No ticket for me, but such is life. But lads, those of you whoâll be there, have to do your part. Limerick have a serious bandwagon (as well as a committed core support of course) and they seem to place a lot of store in it. You guys need to RAISE THE FUCKING ROOF. Itâs your last time down there. Bring the flags, bring the memories, and bring your voices. Let them have their big screen and their big ideas, but you must show them what real passion based on years of solid tradition and fond memories, can do to a summer time bandwagon.
That does look like Limerick plan on stopping the lads from hurling. I kind of welcome that approach. If they want a dog fight, I donât think our lads will be found wanting. If they want to hurl, we can do that too. Last Sunday should serve as serious motivation for our lads to die on their feet. I really think this will be a massive effort from Cork. And in those few minutes that the game swings (every game has those few minutes) the 16th man should give them the extra inches that they need.
[QUOTE=âTreatyStones, post: 981245, member: 1786â]Iâd agree with that and said as much earlier in the week. He had a storming last 15 minutes but was quiet up to that.
Riordan was the real star.[/QUOTE]
And Browner, they were the only two who were bringing the ball out at pace and breaking the line.
Seemed to have the chances alright, but didnât take them. Still though, maintaining division 3 status, 4 championship games played and 7/8 young lads getting championship experience, would have to see the year as a moderate success.
At least it was a much better championship than last years.There was the prospect of dishing out beatings to Cork in the hurling and the football if Limerick got over the line today!
After the media over exposure before last years all ireland semi final, it would be expected that the Limerick players would be staying out of the media spotlight.
It is not good to see that multiple Limerick players have been on radio, TV and papers over the past number of days.
Stop the publicity lads and focus on the task in hand.
A gutsy display from Limerick. The better team won, even though it was close all the way through Sligo always seemed to have an edge. Their subs made a much bigger impact than ours, the number 23 kicked a couple of sensational points and that was ultimately the difference,
The ref was a joke. He absolutely rode us rock solid all the way through. Only gave us frees for anything blatant, gave Sligo multiple soft ones all the way through. One ridiculous decision when the Sligo lad had the ball and jumped into Buckley, another for a 21 yard free in when the Sligo player was clearly charging. He was a disgrace and when mild mannered lads like Ger Collins are giving out to him you know he was fucking us over. We got the benefit of home advanatage against London and Antrim, today we came up against a complete homer.
Got it back to level late on before Sligo went a point up. Had three or four point chances but lacked composure. Worked a great goal chance but the final pass went amiss, if it had gone in we would have won the game. As it was Sligo went down the other end and tacked on the insurance score. Paidi Browne was magnificent, Seanie Buckley ran himself into the ground.
Probably the last day in a Limerick jersey for some great warriors. Sad way to end.
Stopped off in Tubbercurry on the trek home to watch extra time of the hurling. Wexfordâs win shortened the trip home, so it did.
[QUOTE=âdodgy-keeper, post: 982483, member: 1552â]Just back from Markievicz Park.
A gutsy display from Limerick. The better team won, even though it was close all the way through Sligo always seemed to have an edge. Their subs made a much bigger impact than ours, the number 23 kicked a couple of sensational points and that was ultimately the difference,
The ref was a joke. He absolutely rode us rock solid all the way through. Only gave us frees for anything blatant, gave Sligo multiple soft ones all the way through. One ridiculous decision when the Sligo lad had the ball and jumped into Buckley, another for a 21 yard free in when the Sligo player was clearly charging. He was a disgrace and when mild mannered lads like Ger Collins are giving out to him you know he was fucking us over. We got the benefit of home advanatage against London and Antrim, today we came up against a complete homer.
Got it back to level late on before Sligo went a point up. Had three or four point chances but lacked composure. Worked a great goal chance but the final pass went amiss, if it had gone in we would have won the game. As it was Sligo went down the other end and tacked on the insurance score. Paidi Browne was magnificent, Seanie Buckley ran himself into the ground.
Probably the last day in a Limerick jersey for some great warriors. Sad way to end.
Stopped off in Tubbercurry on the trek home to watch extra time of the hurling. Wexfordâs win shortened the trip home, so it did.[/QUOTE]
Im sure some of them might be around to give it a go next year.Brudair seems to have the team moving in the right direction again after poor championship performances last year.
Stayed up in division three, won two championship games and a rake of lads given their debuts in intercounty football. A decent year for an honest bunch of players. So frustrating to lose that one though.
Absolutely locked writing this but here goes! First great going to the game with dodgy! following the footballers is a bit different to following the hurlers, there is so few of us that we have to make ourselves heard! As for the game, referee was an absolute cunt. He was the type of chickenshit ref that teams like Limerick seem to get a lot, basically decided that the best thing to do was to give nothing against Sligo therefore insuring that the majority of the crowd were happy with his performance. The worst referee since Rory Hickey. that cunt Rory hickey. Stopped off in Tubbrrcurry after an unsuccessful stop in ballinacarrow. A town with no pub!!! Tomorrow will make it all better, Hon to fuck Limerick!
Good stuff son, give me a buzz later on if you donât have alcohol poisoning and Iâll arrange a meeting point for giving you the ticket for Mrs @The Burnerâs brother.
More relaxed about the match than last year. Even if we get beaten there is still a quarter final in two weeks time to prepare for. We want that cup though. Luimneach Abu.