He was given the lead role in the local play run every year by the club as a bit of a fundraiser. This years production in Billy Elliott.
Seriously, did he get a call up?
He was born to play the part of a prepubescent boy in fairness
Could you not find it last year pal? There was over 20,000 Limerick fans who made it to the Hogan stand in 2014, 2013, 2009 and even 2007. Itās a big massive fuckin stand lad, even if you asked somebody they would show you where it is next time.
[QUOTE=āElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 1086811, member: 1624ā]Semple Stadium is bollixed and the club semi-finals scheduled for Saturday have been shifted.
Kilmallock v Portaferry is gone to Cusack Park, Mullingar while Gort v Ballyhale is switched to Tullamore.
Also the NFL Div 3 game between Tipp and Limerick on Sunday is gone Templetuohy.[/QUOTE]
This is bad news for us.
Thanks.
Ye have to admit though, this thread would be a lot more dull without batt the lad.
I enjoyed the Kip Killigan nickname i will admit. It was very apt. But Batt shot his load here last year with his PUM/PMU shite. He is the first poster i have ever seen to 1) Mug himself off and 2) Experience difficulty in locating the Hogan Stand in Croke Park
Neither Tullamore nor Mullingar have floodlights so they wonāt be showing both live anyway.
Sake :mad:
Anyone have the Mary I or LIT teams from today?
I hear OāDonovan from Doon went well again scoring 1-2. If Cork have proved anything over the last few years itās that if you can compete at Fitzgibbon, you can compete at IC. Teege is keeping an eye on him hopefully. Looking forward to seeing him with the 21s.
Young OāBrien showed up well for UL also scoring 5 points.
[QUOTE=ābones, post: 1087009, member: 2780ā]Anyone have the Mary I or LIT teams from today?
I hear OāDonovan from Doon went well again scoring 1-2. If Cork have proved anything over the last few years itās that if you can compete at Fitzgibbon, you can compete at IC. Teege is keeping an eye on him hopefully. Looking forward to seeing him with the 21s.
Young OāBrien showed up well for UL also scoring 5 points.[/QUOTE]
Mary I team in the relevant thread. Attachment.
Not necessarily. Some players who star at Fitzgibbon obviously can make the step up, but it doesnāt mean they all can. It might be a clichĆ© but playing on a soggy, wet pitch in the freezing cold of January isnāt the same as playing in the intensity of Championship. But OāDonovan is a quality young hurler, he should be given a chance at least, same with the likes of OāBrien and OāConnell.
But Willie Griffin has starred in the Fitzgibbon and been very good in the Club Championship for years now, but Iām not sure heās good enough for intercounty.
Congrats, fantastic achievement!!! No retirement now surely!!
OāDonovan is a good bit of stuff, heāll be on the senior panel sooner or later. Heāll be on the u-21 team this year, was unlucky not to be starting last year.
[QUOTE=āAristotle, post: 1087035, member: 2949ā]Not necessarily. Some players who star at Fitzgibbon obviously can make the step up, but it doesnāt mean they all can. It might be a clichĆ© but playing on a soggy, wet pitch in the freezing cold of January isnāt the same as playing in the intensity of Championship. But OāDonovan is a quality young hurler, he should be given a chance at least, same with the likes of OāBrien and OāConnell.
But Willie Griffin has starred in the Fitzgibbon and been very good in the Club Championship for years now, but Iām not sure heās good enough for intercounty.[/QUOTE]
You can make exceptions but in general The Fitz is an excellent barometer for whether or not a lad can cut it at IC . Witness Corkās underage famine yet theyāre still making All Irelandās on the back of Fitz success with CIT and UCC. Bubbles cut his teeth here too and look at the year he had. Fitz hurling is more competitive than the league in some instances and definitely more so than 1B.
I would argue the opposite regarding the hard , cold conditions. Itās a serious test mentally and physically. For that reason itās very encouraging to see so many Limerick lads involved in the 3 local collages, particularly with LIT. A further sign that Lifting the Treaty is bearing fruit and weāre holding on to players.
[QUOTE=ābones, post: 1087129, member: 2780ā]You can make exceptions but in general The Fitz is an excellent barometer for whether or not a lad can cut it at IC . Witness Corkās underage famine yet theyāre still making All Irelandās on the back of Fitz success with CIT and UCC. Bubbles cut his teeth here too and look at the year he had. Fitz hurling is more competitive than the league in some instances and definitely more so than 1B.
I would argue the opposite regarding the hard , cold conditions. Itās a serious test mentally and physically. For that reason itās very encouraging to see so many Limerick lads involved in the 3 local collages, particularly with LIT. A further sign that Lifting the Treaty is bearing fruit and weāre holding on to players.[/QUOTE]
Bubbles Dwyer was an stand out underage hurler for Tipperary long before he was playing Fitzgibbon Cup.
Game time is game time but the majority of county players playing Fitz are only there to collect their scholarship.
A cunt of a competition
I saw bubbles playing a munster minor final v waterford and you certainly wouldnāt have picked him out maybe he was stand out in South tipp underage