King Henry of Galway (Part 1) 👑

Cunningham comes out badly with that ridiculous statement trying to big himself up saying the county board were behind him. If your players don’t want you just exit quietly stage left.

If I was culling Collins I’d do it because of his love of the media, e.g. the bit about Damien Lawlor’s book, the bizarre post All-Ireland interview, but I certainly don’t think he’s gone as a hurler. I think his performance when he came on in the final would make you question why he wasn’t picked earlier and especially why he was left on the bench for the semi when Callanan was tearing the defence apart.

I agree on Smith. Hard to make up my mind on Tannion. I’d probably leave him and Donnellan be for now.

It was an all-out feud.

Truly amazing how based on clares all ireland win teams tbink theres nothing between about 8 counties. We jumped up to tipp and kks level last year, the rest are miles off. The hurling in the dublin limerick game was junior standard compared to galway v tipp or the all ireland, clare, wexford, no hopers. Waterford no forwards for croker. But cork were favourites to beat us this year when we could have beaten them 30 with all the wides, some crowds delusions of adequacy is highly entertaining.

A BIG ONE every 8-12 years is better

Who are the ‘others outside Galway’ that Cunningham is on about?

Liam Sheedy?

At a guess, Mattie Kenny.

Galway chaps, what was the players’ beef with Cunningham?

A combination of things or just one thing like man management, tactical nous, organisation or whatever?

…

The Limerick lads who took a few training sessions with the squad inntge past few weeks?

He has All Ireland medals and they have none.

He used to rock up to training with his medals around his neck. Fellas would be seething. Younger lads were grand, but Collins and Moore were stage 8 rattled.

No way. If i was a manager in the running or asked i’d run a mile. These older lads seem like desperate excuse driven cunts.

What the new guy should do is go in and root them out immediately. Would send a great message.

It also shows serious weak ess from the players outside that core group.

Bunch of fucking idiots. I liked them this yeat but now i hope they don’t win a game for 10 years

He didn’t play a few older lads and wouldn’t cede to a few other older lads to play not playing older lads.

Donal O’Grady & Seumus Hickey are handling the sessions in prep for Boston. They were appointed by sponsor of tournament.

@bandage what’s the beef? I think they don’t respect him. They have to face into another 100 or so training sessions over the next 9 months and they obviously don’t believe he has the hurling brain to close the gap to KK.

What I find puzzling about it all is how he got re-appointed last year and why it didn’t come to a head then. After an awful 2013 & 3014 to conclude his three year term, that really was the time to move on.

Exactly. Apparently four years isnt enough of a chance! I still seeth a bit thinking of how noel lane was shafted for that fool hayes who got five years of poor performances bar healy going wild against Kilkenny. Fair play to the players for wanting to try and win, they knew the pressure would be on them now so lets see.

Cha ching

I was talking to another IC hurler today who, granted is from another county, but says it has fuck all to do with that and that its just an excuse/story thrown out there. I have plenty reason to believe it as he would know a few from college.

And to be honest i have seen very similar several times. Piss off one particularly vindictive cunt and you are doomed.

Feel sorry for Cunningham, rumors have it he lost the dressing room a while back but the other side of it is player power like that is not going to win you an AI. Look at Cork once they started to get above their station as players, Galway County board have to act swiftly, and whoever takes charge has some job dealing with the Joe Canning ego first and foremost. (by all accounts)

I wish ye well, always an exciting team to watch. Sorry affair though.