[quote=āThe Pukeā]Ken Ralph was a fine club hurler alright, think he captained tipp at minor level before playing in clare but just lacked the bit of cut needed for intercounty levelā¦Lorcan Hassett was another lad that was unlucky not to make the break through eitherā¦
Your second point is nothing more than bollocks, he was called up by Considine in 2007, played a few league games and came on as a sub v Cork in the semplegate game, he was far too soft for intercounty hurling at the time, pulled out of a challenge and ended up getting his collarbone brokenā¦considering the lad is still under 21 as well he is only just ready for intercounty hurling this seasonā¦[/QUOTE]
Lads have been slating him since he left school. I presumed my original point was the reason but am happy to admit in this case I may have been wrong
Donāt know about too many lads slating him, he has always had the ability and style but can be windy as fuck, when he is tightly marked he seems to disappearā¦It is no co-incedence that he started to hurl up a storm against Tipp when he was brought out the field to play as a free man, if he had been put into the 2 man full forwward lien he would have disappeared without a traceā¦
He is still plenty young, remember someone telling me when he was on the clare panel in 2007 he was in his second year in NUIG, that he was still underage to play harty for Flannans the same yearā¦probably fast tracked a bit too earlyā¦Tipp have a similar problem when they brough Pa Bourke and Tomas Stapleton straight into the panel out of minorā¦
[quote=āThe Pukeā]Donāt know about too many lads slating him, he has always had the ability and style but can be windy as fuck, when he is tightly marked he seems to disappearā¦It is no co-incedence that he started to hurl up a storm against Tipp when he was brought out the field to play as a free man, if he had been put into the 2 man full forwward lien he would have disappeared without a traceā¦
He is still plenty young, remember someone telling me when he was on the clare panel in 2007 he was in his second year in NUIG, that he was still underage to play harty for Flannans the same yearā¦probably fast tracked a bit too earlyā¦Tipp have a similar problem when they brough Pa Bourke and Tomas Stapleton straight into the panel out of minorā¦[/QUOTE]
Doubt he has the pace to play in a two man full forward line. Midfield would probably be his best position would it not?
To be honest I think this whole thing about being windy is overrated and possibly a pile of bollocks. An awful lot is down to self belief and confidence imo. Clare have enough lads to get stuck in, hussle and bussle, break hurls and fingers and all that shite. What they lack and have for years is players with skill and ability to put the ball over the bar particularly on hard ground under pressure. Sure Ryanās workrate can improve and needs to but you cant doubt his ability and skill. Even after one game the Clare team should be built around the likes of him for the future.
[quote=āKIB manā]Doubt he has the pace to play in a two man full forward line. Midfield would probably be his best position would it not?
To be honest I think this whole thing about being windy is overrated and possibly a pile of bollocks. An awful lot is down to self belief and confidence imo. Clare have enough lads to get stuck in, hussle and bussle, break hurls and fingers and all that shite. What they lack and have for years is players with skill and ability to put the ball over the bar particularly on hard ground under pressure. Sure Ryanās workrate can improve and needs to but you cant doubt his ability and skill. Even after one game the Clare team should be built around the likes of him for the future.[/QUOTE]
I said it on here a few weeks before the tipp game, the more ball you put through his hands the better he will play, would say that wing forward would be his best spot at intercounty levelā¦Himself and Damien Browne are two lovely silky hurlers who have the ability to take scores and run at defences, along with the likes of Conlon, Morey, Honan, McGrath, Collins and Russell we have a very good mixture of young forwards coming throughā¦Bernard Gaffney is starting to get back to full fitness with Newmarket but probably lacks the mobility/bouldness for intercountyā¦
Clonboney Puke, how are those rascals doing this year? Training has probably been postponed this week for a bit of R&R ahead of a massive challenge on the Junior B title. How do you rate their chances?
Give over, I know you were down playing Junior B against them in the league this year. Was the game on in Mullagh or Tom Malones field in Miltown (where pilgrims set up camp for the greatest festival on earth)?
Any names for the notebook? Not the referees one, knowing those rascals like I do Id say the ref had a few of their names in it by the endā¦
[quote=āKIB manā]Give over, I know you were down playing Junior B against them in the league this year. Was the game on in Mullagh or Tom Malones field in Miltown (where pilgrims set up camp for the greatest festival on earth)?
Any names for the notebook? Not the referees one, knowing those rascals like I do Id say the ref had a few of their names in it by the endā¦[/QUOTE]
Indeed and I wasnāt, canāt say I have ever graced either of them fields eitherā¦Who uses the field in Lahinch?
[quote=āKIB manā]A lot of people have graced Tom Malones field. Iād say nearly every blade of grass on that sward has been christened at this stage.
Lahinch field is a community field so loads of teams play there. Hate that pitch its like playing on a sand dune[/QUOTE]
played a soccer match down there earlier in the year and there was a group of young lads having a hurling training session below in the bottom cornerā¦presumed it was probably Ennistymonās under 21āsā¦
the pitch wasnāt great but twas solid enough for the time of year, a bit too open to the elementsā¦
[quote=āThe Pukeā]played a soccer match down there earlier in the year and there was a group of young lads having a hurling training session below in the bottom cornerā¦presumed it was probably Ennistymonās under 21āsā¦
the pitch wasnāt great but twas solid enough for the time of year, a bit too open to the elementsā¦[/QUOTE]
Ya probably. Maybe Inagh use it the odd time too.
Its a great facility - can be used all year round and had a covered stand but pitch isnt flat, dressing rooms are awful, no nets behind the goals so the ball either ends up in the caravan park or the golf course, windswept, pitch is never lined etc