Thankfully the u21 and intermediate set ups are sorted so no worries there.
Iâm still gutted over last Sunday, Both KK goals were very avoidable particularly the second one. We gave it everything but still managed to come up short. We have to push on now and get to the final at least next year. The backbone of this team came off a successful minor team in 05. So with our current minors the future is definitely bright but Iâm sick to death of the moral victories and heartbreak stories etc.
On a sidenote the players management and staff did us proud this year, and they can all hold there heads up high. Young lads all over the city are picking up hurls which wasnât the case only a few years back. The breakthrough isnât far away. Iâll find it hard to watch the senior final this year.
[QUOTE=âThe Most Infamous, post: 1000497, member: 1783â]Iâm still gutted over last Sunday, Both KK goals were very avoidable particularly the second one. We gave it everything but still managed to come up short. We have to push on now and get to the final at least next year. The backbone of this team came off a successful minor team in 05. So with our current minors the future is definitely bright but Iâm sick to death of the moral victories and heartbreak stories etc.
On a sidenote the players management and staff did us proud this year, and they can all hold there heads up high. Young lads all over the city are picking up hurls which wasnât the case only a few years back. The breakthrough isnât far away. Iâll find it hard to watch the senior final this year.[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=âThe Most Infamous, post: 1000497, member: 1783â]Iâm still gutted over last Sunday, Both KK goals were very avoidable particularly the second one. We gave it everything but still managed to come up short. We have to push on now and get to the final at least next year. The backbone of this team came off a successful minor team in 05. So with our current minors the future is definitely bright but Iâm sick to death of the moral victories and heartbreak stories etc.
On a sidenote the players management and staff did us proud this year, and they can all hold there heads up high. Young lads all over the city are picking up hurls which wasnât the case only a few years back. The breakthrough isnât far away. Iâll find it hard to watch the senior final this year.[/QUOTE]
Careful with moral victories. They are kryptonite to real success
Less of the patronizing remarks.You should show some respect when your in (aka this thread) someone elseâs house.
it was hardle 09 anyway. limerick were sh1t poor that night. 2010 was fairly competitive
[QUOTE=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 1000160, member: 1624â]Three of the younger breed that are worth looking at as corner-backs are Shane Irwin (Bruff), Brian Finn (Bruff) and Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh). All 3 are a year out of minor and should be included in any winter training plans. Irwin was in college in the US last year and was very late to join up with the U21 panel. Unfortunately, it showed on the night v Clare but heâs a far better hurler than he looked then. Not sure if heâs returning to the States but, if he isnât, he should be involved.
Casey is the older brother of Peter on the minor team. Was doing the Leaving this year so wasnât involved with the 21s as a result. Stevie OâReilly of Ballybrown is another of the 2011 U21s that has drifted from the intercounty scene mainly due to work commitments. Tough and solid and is worth trialling if available.
The other Morrissey twin, Paddy, wasnât involved with this yearâs minors but is playing extremely well at club level and should be involved with next yearâs 21s. Add Darragh OâDonovan, Richard English, Colin Ryan, Dean Coleman, Sean Flanagan, Diarmuid Byrnes, David Dempsey and a few others and you have the basis for a good U21 squad next year. There should be a closer link (certainly early in the year, at least) between this and the senior squad in terms of training programmes. A few may make the leap across but theyâll have to be prepared from the start.[/QUOTE]
costing himself two munster minor medals.
with two brothers on limerick panels it seems mad that he would do this. if brian ryan was to be promoted to under 21 manager what will he do?
Watched the match again last night. Richie Power got the goal
Just back from Croagh.
Intermediate hurling championship result - Mungret 2-16 Feenagh/Kilmeedy 2-14
Entertaining game that only really came to life in the second half. The west Limerick outfit were much superior in the first half and at one stage led 2-07 to 0-05. However Mungret grabbed a crucial goal before the interval, trailing 2-08 to 1-06 at the break.
Backed by a stiff breeze Mungret were a different team on the resumption. Big Pat Begley thundered into the game and star man Brendan Giltenane clipped over a couple of fine points to reduce the gap to 3. The winning of the game was the decision by the city side to switch wing-back Tom Giltenane up to corner forward. He slammed home the equalising goal after a free dropped short and was also fouled for two vital pointed frees. Conor Lenihan at wing forward also impressed at times.
The female linesman completed her duties diligently throughout.
[QUOTE=âdodgy-keeper, post: 1000990, member: 1552â]Just back from Croagh.
Entertaining game that only really came to life in the second half. The west Limerick outfit were much superior in the first half and at one stage led 2-07 to 0-05. However Mungret grabbed a crucial goal before the interval, trailing 2-08 to 1-06 at the break.
Backed by a stiff breeze Mungret were a different team on the resumption. Big Pat Begley thundered into the game and star man Brendan Giltenane clipped over a couple of fine points to reduce the gap to 3. The winning of the game was the decision by the city side to switch wing-back Tom Giltenane up to corner forward. He slammed home the equalising goal after a free dropped short and was also fouled for two vital pointed frees. Conor Lenihan at wing forward also impressed at times.
The female linesman completed her duties diligently throughout.[/QUOTE]
Feenagh/Kilmeedy holding their own in the grade in fairness, are they looking at a relegation battle now dodgy?
Caherline beat Newcastle by 0-13 to 0-10 in the same group to leave themselves level on points with Feenagh and Claughaun, although Claughaun have a game in hand. Result means that Mungret should now qualify as theyâve 5 points with Caherline to come in the last round. Could get interesting at the bottom end though as youâd expect Glenroe to account for Claughaun on Wednesday.
Sounds like a decent game @dodgy-keeper? Iâm guessing the female linesman is the girl from Rathkeale (canât think of her name) Sheâs being dong underage games for a while and is decent enough. Who reffed it?
In the senior championship Kilmallock squeezed through the south derby with an 0-17 to 0-14 win over Effin. The Premier Intermediate is wide open again as Dromin/Athlacca beat favourites Croom by a few points. 1-15 to 1-11 or 1-12 I think.
Edit - D/A beat Croom 1-15 to 1-13
went for a pint after work was reading the sindo there & full sure I saw dog day afternoon on tonite (cant rem channel) but cant see it on sky box listing, anyone hv copy on sindo & confirm pls??
Any views on F/K players or did you only know the mungret ones?
@dodgy-keeper weâll be rolling out the red carpet to ye on Tuesday evening.
ITV at 10:40
[QUOTE=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 1001004, member: 1624â]Caherline beat Newcastle by 0-13 to 0-10 in the same group to leave themselves level on points with Feenagh and Claughaun, although Claughaun have a game in hand. Result means that Mungret should now qualify as theyâve 5 points with Caherline to come in the last round. Could get interesting at the bottom end though as youâd expect Glenroe to account for Claughaun on Wednesday.
Sounds like a decent game @dodgy-keeper? Iâm guessing the female linesman is the girl from Rathkeale (canât think of her name) Sheâs being dong underage games for a while and is decent enough. Who reffed it?
In the senior championship Kilmallock squeezed through the south derby with an 0-17 to 0-14 win over Effin. The Premier Intermediate is wide open again as Dromin/Athlacca beat favourites Croom by a few points. 1-15 to 1-11 or 1-12 I think.
Edit - D/A beat Croom 1-15 to 1-13[/QUOTE]
It was decent enough fare overall. Liam OâSullivan was the ref and did a pretty good job overall. Grand evening for hurling. For a small junior club Croagh/Kilfinny have a nice little set-up. Pitch is always in good nick.
The Premier Intermediate is an absolute dogfight. All the teams are capable of beating each other on any given day. Croom won their first three games I think but have now lost the last two.
Effin have rattled both Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock in their last two matches at senior. G/B v Effin in the last round looks like being the crunch game in the battle to avoid the drop.
Thought the Feenagh/Kilmeedy corner back (number 2) played well. Peter Irwin was good on the frees. Mungret probably deserved it overall, one or two of their subs made a difference.
Going up for the minor match on Sunday but I might not stick around for the senior match. It would be tough to stomach it. Last Sunday is still raw - what could have beenâŚ
Team for Sunday.
-
Eoghan McNamara (Doon),
-
Sean Finn (Bruff), 3. Paddy O Loughlin (Kilmallock), 4. Jamie Porter (Monaleen),
-
Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), 6. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), 7. Conor Byrnes (Murroe/Boher),
-
Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock) & 9. Ronan Lynch (Vice Captain)(Na Piarsaigh),
-
Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), 11. Barry Nash (South Liberties), 12. Cian Lynch (Captain)(Patrickswell),
-
Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh). Tom Morrissey (Ahane) and 15. Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun).
-
Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown), 17. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), 18. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen), 19. Edward Doyle (Monaleen), 20.Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), 21. Brian Ryan (South Liberties), 22. Conor Mc Sweeney (South Liberties), 23. Barry Murphy (Doon) and 24. Conor Moroney (Tournafulla).
Good fuck, they turned over the subs again. The only side i have ever seen where it is harder make the bench than the team. Of the 8 subs excluding the sub keeper, two could do a job at this level.
3 changes to the panel this time last year also, no?