Leitrim Gaa 2022

The ideal man for the job but he had other fish to fry. He’ll be senior manager in 5 years one way or the other. We need to pour resources at the likes of these lads and spoofers like the Cap need to be diverted to rogbee…

Yis’ North Leitrim lads are wicked for promoting your own lassies. Fair play to Muireann but Kiltubrid’s Áine Tighe clattered in 4 goals in the WAFL there last week only back from County final duties here. But you wouldn’t see us bragging about it. Fkn’ soccer ball…Grrr…

We’d be better off if Aine had a cock,she’d make a great Full Forward for Coach Moran

It’s hard to bate breeding - the Tighes were lynchpins of Kiltubrid for years.
Look back on the thread at the 1974 Sheemore Gaels senior championship winners - the evidence is there.

I hope the shite being peddled over on Hogan stand about the lads leaving the panel aren’t true.We can’t be turning over players like that.

It likely is. Getting lads to stay around and play for 10/12 odd years is a thing of the past, we live in the age of eramus semesters abroad, working holiday visas and J1s. They were always there but the demand will be 10 fold now covid restrictions are dust.

More success for Carrick

A numbers game now buddy. Carrick drawing from all the surrounding clubs within 10 miles. Cunts.

Carrick mugging off Kiernans

Looks like Kiernans were leading for most of the second half but Carrick look to have kicked two frees to level up and score 2 goals in injury time

Hardly Connacht club winning form is it? The big guns won’t panic yet.
Typical Carrick though, fannying about all game and sneaking the result.

We’ll done St.Mary’s ( through gritted teeth)……

No luck for Carraigallen today

I didn’t think they’d win to be honest

I’d wish no luck to any crowd with GFC after their name as opposed to GAA club.

Unconfirmed but reliable enough reports indicate they did well to fulfil the fixture as well as they did. Allegedly Sam Maguire wasn’t welcomed in Killarney with the enthusiasm that greeted the Dick Ellis cup in Carrigallen.

They weren’t shy either in allowing neighbouring clubs a look at the trophy that’s presented to the Junior champions….

What’s seldom is wonderful and all that - you know the score yourself :wink:

Subscribe

GAA

Tourlestrane ready to get their Connacht campaign started with semi-final against St Mary’s of Leitrim

Connacht Football Semi-Final is on Saturday

Tourlestrane are in the Connacht semi-final on Saturday. Pic: Donal Hackett.1

Tourlestrane are in the Connacht semi-final on Saturday. Pic: Donal Hackett.

sligochampion

[

Emma Gallagher

November 16 2022 02:00 AM
](Emma Gallagher - Independent.ie)

IT’S been a five week wait since seven-in-a-row Senior champions Tourlestrane won the county final as they take on Leitrim champions St Mary’s-Kiltoghert in the Connacht football semi-final this Saturday in Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada. The South Sligo kingpins will be hoping to go one better than last year, when they were narrowly beaten by Knockmore at the semi-final stage.

They were pushed all the way to the pin of their collars in the county final with a battling St Mary’s and Tourlestrane had to dig deep to claim another historic victory and look ahead to the Provincial championship.

Fergal O’Donnell’s side travel to Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday taking on the Leitrim winners who also had to dig deep to grind out a victory over Mohill in that decider.

Tourlestrane selector John Marren said everyone is really looking forward to the game after the break since the county final back in mid October.

He told The Sligo Champion; “We are all set now for Saturday, we’ve had a big break of 5 weeks which is a long time going round, but we’ve been doing our best to keep focused and stay fresh and we are well set up now.

“We had one or two challenge matches, getting matches can be difficult enough when it comes to Provincial football as all the teams are involved but we got one or 2 which was good.”

Tourlestrane had to dig deep in their county final win and he gave full credit to Mary’s.

“The final with Mary’s was value for money for a neutral I suppose but for both sets of management looking on it was hard watch. Mary’s played very well and really put it up to us and we got the leveller right at the end which shows how well Mary’s played and luckily we had the drive and determination to keep going.”

Looking to Connacht, he admits it has been tough for Tourlestrane over the years.

“It has been tough work being honest and we had the odd win over London last year but we have come up against good teams from Mayo and Galway that have experience too.

“We ran Knockmore very close last year and our first game against Kiernan’s went well and we dug out the win.

ADVERTISEMENT

Unmute

“Playing Knockmore in Ballina for anyone watching it was an excellent game of football but they pushed on in the last ten minutes and managed to get the win.

“We are definitely improving every year as we go and it’s about learning from these type of games too and what you take from that.”

He praised the calibre of their opponents on Saturday too.

“St Mary’s in fairness to them are a young up and coming team. They have huge energy and like ourselves, they know how to grind out wins.

“Looking at their semi-final and final there with Mohill, they were well down and came back to win it and the same the last day with Kiernan’s it went right to the end.

“They have lots of youthful players and play good football. We are going to Leitrim which is pretty much their home ground so it’s going to be a right tough battle but it should be a really enjoyable game,” he added.

Marren also praised the huge support for Tourlestrane which will undoubtedly be travelling in large numbers to Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday. “We have huge and excellent supporters who really get behind the team here in the community. Hopefully there should be a lot of club supporters from both counties as it’s only up the road.”

He said thankfully Tourlestrane have no main injury concerns ahead of the game. “We have a clean bill of health which is great, you always try to avoid a few knocks and we look to be okay thankfully.

“We are all really looking forward to it and hopefully we can get the win and have the Connacht final to look forward to,” he added.