Kilkenny GAA thread

Where is Threecastles, is it near Muckalee or is my geography completely off?

@Malarkey

Would Ballyhale Shamrocks be essentially regarded as a tinpot club only founded in the 1970’s?

Wasn’t there an older club pre James Stephens, Éire Óg I think they were in the city but no longer in existence

It’s between Kilkenny and Freshford. If you took the Kilkenny route to Thurles for a match you’d pass the pitch on your left hand side.

Are Ye Faire Citie still going?

I think there was. Something to do about a county final between them and Johnstown in the late 60s. It ended with both clubs getting 24 month suspensions. In a loophole both clubs folded and set up James Stephen’s and Fenians in their place.

@Malarkey will confirm in time.

Part of Freshford Parish, just north of town. Nice spot. They would only have 22 or 23 players. Any of the better lads go and hurl with St Lachtain’s at adult (and there is only one juvenile set up in parish, under St Lachtain’s banner). They just want to keep the name going since Threecastles was a founder club of Kilkenny GAA – and fair play to them. There is no tension with St Lachtain’s.

Near enough south end of Muckalee Parish, right enough. Not sure, being from South Kilkenny, if the two parishes touch.

No. That club was a short lived 1980s experiment, with a lot of Brewery input. Only lasted two or three seasons, I think.

Only by lads without a hurling pot to piss in.

Thomastown have one, 1946.

Castlecomer: none

Ballyragget: none.

Graiguenamanagh: none.

Mullinavat: none.

Freshford: two, 1961 and 1963.

Urlingford: none.

There was an Erin’s Own, a founder club. Provided 1905 captain, Dan Stapleton, a Callan native. Went out of business in the early 1920s.

Éire Óg was founded in mid 1930s and defunct in late 1960s. St John’s end of town, mainly. Jim Langton’s club. Played in green jersey with white sash.

Loads of clubs have come and gone, of course.

No. No truth to that yarn.

James Stephens founded around 1910.

The Fenians: an amalgamation of two Junior clubs, Johnstown and St Kieran’s, in 1968.

Thanks for that. I’ll have to go back to my Fenians man for the right story.

A quick Google search brought me to Wikipedia and a list of Kilkenny gaelic football senior winners. A team of that name won the 1925 final. would I be right to assume a connection!

No. Time gap says it all. I guess the phrase is just one of those arch Kilkenny-associated tags, same as ‘Noreside’.

There were a raft of Kilkenny amalgamations/new clubs, on parish basis, in late 1960s to early 1970s. This swerve was much to the good and ultimately allowed the helpful set up of 12 Senior teams and 12 Intermediate teams.

How many clubs in KK? Around the 40 mark?

Ye have great championship format. Can’t think of too many clubs that haven’t had a crack off silverware or had a relegation scare in recent years. It no doubt helps the county team but isn’t transferable to other counties.

Yes, around 40. Think it might be 41. Dunnamaggin and Kilmoganny (their football name) counts as two clubs. Same is true of Cloneen and Railyard (football), of Muckalee (football) and St Martin’s.

Same situation with Ballyneale/Grangemockler, Ballybacon-Grange/Ardfinnan, I think?

12 plus 12 is undoubtedly optimum. But the number of clubs and county geography is a massive help – non transferable help, as you say.

42 listed on official website.

I count 13 clubs with a first team in Junior. Then Threecastles are Junior C and Carrigeen are Junior D.

So 39 clubs, really.

Plus the three football arms already listed.