being right.
The suggestion that Keane is a wasted talent is preposterous. Heâs an elite sportsman and the best Irish soccer player since Roy Keane who has absolutely destroyed the Irish goalscoring record.
Only someone with an irrational dislike for the man would accuse him of wasting talent by moving around far too much and then criticise him for being greedy and not moving now. You really have to disregard all logic not to be blinded by the hypocrisy there.
The facts show that heâs always moved either:
- to a much bigger club or
- to increase his chances of playing time.
As I said before it takes a particularly special type of begrudgery to find fault with his ambition or his commitment to his career. And whether youâre a professional sportsman or not itâs absurd to claim that he has wasted his talent given what he has achieved and the records he has broken for Ireland.
I wonder if the Keane knockers would care to imagine how successful Ireland would have been without him. No World Cup in 2002 and not a prayer of a qualification since. 45 international goals and heâs still judged by quotes taken out of context by the assistant manager of a team spiralling towards relegation, who also stated that theyâd love to have him. And the Birmingham chairman supported that yesterday with his own comments. And yet the gombeens and the know-nothings of the Irish sporting public who believe the odd Premiership highlights package on tv is enough to entitle them to a credible opinion, decide he hasnât been successful and he hasnât been ambitious. And then the most foolish, the most deluded of them all claims that heâs a âbad influenceâ in dressing rooms. The next most deluded guy thinks heâs shown a poor attitude because he defended his manager on a Late Late Show appearance.
Honestly, you couldnât make it up.
Those of us who judge Robbie Keane on his performances on the pitch donât need to defend him at all because his record frankly speaks for itself. There was a bit of talk here the other day about whether Stapleton was better or not. Stapleton was a fine striker but even ignoring their international careers (where Robbieâs record is vastly superior) Stapleton had 151 goals in 658 career appearances. Take away his time at Bradford at the end and it was 149 goals in 550 appearances. Keane has 157 goals in 429 games playing for inferior teams in a tougher league mostly. You can go on and draw whatever comparisons you want but it starts to become irrelevant. You really do need to have a chip on your shoulder to suggest the guy wasted his talent.
3 things, i donât give enough of a fuck about soccer or RK to have a chip on my shoulder. And he didnât fulfill his talent, i didnât say he wasted his talent. Wasted would mean he never made it, he did though waste alot of time.
âAnd yet the gombeens and the know-nothings of the Irish sporting public who believe the odd Premiership highlights package on tv is enough to entitle them to a credible opinion, decide he hasnât been successful and he hasnât been ambitious.â
This is hilarious coming from someone who says has said in the past he doesnât watch that much EPL. :lol:
Creating a website seems to have you thinking you are this all knowing sporting knowledge yourself. You are a medium size fish in an extremely small pond, donât forget that. I happen to know professional footballers who would have similar opinions as me, does that make you completely wrong? No i donât think it does.
But you are so quick to jump to RKâs defence that you donât see iâm not completely dissing him, i really just have an opinion that he moved around alot, struggled to fit in in more than one club, missed massive runs of games and IMO didnât get as much as he could have out of it. I can accept you thinking he did what he could, but disagree, but i donât know why that means you are all knowing and anyone who holds my view (which is a hell of alot of people) are sporting retards.
I think youâre being a bit harsh on Robbie here, Kev. It may be fair to say heâs not fulfilled his full potential at club level but heâs regaularly taken steps to try and progress this career. He took what he thought was his big chance when he moved to Liverpool but unfotunately he was messed around a bit by Benitez when he really didnât fit into his plans.
The move to Inter may have been a bit naive but he wasnât afraid to try and take his chance with one of the biggest clubs in Europe.
Now i respect that opinion, even if i donât agree with it. He should have known the story at Liverpool, no matter what Rafa did after.
Is he with the same agent since the pool deal?
If anyone was having a look at shoulder chips I would suggest a former AIL player would rank highest among all during this discussion with curry cheese and whatever else on top. Higher than even the players mentioned on this thread and appearing to be getting personally indignant defending a player he reportedly only sees playing 10 times or less every 2 years. First off, Keane has made himself a very wealthy man at a very high level of football. He has a fine goalscoring record at international level but also club level leaving aside the last two seasons. He has done very well for himself and should be applauded for that. I think he could have been even better. I dont think he was the greatest professional in the game, was often in poor physical condition, never learned to head the ball, his effort on the pitch was often questionable and you wouldnt need to be deluded to suggest that if he had improved on these matters that he would have been even better.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 541297â]I happen to know professional footballers
FFS :lol:
Also can we put KIBâs posts in the dungeon until he figures out how to properly quote a message?
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 541299â]
Now i respect that opinion, even if i donât agree with it. He should have known the story at Liverpool, no matter what Rafa did after.
Is he with the same agent since the pool deal?
I donât honestly know.
Keane was a failure at Inter, a failure at Liverpool, a failure at Leeds and, in the last couple of years, a failure at Spurs and Ireland. For a man of his talent, thatâs disappointing.
On the other hand, he has the goalscoring record, a good spell at Coventry and Wolves and at the beginning of Spurs.
I was a big fan of him until I started going to all the home Ireland matches 5 years ago. Watching him on the pitch, I think the man is an utter farce. Whingeing when itâs easier to chase the ball, pretending to go for headers (jumping early or late as he is afraid of his shite), pulling out of challenges. Maybe because he is hyped up so much that I am harder on him than others but I donât see the whinging and the cowardly aspect to any other playerâs game.
A great goalscorer no doubt but an utterly infuriating player to watch. His goals record should not mean heâs not subject to criticism though.