As predicted Jim Bob was all the difference in this game,this game was always going to be close as 1b always is! Waterford from what I saw had pretty much their champ team out tonight and played to their near bestā¦BUT Limerick were missing their entire forward corp of Hannon,Dowling,Mulcahy,Breen,Downes,Tobin,played utter shite and yet Waterford still couldnāt win and that says alot in itself.Gavin looks alot better in the forwards heās gone too light for the backs IMO and Condon,Mac,POB will make up a very physical HB line.Wexford away is a tough one and we could very well go undefeated yet again and still not gain promotion.One thing that pissed me off was the allowance of Waterford taking short puck outs constantly and yet our FF line never pushed up on their men that needs fixing.
[QUOTE=āAristotle, post: 1091986, member: 2949ā]I wasnāt at the UCC game but heard he got cleaned alright.
I like Dodge at 6, but he was still taken for 5 points by Cian McCarthy. He wasnāt directly man-marking him but if he is going to play as a deeper centre-back, then he will need much better protection because if McCarthy can get 0-5, what would someone like Tony Kelly score off him? I would prefer to have Wayne on the wing than in the centre, but Iām just not sure who we should turn to?[/QUOTE]
Its either no.6 or nowhere for Wayne in my opinion. He does not have the pace for the wing. Thats why i would worry for him.If they go for Dodge at 6 and the very impressive Kevin OāDonnell comes onto the panel or even if Condon continues to go well on the wing Wayne may get squeezed out.
I would predict that Seanie OāBrien could put down a marker for corner back if given a run. He would bring great pace to the FB line. Could be between him and Walsh for corner back if they are serious about Condon at 7. What about;
- Quaid
- Hickey
- Richie Mac
- Walsh / S. OāBrien
- Paudie
- Dodge
- Condon
- Browne
- Jimbob
- Hannon
- Gavin
- C. Lynch
- Mulcahy
- Dowling
- Downes / Tobin
I donāt think Paudie is a great wing-back at all. Heās a great hurler, but heās a midfielder or nothing imo. Not strong enough in the air in a half-back line that doesnāt dominate in that area in the first place. Itās the main reason why I would have liked to see Hickey or Quaid there, their aerial prowess. Maybe Dan Morrissey or Kevin OāDonnell could be the answer, or even Breen if he wasnāt making the starting team as you have above.
I am inclined to agree. Paudie is a class hurler but i feel he is better at midfield. However i feel Browne and Jimbob are better there for us in the style we play, so Paudie has found himself at half back almost by default. Interestingly, the most effective i have seen him play for quite a while was at half forward for Kilmallock this year when he was moved up there v Cratloe i think, had a great impact up there. Played all his underage hurling as a forward / midfielder. Played on all the good Kilmallock underage sides that were older than his own age as a forward.
A big point for Waterford alright.
[QUOTE=ādodgy-keeper, post: 1091891, member: 1552ā]Would gladly have taken a point at half time.
A draw was fair in the end. They were better in the first half, we were better in the second. A bit of a sickener to concede an equaliser with the last puck of the game but we fought manfully to get back into it after a diabolical first half.
Jim Bob changed the game when he came on at half time. Bossed the game. Stephen Walsh had probably his best ever game for us.
Probably should have seen it out in the end but we are still alive. We were missing practically our whole first choice forward line. Lacked a bit of class and composure that a Hannon, Downes or Dowling would provide.
Crowd of just over 3,500 in what was a decent game of hurling.
Austin Gleeson is a Rolls Royce of a hurler.[/QUOTE]
Whatās going on Dodgy? No ājust back from the Gaelic groundsā start to your post match thread!
Good reports by bmb & Aristotle.
Wayne made a lot mistakes in possession along with giving away two needless frees. I would reckon he was at fault for 5 pts.
Dodge does not look the part at wing back. I think his place is 10 or 11.
I fully agree on having brownie and jimbob midfield. That also leaves paudie as a wing forward. Condon will work at 7. I think Hannon needs a couple of games at 6 in the league.
- sort out centre back
- bring in 4 from kilmallock
- clear up the 5 injuries that are being given time
- stop lumping ball in to the ff line (ball to half line is much better)
- Begley is a nuisance player for the last 10 mins. Touch and speed of operation not near interco. He is actually a far better footballer.
- a kilmallock win in croke park would be good for confidence
All in all, we have enough there to be right in the mix come August
I canāt remember an opening league game being analysed so much
The problem was at the back last night. The backs were constantly ballooning high balls into Begley, which he had no chance of winning. I felt sorry for the 2 corner forwards, no ball came there way. All the scores came down, hickey, condon and lynches side in the first half. It was always going to be difficult for the 4 new forwards. Our worst 2 players were out most experienced. OāMahony had a very good good game. James Ryan turned the tide in the 2nd half. Reidy had a good game, scoring 2 penalties under the current rules is some achievement. Especially considering of the 9 penalties taken in the pre season competitions only 2 were scored, with only 1 on the line. So to score 2 from 2 with 3 on the Lin was some going.
But people forget that waterford had kk beat in 2013 the ref blew before a winner for waterford as the ball went over or when it did go over to win.
MAC LIMERICK LADS
OH YEA WAS IT
I TELL YOU WHAT THAT WAS
Normal service will resume next Sunday night around 10pm or 11pm.
āJust back from Ballycastleā.
A lot of options in the half back line and half forward line. As of now the only positions set in stone for the championship - injury permitting - look to be the goalkeeper, full back line (Walsh, McCarthy, Hickey), midfield (Jim Bob and Browne) and one corner forward spot (Graeme Mul).
Paudie OāBrien, Gavin OāMahony, Dec Hannon, Dodge, Shane Dowling and a couple more all look likely starters too but finding the right balance is the hard part.
Need to rack up a big score next weekend.
I know Joe. They draw with a Waterford pitch and toss team and are already talking about August.
August wont concern ye mate :rolleyes:
Never fear. When the Kilmallock lads are back, all will be ok.
you think
Elvis do you know your hurling. @Fagan ODowd know what i am on about. they came closer to beatan kk then limerick did a mill o sec