Knee cartilage sustained in a challenge v Dublin in early January. Was reckoned to be out for around 7-8 weeks so shouldnât be too far away from returning if still on course.
Batt doesnât need to prove anything. The usual deluded bullshit about a performance which saw a win due in no small part to a flukey goal is whats wrong with Limerick. The Politically Motivated Understudy is out of his depth and well you know it.
Batt take no pleasure in seeing Limerick humiliated and Limerick âfansâ trying to make a success out of it.
[QUOTE=âBatt the Ladd, post: 1104088, member: 1578â]Batt doesnât need to prove anything. The usual deluded bullshit about a performance which saw a win due in no small part to a flukey goal is whats wrong with Limerick. The Politically Motivated Understudy is out of his depth and well you know it.
Batt take no pleasure in seeing Limerick humiliated and Limerick âfansâ trying to make a success out of it.[/QUOTE]
What about the PUM? The lad you were on about last year. Is he out of his depth?
Few lads here talking a bit of shite.
âCleaning lads out in the airâ fast becoming the fucking hurling equivalent of âGo forward ballâ from the rugby gowls. any keen observer who knows what they are on about knows that the game has evolved over the past few years and aerial prowess is not as important for centre or half backs as it once was. How many fucking sky scrapers of balls do ye think Clare are going to boom down on top of our Half Back line come May ffs? Little if any. Same goes for Tipp or Cork. important but not the no.1 attribute needed for half back line.
Lads shitting on about Hannon at 6. For fuck sake. His weak point is work rate and positional awareness. Could we see him tracking the deep runs coming his way from the likes of Tony Kelly or Colm Galvin? I wouldnât be banking on it. He is a fine 11 as he is involved in the play and can read the breaks and can score. He would not be a good enough 6. Never ever impressed me there. Same shit now with R Lynch. Another natural forward who fellas seem obsessed with as a 6. We pray for forwards like these for years and now fellas want to turn them into backs!
Hickey in the top two or three man marking corner backs in the country, outstanding last year, and fellas want to play him at 6.He was played here before and looked too loose and easily distracted with over carrying the ball forward. A very very good hurler, but a super corner back. If moving him anywhere it would be to midfield. But Browne and Ryan are excellent there, so man marking corner back duties while winning All-Stars it is for Seamie.
Alan Dempsey is a good player but judging by what some are saying here he should be starting. No basis for that.
A modern day 6 needs to have a hunger for work rate, huge concentration levels and have a very solid & reliable touch. They need to make few if any handling or first touch errors. They need to be quick enough, without being lightning. They need good vision to find passes in front of them. They need to be decent in the air without being a Trojan of a bygone era.
Above all else,they need to have a sharp hurling brain, to read the ball as it breaks and spot the dangerous runs as they develop. They need to be an intelligent hurler. They need to be talkative and show leadership from 6.
In my opinion, Paudie OâBrien ticks enough of those boxes to merit a serious look. Possibly one of our most intelligent and well rounded players who has struggled to find a position that is his. 6 could see the best of his talents blossom. Well worth a shot there.
Dare I say Jim Bob to 6 with Paudie to the middle? worth a shot at some stage maybe down the road just a thought.
[QUOTE=âBreaking my balls, post: 1104240, member: 2493â]âCleaning lads out in the airâ fast becoming the fucking hurling equivalent of âGo forward ballâ from the rugby gowls. any keen observer who knows what they are on about knows that the game has evolved over the past few years and aerial prowess is not as important for centre or half backs as it once was. How many fucking sky scrapers of balls do ye think Clare are going to boom down on top of our Half Back line come May ffs? Little if any. Same goes for Tipp or Cork. important but not the no.1 attribute needed for half back line.
Same shit now with R Lynch. Another natural forward who fellas seem obsessed with as a 6. We pray for forwards like these for years and now fellas want to turn them into backs!
Hickey in the top two or three man marking corner backs in the country, outstanding last year, and fellas want to play him at 6.He was played here before and looked too loose and easily distracted with over carrying the ball forward. A very very good hurler, but a super corner back. If moving him anywhere it would be to midfield. But Browne and Ryan are excellent there, so man marking corner back duties while winning All-Stars it is for Seamie.
In my opinion, Paudie OâBrien ticks enough of those boxes to merit a serious look. Possibly one of our most intelligent and well rounded players who has struggled to find a position that is his. 6 could see the best of his talents blossom. Well worth a shot there.[/QUOTE]
I agree with some of what you say but not with a lot. Aerial prowess may not be as important as it once was, more teams look to play a short game now but the need for ball-winners in the half-forward line is still essential as puck-out targets, you canât always go short. The reason for this is that most teams fill their half-back lines with players who are strong in the air. I would say that our half-back line last year was probably the weakest in the air of the big counties⌠okay, we did get to a semi-final, but it was by far our weakest line and youâre put on the back foot immediately if your half-back line donât generally win. The game up in Wexford being a key case in point, where they seemed to clean us out all over the pitch. Itâs not the be all and end all by any means, but it is an area we are weak and that is why people are suggesting solutions- even one aerially dominant half-back could relieve a lot of pressure. Itâs probably not going to be a major problem against Clare, as said before.
I think Hannon is an out-and-out forward, although shouldnât be played further in than the 40 but Iâd disagree on Ronan Lynch, he always impressed me further out the field. Maybe a bit slow on the turn for centre-back, Iâve always liked him at midfield most myself.
As for Paudie⌠I just donât see it at centre-back. Intelligent player, yes, but not a centre-back⌠heâs not that good defensively. His best attributes are moving into space to receive a pass, delivering a pass and shooting from distance. Heâs really not the best at preventing a man from going past, or even beating a man to the ball. All of those attributes would seem to suggest he is a midfielder, I donât think heâs struggled to find a position at all⌠thereâs no shame in being behind Jim-Bob & Browne.
Iâve thought about this one in the past⌠I actually think it could work. But people talk about moving Hickey being a bad thing, I think moving Jim-Bob from midfield would be way worse. He did a great job at centre-forward in 2013 but he offers so so much more from midfield. Having to hold the middle means you miss out on his sublime work rate and his ability to win scrappy ball time after time between the 40s.
One of the better u21 teams - on paper at least - of recent years.
We can all debate who should be six lads but at the end of the day we are badly lacking a top class six. Mc is first choice and done a decent job but seems to be struggling, Hannon is an outstanding hurler but never a 6 doesnât have a defensive instincts at all. Condon would be found out imo, Quaid is a keeper, paudie not athletic or physical enough, Hickey goes roaming up the field and tries too much for me to play him there leave him in the one position he has been very good in. I think our next best option in the squad at the moment is Gavin O Mahony. Andrew La C is impressive but he isnât even playing 6 for Monaleen or the Limerick 21s so it is a huge ask. Dodge wonât last much more than 50 minutes Iâd be scared if Davy put Tony Kelly on him.
Outside of the squad I think Diaruid Brynes has the makings of a fine hurler for the well but Iâd question his temperament at the highest level. Also Barry O Connell excellent for Lit at 6 in the Fitz.
Bad news if Tj canât convince Kevin O Donnell and Tom Ryan to get back involved two really good half back options for me.
U21âs putting up a great show so far!!!
Half time in the u-21.
Cork 3-04 Limerick 0-08.
Excellent first half from Limerick, conceded a sickening goal right on half time after more than matching cork in the first half.
[QUOTE=âdodgy-keeper, post: 1105273, member: 1552â]Half time in the u-21.
Cork 3-04 Limerick 0-08.
Excellent first half from Limerick, conceded a sickening goal right on half time after more than matching cork in the first half.[/QUOTE]
Very encouraging!! Cork will probably run out handy enough winners owing to strength in depth but much more competitive than recent years!!
Great show of how not to pull of a major shock. 3 stupid goals.
The two lads in midfield have been excellent. Evan Quinlan has been the pick of the forwards - a very sweet left foot.
Unfortunately when cork do get the ball into the full forward line there is a constant goal threat. Between an awful miss, a great save and a square ball they could have bagged a few more goals.
Out the rest of the pitch we are more than holding our own. Missed a few chances too.
Weâve kicked the first two points of the second half.
[QUOTE=âdodgy-keeper, post: 1105277, member: 1552â]The two lads in midfield have been excellent. Evan Quinlan has been the pick of the forwards - a very sweet left foot.
Unfortunately when cork do get the ball into the full forward line there is a constant goal threat. Between an awful miss, a great save and a square ball they could have bagged a few more goals.
Out the rest of the pitch we are more than holding our own. Missed a few chances too.[/QUOTE]
OâDea may have made a difference there?
Does Stephen Cahill play full-back for his club?
3-06 to 0-12. Still in this.
[QUOTE=âAristotle, post: 1105289, member: 2949â]OâDea may have made a difference there?
Does Stephen Cahill play full-back for his club?[/QUOTE]
No heâd be out the field, either centre back or midfield, was full back though for cit in the sigerson.
Goal!!!
Level!