Kilkenny GAA thread

Shamrocks of Ballyhale suits the robotic Kilkenny narrative, Stepford wives indeed.

Ah but it must surely be in jest ?

Poor Knocktopher, pushed to one side…

What’s the third k in the shamrock?

Basically, there is a rump in Knocktopher who took a stook because no one from that end of the parish started as a player or was part of the management group for 2019’s All Ireland win. Childishness and irrationality are the keynotes. This (non) issue was also certain people’s attempt to cause trouble by proxy for the Senior Executive, because said people had not been given their way in some regards. Other people, who should have known far better, got themselves roped in.

There was a so called attempt in late 2019 to rebrand the club as ‘Shamrocks’, its original name. Then it was found out that 21st century GAA administration required a concrete means of distinguishing between different clubs that have ‘Shamrocks’ as their name or part of their name – Conahy Shamrocks, in the first instance. So the ‘Shamrocks Ballyhale’ horror emerged from this tangle. People are so daft and irrational as to believe ‘Shamrocks Ballyhale’ makes ‘Shamrocks’ more important and ‘Ballyhale’ less important. This sort of madness is currently running about…

Thanks to this messing, our club is now in the lamentably unique position of having five names: Ballyhale Shamrocks/Seamróga Baile Héil, Shamrocks/Seamróga, and Shamrocks Ballyhale.

The club was known as Shamrocks between 1972 and 1997. From 1998 onwards, the club became known, in a mysterious but organic fashion, as Ballyhale Shamrocks (and ‘Seamróga Baile Héil’ was incorporated into the club crest, by ourselves, in the early 2000s). No one offered any demurral until 2019. If people are genuinely offended, does it take you 21 years to become offended?

A factor in the background, I reckon, is the departure of the Carmelites from Knocktopher Friary in 2017. Nothing whatsoever to do with the GAA – irrationality is the keynote – but you would have a certain faction in Knocktopher muttering about ‘Ballyhale are taking over’, because the parish priest is based in Ballyhale and now says mass in the Friary.

What do you mean? If memory serves – I own their club history – they are based around Ballon and their name is ‘Fighting Cocks’. Simple.

No. Had to finish up young, alas. A wonderful hurler and a sound man from great stock.

Knockmoylan.

Although that club lapsed in 1958, it was important (and right) to acknowledge its prior existence. Pat ‘Dexter’ Aylward, the first parish native to win a Senior All Ireland, was hurling with Knockmoylan in 1922.

Jesting in what sense?

I am from a little outside Knocktopher. The family is there 150 years.

Which annoys me even more. Some fools do not see how they are painting Knocktopher in a terrible light, as the home of begrudgery.

Person/person’s agitating for the sake of getting a rise for their own entertainment? I’ve seen your comprehensive reply above though which outlines the facts. Bizarre stuff

Beyond bizarre.

And there is a lot more under the surface. But I will leave it there. Hopefully, at some point, sanity will be restored.

The true robotic factor is people using this adjective about the greatest hurling team of all time.

Having seen both semi finals I’d say Ballyhale will hammer them?

@Malarkey wasnt yer man Frank Cummins a ‘Shamrocks’ man who left and hurled for Blackrock against ‘Shamrocks’ in an All Ireland Club Semi Final? Yet he still had no problem still lining out for Kilkenny?

What was that about?

I do not like shit stirrers.

It’s a fascinating topic.

Hall of Fame hurler leaves his club to play for a team in Cork only to rock up against his home club in an All Ireland Club Semi Final, all the while playing for his home county.

Never happened before or since as far as I know.

Would have been same if it was Cuala and Borrisileigh had clashed in recent years with Shane Saint stuck in the middle.

Pow! Right in the sister kisser!

My recollection was that he was a Garda when he moved to Cork and it was the done thing at the time for Guards to transfer to a club where they were stationed. We had a steady stream of Guards come into Mount Sion in the 70s and 80s and hurl with us.

Is Shane Stapleton a hall of famer?:joy: Where does the Saint nickname come from?

Could have happened Woolie in the football if Parnells had won Dublin senior and played Portlaoise.