I think it was summed up beautifully when someone said the trouble is, there isn’t a hurler in Galway doesn’t think they know more about hurling than the manager.
There’s also not enough going on outside the city, and this leads to naval gazing, suspicion and foment amongst our rural brethren which spills over nicely into the county championship.
The S&C appears to be wine bar weights.
Half the team have mysteriously regressed from varying positions of high promise.
But we are Galway, and we are like mushrooms. Magic mushrooms.
We are box office.
We’ll batter Limerick next year.
It would actually be interesting to see how we’d go with a big personality on the sideline.
I think it’d need a change at board level first.
The GerLock era ring any bells for you?
I was about to say it.
Exactly. That was interesting.
If ye aren’t going to be good, at least be interesting
Interesting is one way to describe it.
Complete and utter disaster would be another.
Eeexactly mate. Better to burn out than fade away.
The first ten minutes in the 17 final were as good as I’ve seen from a Galway team. They let in a softish goal and the doubts immediately resurfaced.What happened in the 18 final wasn’t Donoghue’s fault. The problems were in letting big leads go against Kilkenny and Clare. You could possibly put some of the blame on Donoghue for that but very little.
Galway were involved in most of the best games of the decade I’d say, against tipp and kk.
Harder to avoid the criticism that he was over-loyal to too many lads
He created a club out of the IC setup, which was both necessary, and latterly destructive I think.
Maybe but who has come in since that has been an upgrade on what was there. Concannon might have got a game in 2018 but got himself sent off in an u21 match.
The answer to both Tipps and Galways management questions. Galway will probably end up with Daly.
Galway will be box office under Davy
They could do a lot worse than Daly. Good man to manage the culture of a team, should know enough to get the right people around him, and enough gravitas to stand up to the board if necessary. I’d take him before Davy any day.
The sensible move is to put Hanley over the U20s for a few years and see can he make more sense of it than Lynskey. He’s a very good man-manager and his coaching is highly engaging for the youngsters. We need an internal appointment with a little bit more pedigree for now, but Hanley should be in there before long.
I’d make a minor edit to that, Mike. Get burger man to sling his hook back to the Raford and stay there.
A recent TFK poll put Damien Hayes up against Kevin Broderick, and Hayes won by a nose. Comes across as being as thick as two short planks, but he’d buy and sell you.
Any link for the team sheets for today’s football like Limerick done for the hurling?