Laochra Gael - Back, and to the left hand on top

Pete McGrath v Billy Morgan
Mick O’Dwyer v Mickey Harte

Opinions, please.

Pete McGrath v Billy Morgan
Mick O’Dwyer v Mickey Harte

Your opinion on this subject cannot be taken seriously. Just like Tipp lads on Browne.

When you only have one footballer of note over a long period you tend to go over the top a bit. He was class, no doubt about it. But Browne was a more intelligent footballer overall. Browne was able to play when the legs went, Mattie packed it in. Thats a key aspect and sign for me.

I think if ye continue to argue for a bit longer we’ll finally settle it.

Or just like you on all Cork footballers?

Mattie had a debilitating back injury and packed it in after carrying Wexford for over ten years.

He won footballer of the Year and propelled Wexford to a Division 1 League final and All Ireland semi final. He scoring stats are ridiculous. He did it against Ulster teams, Connacht teams and Munster teams.

just on that, and as croppy mentioned, he had a serious back injury that stopped him playing altogether for a while. He did go back and play for the Wexford junior side last year, which in fairness to him he didnt have to do, and is rare enough for a former intercounty senior player to do so. This piece here talks a abit about the scoring stats he had. To be the overall league top scorer in Division 1 for a team that gets relegated is fair going. http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/supremely-gifted-scores-for-fun-26225409.html

Also, how can you say Browne played for longer when Browne played from 1996 to 2007 and Forde played from 1999 to 2010. They both played for 11 years exactly, so how can that be a key sign for you?

1. I am very fair with Cork players and can be equally harsh on Cork people when needed. This has been demonstrated time and again. I have been very critical of our hhrlers in recent times.
  2. Mattie had far better players around him.
  3. His injury was unfortunate. I could never figure out why Wexford did not look after him better. But it kinda emphasizes what i am saying that Browne had iver him.

I am slightly biased with Browne in that i saw alot of him coming up, so you can make of that what you want. But in calls like this most will be swayed by what they see more of.

After the legs had gone is what i referred to.

A lot of nimbys selections seem to have a common theme.

Who is to say Browne would not have excelled in Div 1.

People completely dismissing the standard of the players team mates here which is illogical in a team sport.

Tipp were carryinga number of players for a long period. Players that wouldn’t make some club teams around the country.

Browne had barely turned 29 when he retired from inter-county football. Born June 1978. Retired July 2007.

Forde was a warrior for Wexford and could barely run against Armagh in 2008 but still turned in a match-winning performance.

1. No you’re not.
  2. In that case do you think that Declan Browne would have performed better than Matty on the same Wexford team?
  3. Matty’s legs didn’t go, his back did.

He would have been better.

Nope. You’re way off on this one.

I’m beginning to wonder if you’re @Nembo_Kid but created a different persona for Munster just to throw people off the scent.

Who is to say he would have?

Francie Bellew said Forde was the toughest man he ever marked… and the dirtiest.

Nobody but it just points out that your teams mates are equally as important.

Donaghy is a great example of that.

We’ll have to disagree. I would say myself and a handful of tipp lads are the only ones who actually got a good luck at both over their careers.

So i’ll go with myself on this one.

Browne never played at a high level. Forde proved himself at a high level.

Mattie retired Francie and Francie is bitter