Coen
Brehoney
N Burke
C Cooney
David Burke
Mannion
Glynn
Joe
Thatās your team @Wristy . A lot of big men there. Laois might have evolved a little from last years 15men behind the ball approach but these lads should be capable of eking out a handy win here all the same.
[QUOTE=āLazarus, post: 952222, member: 286ā]Callanan
Moore
R Burke
Collins
Harte
Tan
Daithi Burke
Coen
Brehoney
N Burke
C Cooney
David Burke
Mannion
Glynn
Joe
Thatās your team @Wristy . A lot of big men there. Laois might have evolved a little from last years 15men behind the ball approach but these lads should be capable of eking out a handy win here all the same.[/QUOTE]
Weāll ate them alive
[QUOTE=āLazarus, post: 952222, member: 286ā]Callanan
Moore
R Burke
Collins
Harte
Tan
Daithi Burke
Coen
Brehoney
N Burke
C Cooney
David Burke
Mannion
Glynn
Joe
Thatās your team @Wristy . A lot of big men there. Laois might have evolved a little from last years 15men behind the ball approach but these lads should be capable of eking out a handy win here all the same.[/QUOTE]
Big men who can hurl. Still think Galway are a serious proposition. Thought Glynn would end up on the wing? Though a on Joe Cooney? Expected heād have nailed down a midfield or wing back spot by now.
You could argue the team is lacking in out and out speed especially up front, but thatās about as settled a side weāve had in a while so weāll run with that.
Cooney is first option if the Tannian experiment at 7 flatlines now that the real business is upon us. Heād fill in himself or as cover for Daithi Burke. He has the hurling thatās for sure but still a bit green in patches maybe.
That Galway team should be hard for anyone to beat. They may win fuck all, but they are big and strong and have a solid look, and there isnāt a peep out of them this year. I think they will be too strong for Laois, though I was speaking to the son of an all star this morning who says there are plenty of people in the county who think they might be beaten by Laois. I donāt think so. Galway should be a good step up from London really.
We need to get Jack Carr into a Galway jersey and go for the twin towers approach with him and Glynn. Itās the type of tactical inovation that will surely lead to All-Ireland glory
More putrid shite here. Gutless. Canning is the only forward actually try, hassling etc. Laois winning midfield easily, so long aimless ball in towards canning, plan A and B in other words is in play.which laois could have easily foreseen. Laois had a huge wind which weāll have second half so id still fancy us but if laois get a goal all bets are off. Kk would fillet us.
Time to pull jc out to midfield and force them to use a more varied attack. They seem to be falling away from the pack steadily. Hope this will bring them on but itās highly unlikely they will win anything. Still should be well able to make the best teams work hard though.
Weird win, took a few good individual scores to do it. There was no plan and little good teamwork. Callinan made an uncharacteristic error driving a ball over Moore and straight for a line ball, symptomatic of the general malaise. Full back line never looked like letting a goal in, Burke looks fine, Collins is a way better wing back, man marking is his weakness. Daithi Burke was good, I fear tan will get caught out he holds on to it solos etc too long. Harte isnāt good enough I think. Midfield is too lightweight, no ball winners. Iād leave Brehony as you can see he has a touch of class, great awareness when he gets it, Iād put tan up with him (Iāve no idea who to put at 6, Joseph cooney maybe) David Burke anonymous as ever, I wouldnāt start him again, cooney did ok, Niall Burke stood up when needed, fact he was digging the Laois goalie as he came forward to take the last free means he might have the necessary bit of dog in him. Glynn tried hard, got a scrappy goal but didnāt do much. 14 is cannings position. Mannion was very poor Jason Flynn looked excellent in comparison and has jumped him in the line up surely. Game passed joe by, Laois were hungry and just crowded him out of it. It was a day when nearly everything went right for Laois in the first half, if they didnāt run out of steam they would have won perhaps.
I thought Brehony kept Galway in it when everything was going against them. Jason Flynnās three points from play were critical late on obviously too. Overall, Galway looked a touch predictable - a lot of big individual units but some extra pace would surely benefit the team as a whole.
I donāt think the players are quite there to be honest. Big strong honest team at the minute, which is good enough. Other galway sides would have left this behind them. In the long grass now for sure, not sure are we hunting or sleeping though.
Glynn disappointed me massively, for a fella the size of him, he is useless in the air, I lost count of the high balls sent in to him that he fumbled or missed completely, just donāt think he has the skill or judgement required for county Hurling. You would have thought after getting the early goal (albeit a scrappy one), he would have pushed on from there.
Brehony was excellent in the first 15 mins, then faded a bit. Came back into it well in the second half, out best player on the day. Conor Cooney was probably our best forward, Joe was a peripheral figure, his touch was poor all day, even in the warm-up. David Burke very poor again, his replacement, Jason Flynn, did well and picked off a couple of nice points. Cathal Mannion was disappointing. Out backs tightened up well in the second half and hurled with a bit of aggression, after their tepid first half display. I canāt see Tan lasting at center back.
David Burkes decline looks terminal at this stage, a real pity. Poor games too from Joe, Coen, Glynn, Mannion, cant afford that many lads not performing. Andy Smith will hopefully be fit for the next day, he could partner Brehoney at midfield. Flynn will surely start against Kilkenny, Damien Hayes and Davy Glennon too maybe to add some balance to a clanky looking forward unit.
Felt sorry for Laois, some of the points they scored yesterday were just fucking ridiculous. A break now will do them good and itās only a matter of time before they beat a more established county. Tipp or Waterford the more likely candidates at this juncture Iād say. Cheddar is the man.
[QUOTE=āLazarus, post: 953548, member: 286ā]David Burkes decline looks terminal at this stage, a real pity. Poor games too from Joe, Coen, Glynn, Mannion, cant afford that many lads not performing. Andy Smith will hopefully be fit for the next day, he could partner Brehoney at midfield. Flynn will surely start against Kilkenny, Damien Hayes and Davy Glennon too maybe to add some balance to a clanky looking forward unit.
Felt sorry for Laois, some of the points they scored yesterday were just fucking ridiculous. A break now will do them good and itās only a matter of time before they beat a more established county. Tipp or Waterford the more likely candidates at this juncture Iād say. Cheddar is the man.[/QUOTE]
Its coming, we just need to keep the momentum going. Not sure who Iād prefer in the qualifiers, I must admit I have no idea how it works this year, when teams come in, etc. Bearing that in mind, Iām unsure if Iād prefer an Offaly or Tipperary, but it needs to be in OāMoore Park.
The first round losers say, Offaly v Laois, Antrim v Cork play each other.
Losers in provincial semis play each other, so lets say Tipp v Kilkenny, Clare v Dublin.
The winners of these matches play each other e.g tipp v Laois, Cork v Dublin. The winners of this round play the losers of the provincial championships, say Tipp v Galway, Waterford v Dublin.
Provincial winners Wexford and Limerick would await the winners in the All-Ireland semi finals before the 96 rematch in September.
[QUOTE=ācorner back, post: 953680, member: 1572ā]The first round losers say, Offaly v Laois, Antrim v Cork play each other.
Losers in provincial semis play each other, so lets say Tipp v Kilkenny, Clare v Dublin.
The winners of these matches play each other e.g tipp v Laois, Cork v Dublin. The winners of this round play the losers of the provincial championships, say Tipp v Galway, Waterford v Dublin.
Provincial winners Wexford and Limerick would await the winners in the All-Ireland semi finals before the 96 rematch in September.[/QUOTE]
Cork please.