Limerick GAA - All-Ireland senior hurling champions 2018

Dodgy

Are you going painting sheep ???

Iā€™ll probably make a trip to Knock at some stage over the next few weeks so who knowsā€¦

All this hype talk and requests to stay away from the players is pure bullshit in my opinion. When Dowling, who I have great time for and to be fair to him the rest of his interview was very honest, said to give the players space to control the hype the stadium roared and Joanne Cantwell correctly commented along the lines of ā€œthat had the opposite effectā€.
Fair enough Kiely starting his post match interview with a warning for the media, but there is no media ban as another poster thinks is in place. In my mind a media ban would be a disaster, this would play into paranoia with the players more than anything.
So what has been the effect of Dowling and Kielys comments? endless articles online and in the print media about the hype losing Limerick all irelands and how their supporters are thick fuckers who ruin the hurlers chances of success. Hype has never lost us an all ireland. It was way overplayed as a factor in 2013 as well in my opinion.
The fans should be entitled to get as hyped up as they want to be, thatā€™s what following a team is all about. The players and back room staff are clever enough to deal with it. Commenting on it straight after the semi final only feeds it. Limerick are a very well liked team by people outside the county because of their style of play the character they show, this optimism should be harnessed. A ridiculous media ban as some here have been advocating would be a very negative thing in my view. The players have to enjoy the build up as well, so many former players say that, and trust themselves and their management that it wonā€™t affect their game. The number of psychologists etc that are parts of these panels ensure that this doesnā€™t happen anyway.

The players can enjoy themselves but Dowlings and kielys words were bizarrely twisted today. Bringing a lads death into that had nothing to do with anything. The media look to cause trouble where there is none and that can also motivate opposition. In 2013 limerick people wrote off clare and I do believe that seeped into the players mindset. We completely lost focus. Clare had the game won after 15 minutes. The players should enjoy the next few weeks with friends and family but remain focused on the job ahead. The players donā€™t feel fools in the media to enjoy the build up.

Will you go to the game this time Dodgy?

Itā€™s the apes in the local media that are the problem.

Iā€™ve that donn o Sullivanā€™s card marked already. He was badly rattled on Twitter the other night. Hope Jp stays well away too. No fancy hotels or new suits or anything. Tipp up on the train on the Sunday morning. Low profile just like last weeekend.

Was it the tommy walsh who said he got phonecalls the night before AI finals looking for tickets? What kind of eejit would do it

Whatā€™s the optimum size of the pull-out segment in De Leader for this game guys? Iā€™m going to go with 32 pages.

My missus wasnt in croke park between the 07 final and Sunday. There is a massive limerick flag hanging out of my house.

She told me this evening to make sure and book tickets for the same section that we had on Sunday :joy::joy::man_shrugging::man_shrugging::man_shrugging::man_shrugging::man_shrugging::man_shrugging:

The players will be focused, they were focused all year, why change it now with a media ban. Again, I donā€™t want to slight Dowling in any way because I think heā€™s brilliant and refreshingly honest in interviews, but itā€™s amazing that the one player who is looking for players to be allowed focus is the same man who writes articles and gives more interviews to newstalk than any other player. The minute he made that comment I thought back to Donaghy in 2014 with the ā€œwhat do you think of that Joe Brollyā€. Was is a bit of a sound bite to get people talking?

Keep them out of Live 95fm and Spin Sw and Iā€™d be happy enough.

The days of the phonecalls from random people ringing players home telephone lines for tickets are long gone.

Looks like your car battery moment has arrived.
:wink:

Thatā€™s it really . The problem is that local media see dollar bills . Players and management and supporters just need to realize the local media see the AIF appearance as a cash cow .

That said anyone nagging a panel member for a ticket needs a good kick in the bollix .

What I would say about Dowling is heā€™s the lad thatā€™s been in the media for limerick the most in the past 5 years or so. Heā€™s also the fella cricitesed most harshly and more frequently than any other player in those last 5 years. Are these two things linked? 100 percent in my opinion. If your doing interviews and answering these Bolox questions youā€™ll be the first fella knifed.

Jesus I hope they win it in a few weeks so all this bollocks will go away and we can hopefully enjoy an all Ireland without feeling guilty about it

Iv been at all bar 2 of the finals since 04. Have written this one off though much and all as Id like to go. Her family are a massive gaa family but there is a heap of relations there and no way could I go and leave one of them outside (much and all as id like to)

Get yourself sorted first and foremost. After that itā€™s down to the feelers you put out.

Il get one alright. But wouldnt go myself unless all their family were sorted.

Itā€™s why Hickey gets a tough time too, that GPA stuff is used as a stick to beat him with.

Lee Chin was a one man PR machine all year long and didnā€™t back it up on the pitch either.

Iā€™m glad Kiely has adopted this approach to the media. They are cunts, each and every one of them. Theyā€™ll fuck players and management over every chance they get. Iā€™m all for this siege mentality - in fact Iā€™d love if Kiely made up some story that a player was confronted by a journalist at his workplace and got a bollocking from his boss as a result. And banned them all.