Limerick GAA - it's Box Office - Always Has Been, Always Will Be

We never went away.

Harry Greensmyth dead RIP.

God rest him

Sunday half 2 in Pearse Stadium for the Hurling.

The footballers play Waterford Saturday night in Martinstown @ 7

Anthony Daly is correct, Limerick are ready for the odyssey. Weā€™re not here to win, weā€™re here to take over

The Odyssey took ten years of misery and hardship before Odysseus got back to where he started, sounds about right.

Will it still be televised live like it was supposed to be last week?

The revolution will not be televised

TG4 has scheduled live and deferred coverage from the allianz league quarter finals for Sunday so presumably this will still be televised.

Jaysus, could it sink any lower

This is rock bottom!!

Not even a stand there ffs

They could play it in Bruree.

Things are bad but Jesus ā€¦

Thereā€™s only half a railing around it sure. Will they even be able to charge into it?

Limerick GAA?? Oh God yeah, Spike himself will be there with the bag and heā€™ll fuck off home to Kilmallock when the paltry crowd are paid in.

He lives in Martinstown. Handy that.

The time has come for Limerick to grasp the nettle and follow the path of Kilkenny.

The numbers, quality, interest and wherewithal to continue are no longer there. Players simply do not want to play football for Limerick anymore and the sooner the county board come to this conclusion the better.

Withdawing from inter-county football will serve Limerick well in the long run. The public donā€™t, and never will, fully buy into the Limerick footballers. Harsh, but fact.

As you say harsh but true.

Strongly disagree there Mr Elvis. In the last decade, when the hurlers were gone to shite it was the footballers that kept us on the map. We were glad to have them then, they were a team to be really proud of. The football will never be as big as the hurling, and we are destined to generally be one of the weaker counties, but I still think we should keep ploughing on. Obviously, a hurling all ireland has to be the priority for everybody involved in Limerick GAA. If us pulling out of the football championship was going to aid us in that quest then youā€™d have to seriously consider it but I donā€™t think it would make any difference. Dual players will play hurling, you canā€™t blame them for that, but we could still become a lot more competitive in the football even without them. There wonā€™t be many spectators in Martinstown on Saturday evening but thatā€™s to be expected when morale is low and the team are really struggling. Thereā€™s always hope, and while the footballers mightnā€™t be getting the crowds following them, I think they should retain the goodwill of Limerick GAA fans, with the hope that the young players (even though we have a very poor recent record underage) could help us become more competitive again