King Henry of Galway (Part 1) šŸ‘‘

Lads, ye have nothing to be optimistic about. TAN has already written off Galway because their forwards are big slow ponderous mullockers. Especially Glynn. :wink:

[QUOTE=ā€œLazarus, post: 917525, member: 286ā€]Some really fine stuff out in Salthill today, Johnny Glynn and Conor Cooney had their best days in Galway jerseys I reckon. The first goal, Cooney plucked from the air to Burke into Healy was a thing of beauty. Glynn was a real presence in full forward, he tortured Stapelton all day long. Great individual effort for his goal. Healy was in blazing form and Cathal Mannion played well again but needs to be more alert to opposition short puck outs. Easily David Burkes best performance this year and he came in for plenty of punishment from the Tipp brutes, but he can still do better. Heā€™s a wing forward or heā€™s nothing.
Brehoney, Coen and Tan all had big games, Tans two yellows were probably deserved and Galway wobbled a bit without him, Tipp should never have been so close at the end. Skehills exit is a non issue so long as Callinan remains healthy, serious save again in the first half and puckouts were excellent.

Tipp were fairly fucking frigid as fuck, all them Mahers and McGraths look shadows of the mullockers they were 4 years ago. Their a side going nowhere fast.
The pressures off Galway now heading to Ennis, two home games, both won. Thereā€™ll be another club all Ireland in the bag by the time we meet Clare too, things arenā€™t looking quite so bad all of a sudden:pint:[/QUOTE]

There no way Tipp are going to be that bad come summer. Not sure what Oā€™Sheas plan is but our backs didnt give them the space they needed today. Collins had a fine game as did Daithi Burke.

Brehony really looks like the real deal, never wastes a ballā€¦ may need more urgency come Summer time.

Niall Healy has really improved this year, if he manages to stay injury free he could have a fruitful summer.
Glynn and Cooney had great games alright. Its there for both of them if they want it. Niall Burke has bulked up something savageā€¦ nearly too big.

Theyā€™re far from being the finished article just yet but Cooney at 11 and Glynn at 14 had a real solid look about it today. Healy looks to have booked his place in the corner and David Burke will end up starting on the wing. Cathal Mannion looks best of the new bloods but thereā€™s(<?) plenty of improvement in the likes of Gearoid Mac and Jason Flynn to come. Davy Glennon has struggled to make an impact this year but we know what he can do and you have Donnellan to come back yet and Niall Burke returned today.
The key is to have some semblance of a settled unit heading into Summer and obviously you have the Portumna and the Joe factor to throw into the mix as well. I wonder sometimes does Cunningham see that as a blessing or a curse.

Brehoney looks a stalworth now at midfield and he was excellent again today, his interplay with Cooney for a point from near the sideline in the 2nd half was the score of the day. Johnny Coen played alongside him today for a good bit and did well, Andy Smith will add some real tenacity there too.

Tannion is looking more and more at home at centre back every game and Daithi Burke is looking the part too and thereā€™s the likes of Moore, Collins and Harte so they wonā€™t be lacking for experience in defence. Full back is still a question mark though, Ronan Burke came on for Kavanagh at HT today, Callinan was causing us problems today. Callinan looks solid as fuck in goal.

We have the makings of a right team yet, two or three more games to iron things and to smooth the Port lads back in, be they league semiā€™s or relegation playoffs, wouldnā€™t do us any harm whatsoever.

Iā€™d say that will be their positionsā€¦ with Canning perhaps playing the role Johnny Coen was playing today.
Hayes and Smith will find it hard to make the starting 15 as will Donnellan.

Very small crowd in Pearse today.

who was playing at 3?

[QUOTE=ā€œKinvaraā€™s Passion, post: 917655, member: 686ā€]Iā€™d say that will be their positionsā€¦ with Canning perhaps playing the role Johnny Coen was playing today.
Hayes and Smith will find it hard to make the starting 15 as will Donnellan.

Very small crowd in Pearse today.[/QUOTE]

Galway will win nothing until they move Canning to 6

Ronan Burkeā€¦ Seamus Callinan did cause him a few nervous moments but he did ok overall. He has to start ahead of Kav from now on.

@Mac thatā€™s interestingā€¦ I wouldnt be totally against it but Tannian is doing ok without being spectacular. Canning has been playing the 3rd midfielder role for Portumna all year to great effect.

[QUOTE=ā€œKinvaraā€™s Passion, post: 917663, member: 686ā€]Ronan Burkeā€¦ Seamus Callinan did cause him a few nervous moments but he did ok overall. He has to start ahead of Kav from now on.

@Mac thatā€™s interestingā€¦ I wouldnt be totally against it but Tannian is doing ok without being spectacular. Canning has been playing the 3rd midfielder role for Portumna all year to great effect.[/QUOTE]

Every team in the country would be thrilled to see Canning out the field. The single best goal scorer, and probably the single best player, in the country, should not spend the entire game at midfield. The guy has the ability to kill games in minutes with goals. Roving deep from full forward on occasion would unsettle defences and open space for other forwards or else see him scoring long range points, but playing him anywhere other than full forward is daft. As for @Macā€™s suggestion of 6 :rolleyes:

I think mac was joking. My only worry is that canning roves so much and tries to do so much he disrupts the team as a whole. We were at our best when he had been absent from the team for a spell and slotted in. Iā€™d not let him take any frees from out the field if he is starting ff. he would be a worry on the edge of the square as teams would always have o keep an eye on dropping a free a short. Looks promising again so far. We wonā€™t win anything i dont think, but we wonā€™t be easily beaten which is good enough.

Heā€™s too easy to nullify at 14, many teams have managed to cut supply to him quite effectively.

I do think he should spend some time in the forwards during games as part of a rotation plan.

[QUOTE=ā€œKinvaraā€™s Passion, post: 917673, member: 686ā€]Heā€™s too easy to nullify at 14, many teams have managed to cut supply to him quite effectively.

I do think he should spend some time in the forwards during games as part of a rotation plan.[/QUOTE]
Yeah leaving him isolated at full forward for 70 isnā€™t going to work but surely they can come up with something more sophisticated than that. 2012 where he rotated from full back to playing deeper for parts worked well and seems the best way to utilise him. Galway need to work possession to canning somewhere around the D where heā€™s facing goal, if they can manage that heā€™ll score goals 8 times out of 10.

Ya if you could rely on the guys out the field to supply him with good ball heā€™ll take his chances. Unfortunately its not that easy. I think he could be used to good effect this year rotating with Glynn between half forward and full forward. I remember under McIntyre particularly in the 2010 Leinster final they just left canning in at the edge of the square being double marked and he couldnā€™t win a ball. So that particular game plan doesnā€™t work.

We just need him to win ball out the field cos we canā€™t, then hit it into himself so he can bury it, cos weā€™ve no one really to do that either.

McIntyre was an idiot. But yeah youā€™re right. Leaving him inside for 70 is easy for a defence, mark him and play a sweeper in front, job done. When he rotates between there and playing deep though it causes problems, a player has to follow and that leaves space, especially if itā€™s the full back, that should open space for the rest of the Galway forwards to run into and ye have a fair few that are well able to take a goal. Canning rotating between full forward and midfield is the way to go IMO, not every 5 mins but every so often, the rest of the team should be alive to this and be able to adjust accordingly. Itā€™s somewhat amazing that despite having the best player in the country, it then becomes as problem as to how to figure out what to do with him.

Niall Burke said in the interview after the game that he hasnā€™t been able to play a game at high intensity for more than 50 minutes for the last two years because of the issues heā€™s been having with his calf and that the operation he had will hopefully rectify this.

What was Glynnā€™s link up play like today? That was my big issue with him last year he was able to win the ball but his hand passing in particular was all over the shop?

Off we head to shitehole Ennis. Cunninghams named another dummy team
Galway (SH v Clare): C Callanan; F Moore, R Burke, J Coen; D Collins, I Tannian, Daithi Burke; David Burke, P Brehony; A Harte, N Healy, J Glynn; C Mannion, C Cooney, N Burke.

I will be shocked in anything other than a cosy win for Galway here

Are tg4 showing the game live? You can stream the live game off their website abroad but not the deferred one.

[QUOTE=ā€œWristy, post: 917706, member: 1156ā€]Niall Burke said in the interview after the game that he hasnā€™t been able to play a game at high intensity for more than 50 minutes for the last two years because of the issues heā€™s been having with his calf and that the operation he had will hopefully rectify this.

Niall Burke might be having issues with his calf but Jose Mourinho is having even more serious issues with a foal.

Ourselves and the blaas are live. Yeā€™re deferred.

Tipp v Dublin is the deferred game.