The one team that is going to be at a disadvantage with the new structure is Waterford. The lack of a decent ground will hinder them obviously. No team will fancy going to Ennis. The thing about Clare is they will always give you a chance even when they are far better.
Two men on the bench tomorrow who havenāt had much game time but could be considered if they hurled to potential are Greame Mulcahy and Barry Nash. Mulcahys level of performance has dropped a bit in the last two or three years and itās currently hard to see past Gillane and Casey for the two corner forward positions. But he is generally good for a point or two a game and while Barry Murphy has been excellent in terms of work rate, setting up scores and winning frees heās not yet a scoring threat which is something he needs to develop. When Mulcahy came on against Galway, he had a point with his first touch and the full forward line seem to be getting better deliveries this year which is something he really needs, as he needs to up his scoring rate even further. With 3 or 4 Na Piarsaigh forwards to come back into the panel, he could struggle to make the 26 if all are fit.
Nash is more of an unknown, due to his self imposed exile last year and injuries. Potentially he could be very good, and would offer a considerable option at full forward or wing forward. He could have done with this league campaign to see how he is progressing, even the Na Piarsaigh boys had 3 big club games to show case their form. Iād like to see Nash get a good run out as sub against Tipp, he needs game time and needs to put his hand up. Ability and size wise, he has all the attributes, he probably needs a run of games to take it to the next level as the likes of Morrissey, Flanagan and Murphy have had. And nothing better for an east
Cut short last message, meant to say āand nothing better for a man from east Limerick than a game against Tipp and a chance to shove it into the cuntsā
I donāt think Colin Ryan has the physical attributes needed for midfield. Grand coming on there with 10 to go and impressing but I donāt see that as his position at senior level. Robbie Hanley is the player for that position but heās not on the panel due to college placement abroad.
Malachy is a fine player though, I would see him in a similar role to Barry Murphy at corner forward, an upgrade on Hurling ability and scoring threat but not sure heād work as hard as BM
Please delete. While making sense, you not in line with our narrative.
Malachy has been up on Nicker Hill all morning cutting balls down to the stations, going to 1 to 14 and repeat.
I would fully agree, Hanley is the man to help Lynch. He can do all the donkey work and let Lynch hurl. He may lack a bit of hurling but he is as hard as nails. I would have always liked Malachy wing back but it is not going to happen.
I would agree.
Heās definitely a better half-back and corner-forward than midfielder, and Iād argue he could be a better half-forward too. Not to say he wonāt do a job there because he is a super hurler. Some man to win a free too. I think he did play at wing-back in challenges last year but obviously Kiely was impressed by his performances in midfield for the 21s.
I canāt be listening to broken records Joe
We are going to beat them on Saturday night in their own back yard.
Wexford v limerick final
You know what youāll get from Mulcahy and as Iāve been saying heās made to be an impact sub where his speed will destroy a tired corner back, you could see him coming on and scoring two in 10 minutes every time. Would have been hoping one of Nash or Downes would make the starting 15, they are a bit similar and offer something different from the rest of the forwards They both have ground to make up at this stage but either of them are capable of it and could be a starter before the summer is over. We need to find the balance in the forwards between the hard working effective type lads and a few more natural scorers. Iām thinking now the 6 will be Hegarty Hayes Dowling Casey Flanagan Gillane. I still think thereās room for surprise selections come summer depending on form in training in the month after the league. Again, this time last year no one was expecting Finn to start but he made himself undroppable with training form and by all accounts his display in a training match just before championship.
No That was more or less Limerick full team mybe 2 missing
Thereās 10 lads joining the panel from NaP alone ā Barry Nash and OāDonavan were injured as were othersā¦
We sent out our B team to bat and we walked all over you.
Finn missed a lot of the previous season due to injury and really didnāt get any chance in the league due to this. Kiely has his favourites. I think thereāll be a fairly settled look to the team throughout the championship. As long as lads keep performing. Iād love to see peter Casey at 11 and have gillane, Flanagan and Murphy inside. Limerick have Casey, Pat Ryan, dowling, mulcahy, Downes, reidy, nash, o donovan and o connell as forward subs at the moment. In reality only five of those will be around come championship 26 including the 6 starting on Saturday. Casey, dowling, pat Ryan, o donovan are nailed on. Downes, reidy, nash, o connell and Mulcahy are vying for one spot.
I think Limerick have settled on their team
The hardest games we will have in Munster this year will be in house
Caseyās gave Oola a nice trimming 0-17 to 0-7
Ballylanders & St Senans drew 0-9 each.
I hope Kyle Hayes buries that cunt Paudie Maher tomorrow evening.