Leinster Senior Hurling Championship 2026

Interesting Michael Verney was saying st Kieran’s have seriously expanded their pick and while they continue to win a lot of other Kilkenny schools are gone way back.

Tis early judge him and an impossible job he took on. But scrapping past Wicklow is not good. Wicklow couldn’t get out of 4 this year like.

They are just basically the KK minor team now. Seriously blocks development for late bloomers

Think he was saying they’d a few from Waterford too

Gearoid O’Shea from the Mollerans is one anyway.

In fairness to Andy he was probably forced to go to London out of economic necessity unlike today’s lads going travelling.

There would have been something seriously wrong with a Kilkenny hurler who couldn’t get fixed up with a job, even back in the deepest of recessions.

Kilkenny CBS still tipping away nicely too though, getting to Leinster senior finals most years and All-Ireland semi-finals as a consequence. He referenced Callan not being as competitive as before but you’re going back to the late 90’s for their glory days in the A. I think the mixed school there could attract a few extra players going forward. They seem to be back competing to win the B which isn’t bad. Comer lost a B final to Enniscorthy CBS last year too.

By their own standards the underage success has fallen off a cliff but they’d still be in line with most counties. Won an U20 title in 2022 against Limerick (shorn of Cathal O’ Neill), were in a minor final in 2024 against Tipp, U20 final last year against the same opponent. Lost a clatter of All-Ireland minor finals against Galway between 2018 and 2020. They’ve still been competing reasonably well.

The Murphy’s who play for MLR and Carlow went there too. They’ve always tended to pick up a few lads from other counties though. Eoin Kelly (Tipp) another example going back to the 90’s. I’m nearly certain Peter Atkinson who played for Wexford in the 00’s went there too.

Donncha Fahey St Mary’s and Tipp went there in the 90s as well.

Heard a good one about Andy when he was in charge of Kildare. After months of them requesting video work he gave in. During the video session which was just him telling them how shit they were he shouted at someone to pause the tape after one of the half backs let a lad catch a ball over his head and strike it over.
Unknown to Andy someone rewinded the tape back. When he turned back to the screen he told them to play it again. He looks at the lad catching the ball again and striking it over and turns around fuming and shouts at the wing back, “and you let him fucking do it again”.

23 Likes

Did Willy Maher go there aswell for a bit?

He did. Brian Carroll Offaly also.

Was it Andy that was woken up by a guard after falling asleep in the drivers seat of his car at the traffic lights on The Parade?

Got away with it too….

Andy is a bit of an eejit.
Also, afaik, the only hurler to ever win both an All Ireland B championship and a Liam McCarthy.

From Dave Devereux in The Wexford People:

@peddlerscross as TFK’s senior hurling analyst, could you tell me how Wexford go about defeating Kilkenny on Saturday? Now I gather you think we’re shite, but how should we approach it tactically & lineup-ally?

The Kilkenny GAA yearbooks from the 90’s and 00’s are all freely available in PDF form online. A treasure drove of nostalgia.

I wouldn’t claim to have a strong opinion on it but I’d imagine home advantage and the wrath of Andy Comerford’s tongue will be enough to kick Kilkenny into gear and go on and win this one relatively comfortably. Losing is not an option for them.

For Wexford it will be the games v Dublin at home on May 9th and Offaly away a week later that will define their year. It was a potential banana skin in Newbridge the last day and fair play to them for negotiating it smoothly and they can play with the handbrake off this week, but it won’t be enough.

The two Reck’s are great yokes and Chin is phenomenal but the supporting cast is callow enough and a long way back from the halcyon days of men you’d go to war with like Matt O’Hanlon, Diarmuid O’Keeffe, Shaun Murphy, Paul Morris etc

There was lads bordering back then. Flannans and Colmans were league of nations teams back at that time aswell.