Kilkenny GAA thread

Noel Doherty, Galmoy man. He owns a sports science company that specialises in recovery from hamstring injuries

Does he own a barbers also. Jasus the eyebrow blades must be popular in Thomastown.

Great photo.

That was decent out of the lads.

Wouldn’t bet on Tullogher being comfortable at Intermediate level. They may well blend into the pack for a couple of years but that will be it.

Great for the Tullogher lads. Be the only time a few of them will get to visit Croke Park this year.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Same as Thomastown in senior.Alot of talk about them getting to a senior semi final.
Id be very doubtful about that.Their goalkeeper and full back line are an area that will be questioned.
Youll get found out fairly quickly at that level.
I dont see them them relegation fodder either.

38 this year.

U could be right. Few injuries and they’ll struggle. Drop off from starting 15 to subs

Any have info on how the minor or u20 panels shaping up? Nothing in local media about it so far. Is it same management teams as last year?

U20s should be strong. Langton, Joe Fitz, shine, Hughes, Eoin Lyng, killian Doyle.

I know there’s some second teams, but fielding 30 teams in a sport ye don’t give a fuck about isn’t bad going. Surely pull a passable 15 out of it to play division 4.

The likes of Leitrim, Sligo, Longford et al are pulling 15 from less.

They lost a minor final by a point to the all-conquering Dicksboro a couple of years ago. They must have some great young talent.

2021, contested an u13A final the same year so there’s a good crop coming.

I agree. But then you have no team entered by Ballyhale, Tullaroan, Freshford, Callan, and Johnstown. That’s not good enough either. I presume if you really wanted to play you could go to another club.

It’s all about coaching. When Br. Damien came to Callan first back in the day he took the football team first before the hurling side. He showed us two or three simple things and we were away, won two matches and lost the third game by a couple of points.

you are talking sense Julio

fuck all 2nd teams there in that list , that is near 30 clubs with an adult football team

In kerry 15 clubs field adult hurling teams (you would reach 26 or so counting 2nd and 3rd teams)

I cant see 30 clubs in Kerry fielding an adult hurling team any century soon

who are the powerhouse clubs in kilkenny football these times?

Christy Walsh a kerryman usually manages the county team

Christy is from Kilmoyley in Kerry who have no football team juvenile or adult and played senior hurling for Kerry for 20 years, played Railway Cup hurling one year

went from being the thick of the minority code in kerry to the thick of the minority code in Kilkenny!

Not as straight forward as that though - he was a good club footballer with Ardfert in Kerry and played for the kerry junior footballers

The issue isn’t numbers, it’s that they couldn’t give 2 fucks. 95% of those lads are hurlers who are just out playing a bit of football for the craic. The other 5% are lads who were born in the wrong county