For the record, Tyrone won an All-Ireland hurling championship last year. Not remotely comparable to the Kilkenny footballers.
Not remotely comparable is not true WTB. There are many comparisons that can be made. The most obvious of which is:
The gap from Kilkenny footballers to Tyrone footballers is huge.
The gap from Tyrone hurlers to Kilkenny hurlers is huge.
Yet you donât see a thread about any other team in the lowest tier of either sport here except for Kilkenny footballers.
Yeah we are a bit adrift of the other teams lower tiered teams in football but we have to start somewhere.
How many tiered competitions are there in Football?
Iâm only aware of 2.
And the 2nd one is danger of being axed. Is there a Tier 3 and Tier 4 competition?
[quote=âcluaindiuicâ]Not remotely comparable is not true WTB. There are many comparisons that can be made. The most obvious of which is:
The gap from Kilkenny footballers to Tyrone footballers is huge.
The gap from Tyrone hurlers to Kilkenny hurlers is huge.
Yet you donât see a thread about any other team in the lowest tier of either sport here except for Kilkenny footballers.
Yeah we are a bit adrift of the other teams lower tiered teams in football but we have to start somewhere.
How many tiered competitions are there in Football?
Iâm only aware of 2.
And the 2nd one is danger of being axed. Is there a Tier 3 and Tier 4 competition?[/QUOTE]
There are many teams with a similar record to that of Tyroneâs hurlers. Kilkenny have been uniquely uncompetitive in gaelic football for a long time.
Which this current team is trying to address but get mocked and jeered for their attempts inside and outside their own county.
Anyone know about the tiered championships in football?
Do Kilkenny have a Tier 4 competition to work towards?
[quote=âcluaindiuicâ]Which this current team is trying to address but get mocked and jeered for their attempts inside and outside their own county.
Anyone know about the tiered championships in football?
Do Kilkenny have a Tier 4 competition to work towards?[/QUOTE]
Come off it now CDC,the fellas on the 2010 Kilkenny Senior Football Panel and thier no doubt small backroom team are trying to address the situation of our lack of effort in Football but very few others in the County are not least the County Board at adult and Juvenile level,im not bothered about it either way but have enjoyed witnessing the very odd League win over the past 15 or 20 Years,i love all things Kilkenny like most from our County but im not going to be defending the indefenceable for the sake of good P.R,thats what goes on at kkcats.com?,do you post there by any chance?,i dont but i reckon you might by reading some of the propoganda your peddling hereâŚ
Did the lads have a challenge this weekend?
Thatâs some awful nice hypocrisy TLWâŚ
Instead of being negative about the football team could ya not just say nothing and let them get on with it.
Itâd take serious effort by HQ and the provincial counties to help the âweakerâ game in counties. If a situation like that in Kilkenny has existed for a long time, then itâs fairly obvious that the board donât see it as being in their interests to divert resources for the promotion of the weaker game. Some external entity has to step in of the situation wonât change. Equalization of funding obviously wouldnât be appropriate but guaranteeing funding for the smaller game would be a start. The sad reality is of course that HQ donât give a shit either, so the sorry saga of the likes of the Kilkenny footballers rolls on.
Kilkenny 0-02 Clare 4-18
Things didnât go well for the lads today. Probably a little over confident after the promising early showings. A dose of reality is just what the doctor ordered, today will be a turning point. Mark my words.
The ref was again usâŚ
Two beatings for KK in the one weekend, tis lucky Ballyhale and Lachtains retained some glory.
From rte.ie
Leitrim registered their first win of the campaign with a 4-18 to 1-04 destruction of Kilkenny in Carrick-on-Shannon. Declan Gilhooley got two goals in the first half, while James Glancy got two in the second to leave Kilkenny rooted to the bottom of the Division.
Heads are down after the second heavy beating in as many weeks. There will be serious questions asked in the week ahead as the Kilkenny public are understandably going to be angry. Itâs worth reminding people that no trophies are won in February and Kilkenny people maybe need to ask if public expectation is putting too much pressure on the team at this early stage.
Ah Jesus,delete this thread lads for fuck sake! :lol:
stop being so negative, last week they lost 4-18 to 0-02 to Clare this week they lost 4-18 to 1-04, the defense didnât deteriorate compared to last week and the forwards improved by kicking an extra 1-02âŚA good days work alround
Some decent looking talent coming through the system
That goalie is one to watch out for.
I wonder what its like to be at a game like that
Thats one for the bucket list I think
The Carlow Nationalist giving both guns to the Kilkenny County Board. As a duel power they are well within their rights.
Seriously though, the most damning piece Iâve seen anywhere on Kilkennyâs efforts to promote gaelic football
Embarrassing Kilkenny insult every league team
http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/Portals/2/Pictures/c/CarlowVsKilkennyFootball.jpg
CARLOW 2-19 KILKENNY 0-08
ITâS the one fixture on the calendar that causes everybody to throw their eyes to heaven.
When it happens twice in a week you start thinking youâve done something wrong in a past life and this is your punishment. Kilkenny add nothing to the football league and the compliments they get for their resilience to an impossible situation are nauseating.
The reason Kilkenny are terrible is that they donât care about the sport. Itâs actively discouraged. They run their county championships off at the start of the year to cause as little intrusion into the small ball game as possible.
This team is back in the league as a PR stunt to show the greater GAA world that itâs taking the game seriously but, on the evidence of Carlow u21s and seniors annihilation of the Cats in the space of five days, itâs not only disgraceful but highly insulting to every other county.
The u21 footballers, the young men they claim to be bringing on, were not able to kick the ball properly. If you donât believe how accurate that is check out the highlights on our website. They looked like they were learning how to kick a football during the game.
The seniors too had so many basic flaws that if you saw your club teamâs u16s making similar mistakes youâd be ashamed.
Itâs not the playersâ fault. The root cause of this problem is the attitude of the county and as a result an asterisk should be placed beside all their hurling all-Irelands with this note:
*Never embraced all facets of the GAA.
When you see a county like Carlow doing everything it can to battle on two fronts with an extremely limited playing pool it forces you to ask the question, who are the real heroes in the GAA? Certainly not Kilkenny.
The talent is there but until they take it seriously and stop insulting every county they play by repeating the farcical scenes we witnessed this week a dark cloud will remain over the black and amber jersey for all time.
Carlow gained nothing from the match in Dr Cullen Park. It was a case of turn up, hammer Kilkenny and try not to get injured for the big game this weekend against Clare.
âIt was a game to get out of the way,â said midfielder John Murphy.
âThey could have been tricky opposition. Weâll have to get set for next week now. The results arenât really going our way after last night with Waterford beating Limerick. Hopefully weâll keep it going and have things settled for next week.
âWith the u21s back and JJ Smith is back from suspension so we should be stronger. We kind of need to work on stopping giving away stupid ball and playing it to lads in better positions. Lads seem to be taking wrong options when we have the ball.
âHopefully itâs improving though and with the weather getting better we can work on it more and more.â
We could have asked more from him, quizzed him about why they dropped the tempo to a snailâs pace in the second half when they could have improved their points total. But what was the point. This was a mere fulfilment of a fixture.
Thankfully no one got hurt and, a rarity for the team labelled the dirtiest in the league, they only received one yellow card. Going into the game Carlow were bottom of the fair play league picking up an average of 6.5 yellow cards per game.
The fact they didnât add to that total is again false data as there was never any intense moments.
Johnny Kavanagh started the first half well kicking seven of his eight-point total as they led 1-13 to 0-2 at the interval. John Murphyâs goal killing off any semblance of competition in the fixture.
Kilkenny enjoyed the second half more as, given a stage to perform, they came more into the game and showed they can play football.
However it was all too little and far too late to make any difference to the tie. In the end they just wasted everybodyâs time once again.
Shite like this out of Carlow cunts doesnt surprise me at all,its been eating them for Years that theyre shite at everything whilst Kilkenny is a COunty of high achievers,i detest Carlow people as a rule and its due to begrudgery like this,well that and them being naturally miserable bastards almost to a man and woman.
Those arseholes could only beat our C team footballers by 17 points and they are crowing about it,everybody else beat us by 30 points you fucking retards.
Brilliant,just brilliant! :lol:
Carlow can fuck off with themselves and they can take their slashmerchant teams out of the Kilkenny Junior hurling league if they object so much to our footballers.
Carlow for jaysus sake. The best thing about them and their entire county is the jersey. Thank fuck tis more or less bypassed now.
I mean would anyone miss it if it disappeared?