Kerry babies

I can only speak for my own experience in relation to it and I was surprised to read your comments. I am not making a lie of yours at all.

No, the family were not blow ins. They have been in the area for generations.

Who knows, but that may have been a help.

But you were basing your whole outlook on 1 experience. That’s huge bias.

i will second that
i went to school in a place that had half caste kids appearing every so often as their mothers had rode various american servicemen who came in to cork harbour, never a word said, there was kids with parents in prison, kids who had no idea who their parents were, kids whose parents were drunk collecting them from school , not a bother, kids adopted, not even mentioned

exception was proddy kids , they were treated with disdain but that was ok… in general they would have been bullied ferociously

That’s because Cobh is a terrible shit hole full of scumbags and nothing surprises anyone

+1.
It was the same in Tipperary. But you can add albinos to the list of bullied kids.
Them lads always got it harder than most.

its a fine town that treats adopted children very well from my experience…
you’d have fitted in grand

And not from mine.

And it’s a terrible dark place with some horrendous secrets

This makes sense with Cobh. It’s hard to bully the freaks when they are in the majority.

adopted kids are not freaks mate… well maybe in one particular case

Nell wrote a book about it / she was on radio 1 last night about it. Hayes was sedated during her evidence and barely awake. Shameful episode in our history

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B007BO4CXY/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1516185992&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=a+woman+to+blame

Wtf? Was there no one around to sort the bullies out?

Fuck no. You let nature take its course.

If you are going to try hard to provoke offence, the word you are trying to use is “harlot”.
At least spell it correctly if trying to be clever.
In a nutshell, the entirety of the entirely male judiciary involved were more exercised that a woman would dare to have extra marital sex than by any stabbed baby.

@Fagan_ODowd, Gerry O’Carroll is a clown, this is some clusterfuck of an article.

Gerry O’Carroll – 15 April 2014 03:30 PM

AT 8.30pm on Saturday, April 14, 1984, Jack Griffin, a farmer from Cahirciveen in Co Kerry was out jogging at the local White’s Strand when he found the body of a male infant.
He notified the local gardai of his discovery. The following day a post mortem examination carried out by then State Pathologist Dr John Harbison revealed that the infant had been stabbed 28 times and had a broken neck.

A murder investigation was launched. Thus began the sad, pathetic, baffling and bizarre saga which has become known as the Kerry Babies case.

I was a detective sergeant at that time in the investigative section of the Garda Technical Bureau, known as the Murder Squad. I travelled from Dublin to Kerry on April 26 to assist in the investigation.

IMPLICATIONS

The sending of a specialist team to Cahirciveen had been delayed because of overtime considerations. This decision would have far-reaching implications on the subsequent investigation.

As a result, Dr Harbison did not have the usual garda forensic experts to hand who would have provided blood samples from the remains, photographs of the scene and such.

The focus of the investigation fell on Joanne Hayes, then aged 25, from Abbeydorney, Co Kerry.

Investigators discovered that Ms Hayes had recently given birth but there was no baby.

Members of the Hayes family, including Joanne, were interviewed at Tralee garda station. They made statements that a baby boy had been born in the house and that this baby had been stabbed and beaten and was thrown into the sea.

Ms Hayes was charged with the murder of the child. The following day the body of another male infant was found by family members on the Hayes family farm.

This baby, dubbed the ‘Tralee baby’, was a boy. Its only injuries were bruises to the neck which indicated self delivery by the mother. Examination of the baby’s lungs reveal that it had never achieved a separate existence.

The murder charge against Joanne Hayes was subsequently dropped. The Hayes family made allegations of ill-treatment against investigating gardai, including myself.

After an 82-day tribunal, Judge Kevin Lynch exonerated the gardai of ill-treatment of the Hayes family. He also concluded that Joanne Hayes had nothing to do with the death of the Cahirciveen baby but was responsible for the death of the Tralee baby.

Over the years I have vehemently disagreed with a central finding of the tribunal: that Joanne Hayes did not give birth to twins. I am convinced that Ms Hayes did give birth to twins and was the mother of both the Tralee and the Cahirciveen babies.

The only way to get to the truth of the Kerry Babies mystery is to exhume both infants and subject tissue samples to DNA analysis.

EVIDENCE

This would prove, I believe, that Ms Hayes was the mother of both babies. My belief is based on evidence that was given at the tribunal.

First, Prof Harbison did not have full forensic experts present to assist him at the Cahirciveen baby’s inquest.

I also believe a key mistake was made – I don’t believe a proper sample of the Cahirciveen baby was sent to the forensic science laboratory. This means that it could not be established, in 1984, that the babies were twins.

Third, and of equal and vital importance, is the fact that the Hayes family members made statements that the Cahirciveen baby was stabbed and beaten. The Tralee baby, found on the Hayes farm, did not have any of these marks.

The only way to reconcile the inconsistencies in this case is to carry out DNA testing, and I reiterate my call for this.

I also welcome the statement from the Hayes family solicitor yesterday that such DNA testing could be carried out. This would, as he pointed out, serve to write the final chapter in this issue.

Very wafer thin . It was an awful day on polling day which reduced turnout a bit in rural areas and there was a really insensitive intervention by a certain Judge on the Monday before referendum .

There were vigils of the rosary 24/7 outside a salthill nightclub which installed a vending machine. It was removed.

Dr Harbison was also an issue by all accounts.

Proper order. Sex fiends need to be shown some restraint.

This is what happens when you read the Herald.

Only seeing this now mate. Very good.

I was wondering how @horriblecunt knew the oul fella was an upstanding member of An Garda Siochána :laughing: