From what I’ve seen of him O’Donovan is better than Pat Ryan, but as you said why has Ryan being getting the game time all along and next thing it’s O’Donovan who starts? I suppose we don’t see whats happening in training, maybe O’Donovan has only recently come into form.
Jim-Bob is John Kielys Love child???
There’s a serious anti-Doon agenda from what I can see.
If we are within 4/5 with 15/20 minutes to go and you have Nash / James Ryan / English / GOM left to bring in - who the fuck knows.
I know. We’ll fucking walk all over the cunts.
I would presume that for the last few weeks that Kinnerk, Quilty and Kiely have been focusing on better use of the ball. That more than anything else is the killer. Doesn’t have to be a complete revolution, just need to take that extra split second to look up and try and hit the ball in front of a forward making a run.
Darragh is a better (slightly) midfielder. Pat Ryan could play in the forwards and be more comfortable than O’Donovan. If you needed someone to stick the ball over the bar - Ryan but O’Donovan is more likely to win the ball for you.
We can only hope. You’d have thought they’d have worked on it before now though
If we had only started GOM I think we’d all be much more confident than the 95% we currently are … Himself and Hannon would deliver fairly decent ball - as is, we are relying on Hannon alone to deliver quality.
Fennelly will do as he did last game and sit on the edge — Who picks up Aylward? He’ll drift around and should have his sharpness back. Richie Hogan has had an epidural so his fanny is wide open, we just need the right man to plug it. As @carryharry says, we have to stop 4 lads from hurling really - if we can do that - It’s game on, Ger.
Does anyone know what the story is with GOM? Is the form just nor good or is there a rift developing there
That is a good summary.
O’Donovan is also very quick and I would like to see that pace being used in games to link up and draw defenders.
Not sure, pal…
I was fucking around on the youtube last night via tv – and I threw on the highlights of Limerick v Tipp from 13 - The work rate and simple effective hurling was a joy to see - We hunted in packs, won dirty ball and popped it off to runners to tap over the bar… Kiely was highly involved in that set-up and we still have a number of players involved from then who are now in their prime now- I get that some of the younger lads need to develop physically, but we should be somewhere near that level and game plan … Is Kinnerk doing too much fuck acting and gowling around and has Kiley bought into it?
Stand up in the terrace, be grand. Easier route in & out to the jacks for powder top ups.
Dir 2014. I just loved the way we didn’t panicky when Tipp threatened to pull away. Picked off our points one by one until the chance eventually came. The last ten minutes of the Clare game was an example of the exact opposite. We had three or four chances to pick off points but went for goal each time when there was plenty left on the clock
A keys aspect of WX’s win was the amount of frees they won off KK defenders by running at them. They were so lucky the game went as it did & the missed frees didn’t come back to haunt them.
It is imperative that LK make these runs & draw those fouls & that Dowling nails every single one of them.
How LK tie up Cillian Buckley is another key point imo which no one as alluded to yet. He basically dragged KK back into the game with Fennelly against WX.
Will the frees be given against KK though with their mascot reffing
Better use of the ball is all well and good but what we lacked against Clare was the aggression and intensity that limerick need to win games. Not to sound like a cliche here but limerick thrive on workrate, intensity and aggression to win every ball. Without it all our limitations are exposed. With it we can go toe to toe with anyone and have turned over better teams even in recent years.
If we turn up and show no fucking respect for these Kilkenny fucks and tear into every with no regard for life or limb we won’t be far off. Get that right first and all of a sudden balls will be flying over the bar instead of dribbling wide, zipping in to forwards hands instead of hanging up in the sky, half forwards will go tearing through Kilkenny defence and Hannon will be fucking Reid out over the sideline with shoulders. Kilkenny will be looking up at the likes of Richie McCarthy and wondering how he is all of a sudden the hurling full back equivalent of the wall of Troy and wondering what do they have to do the get these limerick cunts to back down. And that’s when we’ll walk all over the cunts.
What Kiely should have done is got @ChocolateMice and his hammer in as a consultant to whip them into a frenzy for the last week.
Limerick by 10.
Cork turned them over in 2015 using the same tactics. KK fouled all day long & Shefflin got drawn into making challenges alien to his natural game plan.
Look at KK’s potential half forward line, they don’t like chasing back. They’re not used to it.
Manic fucking aggression
Yeah, that’s the key for sure. It’s the real reason I wanted to see Nash start, he always runs at his man.
Kyle will do that, Casey will if he gets the ball and Dempsey might too. Lynch might but then again, he may just try fancy flicks too. Hegarty would but against better defenders he struggles to get ball in hand and struggles to get a shot away. I’d say he’s in there to work and shut down Kilkenny backs.
I’d be fairly confident Dowling will convert the frees.