Kilkenny GAA thread

Yeah, very possible.

We’re benefitting massively ourselves now at underage from planning laws promoting extending town boundaries rather than efficient rural planning…another matter entirely.

Slieverue is an interesting case, with access back to schools in Waterford and no parish rule in that county, have ye ended up with a GAA commuter?

Yeah we have a number of kids living in Ferrybank parish but playing for us by virtue of going to school in Slieverue. Ferrybank boys NS has a reputation (undeserved imo) of being rough, and a cohort of parents avoid it as a result.

Equally there are several kids born and raised in the parish who play for Waterford clubs as that’s who their parents were affiliated with in their own playing days and, as you noted, there is no parish rule across the bridge.

Mark O’Brien who was on the Waterford panel up until recently lives in the parish, but his parents are Ferrybank stock and so Mark threw in his lot with them from an early age. There was a Doherty chap on the strong DLS team of the 00s with a similar background.

Swings and roundabouts as the man said.

We had a very good juvenile set up going around 15 years ago which led to a minor B championship in 2014 and a very decent showing in minor A 2015. That team is back boning the current junior side. Things were let slip big time at underage level after that though, and it was only addressed properly in the past 2/3 years.

Good work being done at the minute and due to our location we shouldn’t be hit too hard by rural depopulation in the coming years. So hopefully the work currently being put in along with the demographics bear a bit of fruit somewhere down the line.

Thanks, I’m genuinely interested in socio-economic factors such as housing on GAA lay out for the future.
Quick fix whether it be right or wrong is relaxation or removal of parish rule. Because of politic constraints you’ll no longer be born into a club, you’ll have to join one.

It’s a hugely interesting topic.

Look at Kilkenny underage which is dominated by the city teams. The clubs the border the city and towards the South are steady but the North are struggling with lower population.

The parents rule that’s used in cork may help such clubs in North Kilkenny. Young lads would be much better to be playing with their parents team out the country than siting on the bench fit the Boro or the Village.

Conahy pretty much non existent underage, I’d expect similar slippage with St. Martins/Coon/Muckalee etc.

Galmoy and Fenians running out of numbers.

Freshford, Ballyragget and Lisdowney struggling at C too.

Tis sad to see. More clubs may need to amalgamate at underage. Not like Windgap/Galmoy which I’ll never understand, but Johnstown/Freshford or Conahy/Muckalee perhaps? I see Callan team up with the 'Bridge for underage camogie.

Your better off stay apart as long as possible. Combine where necessary then, the Galmoy-Windgap combo has worked well despite the geographical difficulties.

It’s simply really.

A lads eye can’t be turned with the distance between both clubs

If you’re not at least a 2nd cousin to the lad you’re playing with then you might as well throw you’re hat at it. In saying that, @Piles_Hussain and I are no way related. Not only is he a townie, but a blow-in townie!

Whoa whoa whoa there, I am in fact the only one of my family who is not a blow-in, thank you very much.

edit: the nieces and nephews are also not blow-ins.

Just a Townie so

The lads are at it again

Adult level only, the underage set up is heaving so that amalgamation will disband in a few years.

Ending this year I heard.

Originally was supposed to have a 3 year term.
Their in the Junior final now so disbanding after promotion would be off, who’d even be promoted.
The underage set up is booming and they’d be considered a top club so hopefully only a matter of time before they stand alone or other clubs start to object(which would be a positive thing).

Informative rating…

The Camogie club in Callan have been fielding really excellent U 12 and U 14 teams for a few years now.

No talk outta the Callan lads about yere exit from the junior Yesterday?

It was close enough in fairness, not enough in the forwards finished ye, Callan badly needed that goal with about 3 minutes left to put them one up…yer man was clane through he had to get it…Squeogh scored that bit easier.