King Henry of Galway (Part 1) 👑

Yes you were and so were all the other ‘experts’ in Clare. Davy had no qualms about telling ye to go fuck yourselves either

Watch the break still hasn’t recovered from the scutching Davy gave him.

You won’t have any trouble finding me the post then. 24hrs…tick tock

Kk are most proven, also the oldest. After that, Clare have had one good year. Galway had one good year in 2012. Given the choice of the panels available I’d take Galways forwards second to Clare’s. That’s probably partly because Clare are so impressive and cohesive as a unit which Galway are not yet.

Nothing old about Richie Hogan, Colin Fennelly Richie Power, TJ Reid, Walter Walsh add in Shefflin, Larkin, A Fogarthy, P Walsh, M Rice, M Fennelly (if required), your post is ridiculous vis Galways forward options

Galway yet again remain unproven until they perform consistently in the AI Championship. How many leagues have we won in the past 20 years and followed by a and fruitless championship campaign. League form means fuck all when it comes to summer hurling… especially when it comes to Galway.

@Kid Chocolate , if it was traditional 6 on 6, then Fennelly would probably have a field day against Tannian, he’d probably do the same to Pat Donnellan truth be known. However Coen was protecting Tan all day yesterday allowing Tannian to sit deeper. Lets see how next Sunday pans out.

We had all this shite before the Leinster final in 2012.
My two pence
1 KK are still the team to beat and the yardstick. They have looked the best team in the league and hogan has looked the best forward out there by some distance.
2 Tan can’t be judged at six until he plays there in the championship against a decent CF. FWIW, I think he will do better against a stronger less mobile player
3 Limerick, from what I saw of it were really disappointing yesterday. It may be that the heavy ground doesn’t suit them, and I have thought for a while that too much of the sharp end of the club championship in Galway is played late on heavy ground, and that the Galway lads are better on it than in the summer as a result. Teams from further south have an advantage here, especially KK as they run their club championship properly. What happened to the fantastic limerick of last year?
4 KK again look to have the slickest forward unit in the country at the moment. Would any of the Galway lads genuinely make it onto that team? BUT I’d Shefflin gets hurt again, it might knock them back, who knows. I think he is a huge ongoing plus for them, especially in the heat of a big championship game.
5 Clare are not going as well as I thought they would but hard to judge them at the minute.
6 Galway KK next week won’t be accepted by anyone as a measure as whatever happens, people will say shur tis only the league.
7 Like I said already, I really like the cut of this Galway side’s jib. Delighted so far. They look like they will be hard enough to beat on any given day now. There are better sides out there, but they will hopefully have to work for it.

Don’t worry it’s not a dick measuring contest.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 924243, member: 1170”]
What happened to the fantastic limerick of last year?
.[/QUOTE]
TJ Ryan and Donal O’Grady happened.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 924243, member: 1170”]We had all this shite before the Leinster final in 2012.
My two pence
1 KK are still the team to beat and the yardstick. They have looked the best team in the league and hogan has looked the best forward out there by some distance.
2 Tan can’t be judged at six until he plays there in the championship against a decent CF. FWIW, I think he will do better against a stronger less mobile player
3 Limerick, from what I saw of it were really disappointing yesterday. It may be that the heavy ground doesn’t suit them, and I have thought for a while that too much of the sharp end of the club championship in Galway is played late on heavy ground, and that the Galway lads are better on it than in the summer as a result. Teams from further south have an advantage here, especially KK as they run their club championship properly. What happened to the fantastic limerick of last year?
4 KK again look to have the slickest forward unit in the country at the moment. Would any of the Galway lads genuinely make it onto that team? BUT I’d Shefflin gets hurt again, it might knock them back, who knows. I think he is a huge ongoing plus for them, especially in the heat of a big championship game.
5 Clare are not going as well as I thought they would but hard to judge them at the minute.
6 Galway KK next week won’t be accepted by anyone as a measure as whatever happens, people will say shur tis only the league.
7 Like I said already, I really like the cut of this Galway side’s jib. Delighted so far. They look like they will be hard enough to beat on any given day now. There are better sides out there, but they will hopefully have to work for it.[/QUOTE]

League Semis are not till Easter Sunday.

Sorry, meant the next week.

Is it that bad? TJ Ryan seemed remarkably unfazed in his interview afterward.

That’s all well and good @flattythehurdler but Richie Hogan has been playing most of his league hurling in midfield. I don’t think they’re going to be placing a huge reliance on Shefflin this season either based on what I’ve seen to date.

Who the fuck knows with us. It looks fairly bad at the moment.

They’ll move Hogan back in when M Fennelly returns, their MF will be Fennelly and Cillian Buckley or P Walsh, maybe even Lester Ryan

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 924241, member: 686”]Galway yet again remain unproven until they perform consistently in the AI Championship. How many leagues have we won in the past 20 years and followed by a and fruitless championship campaign. League form means fuck all when it comes to summer hurling… especially when it comes to Galway.

@Kid Chocolate , if it was traditional 6 on 6, then Fennelly would probably have a field day against Tannian, he’d probably do the same to Pat Donnellan truth be known. However Coen was protecting Tan all day yesterday allowing Tannian to sit deeper. Lets see how next Sunday pans out.[/QUOTE]
Donnelan doesn’t play at 6 though.

Ryan so. My point remains the same!

It wouldn’t though, not to be splitting hairs but our midfielders sit really deep pretty much all of the time. Ryan follows his man at all times regardless and Donnelan covers the middle.Watch any of the Cork puck outs in the AIF last year.
I can’t remember the last time someone clearly ran through the middle, all the big runs were off the wing backs/on the wings.

Complete brain seizure. I meant Richie power.

Ps I would be amazed if Shefflin doesn’t start every game in the championship.