Yes, he had to apologise to Wexford for the manner of the beating in last years championship
The expensive Corkman fucked off that night, the margin was 8 points. We were actually worse that day in my opinion which is hard to fathom.
Iām the opposite of @dodgy-keeper, Iām more pissed off about missing promotion than the performance today which was meaningless. Lads need to recall weāve been dire at this stage of the year the last few years and it hasnāt affected us come summer. In particular, certain lads have been fairly badly out of shape at this stage the last few years, but theyāll be flying by summer again. It shouldnāt be that way but it is.
I thought going into this year we needed to find three more players, a half back, a corner back and a forward. Iād have moved hickey out but Condon may do at half back, Iād have had Dempsey given a shot at a starting place but I think walsh is a good defender, and lynch up front is ready I think. Unfortunately I wouldnāt trust most of the other players weāve tried to come in and thrive come summer. I think management are holding their breath until a few more minors finish school.
I think weāll be competitive again come summer, I think weāll have the beating of most teams on our day and weāll reach a semi final again. But I donāt think weāve improved enough to seriously challenge for an AI.
Perhaps the biggest disappointment of this league is the lack of sophistication in our play compared to other top teams. Most teams have some semblance of a plan about them, our gameplan is marginally better looking than a bunch of retards trying to fuck a doorknob. It might be we can sort this out come summer too because I think we have 6 forwards that can shred any defence if out team is prepared right.
[QUOTE=āProjectX, post: 1114372, member: 1742ā]Yes, he had to apologise to Wexford for the manner of the beating in last years championship
:D[/QUOTE]
Sums up the Limerick attitude problems. Beaten out the gate tonight and all you can think of is last years championship.
Agreed.
We certainly are not too concerned about the league.
[QUOTE=āBoxtyeater, post: 1114357, member: 246ā]You clearly donāt understand the ethos of this forum sonny. Had I the intent/interest Iād run you outaā here quicker than you could wipe your sorry arse.
Iām giving you a miss for now, but donāt cross me again.[/QUOTE]
Iām sorry boxty. Just joshing along. Pay no mind mate. Iām actually very fond of Leitrim people.
Were you not in Thurles for the AI Q-F last year? There was the mother and father of implosions from the stawberry pickers.
Iām no fan of Teege but we have been here before (last year v Galway the most recent). Still time to get their sh1t together.
Mac, championship is the acid test. Iām disgusted with how the game went today but we still bate ye in the league a couple of weeks ago in yeāre backyard so I wouldnāt be throwing stones If I was a Strawberry picker tbh.
Like Ricky hatton, if you keep ballooning and then shedding weight late , it will catch up with you eventually. Unlike Ricky hatton there is always another year. Taking kk as a yardstick, I donāt recall seeing any of them carrying that much timber at this stage of the season over the past decade.
Fwiw, I think limerick will be a tough challenge for anyone in the championship all the same.
[QUOTE=āEsso Oil, post: 1114391, member: 2735ā]Were you not in Thurles for the AI Q-F last year? There was the mother and father of implosions from the stawberry pickers.
Iām no fan of Teege but we have been here before (last year v Galway the most recent). Still time to get their sh1t together.[/QUOTE]
Again, why is last years Wexford game relevant to the joke of a performance from Limerick today?
Imagine it, using Championship as opposed to League as a barometer. Crazy stuff.
Project X might be a few tugs short of a wank, but i find it funny that we have lads on here bleating after a league defeat who are from counties who wouldnt keep it pucked out to us come Championship. We battered ye in third gear for fuck sake! As flashy and all as Tipp look, and they are a very good side, they cant manage this Limerick side in Championship and whats more is they know it.
Not throwing stones. Waterford showed us last week how far off the pace we are. Todays Limerick performance just reinforces this. Weāre both miles off the required pace.
[QUOTE=āBreaking my balls, post: 1114403, member: 2493ā]Imagine it, using Championship as opposed to League as a barometer. Crazy stuff.
Project X might be a few tugs short of a wank, but i find it funny that we have lads on here bleating after a league defeat who are from counties who wouldnt keep it pucked out to us come Championship. We battered ye in third gear for fuck sake! As flashy and all as Tipp look, and they are a very good side, they cant manage this Limerick side in Championship and whats more is they know it.[/QUOTE]
So in summary, youāve nothing to worry about cos a lad from a county who Limerick hammered last year has a different opinion to you?
[QUOTE=āflattythehurdler, post: 1114397, member: 1170ā]Like Ricky hatton, if you keep ballooning and then shedding weight late , it will catch up with you eventually. Unlike Ricky hatton there is always another year. Taking kk as a yardstick, I donāt recall seeing any of them carrying that much timber at this stage of the season over the past decade.
Fwiw, I think limerick will be a tough challenge for anyone in the championship all the same.[/QUOTE]
Itās not ideal for sure. They tried to arrange cookery classes for a few of these lads two or three years ago.
[QUOTE=āBreaking my balls, post: 1114316, member: 2493ā]Weāll be competitive and ready come May. I wouldnt be getting overly worried. We genuinely are a much better side in Championship than in the league.
We need to do 5 things if we are to do anything this year however;
-
Get the gut off Richie. He is a class act but it was noticeable he was a bit sluggish today and was a yard or two slower than usual.
-
Find a no.6 from somewhere. Wayne is simply not good enough if we really want to advance further.
-
Spell it out to Hannon. Either cop on or fuck off. We cant afford passengers. Yes he was excellent v KK last year but we need to see this fellas full potential. Maybe a dropping or good rollicking could wake him up. Seems to be sauntering with a while now. Has the ability to be one of best in the country but looks very lazy/disinterested.
-
Breen should only be considered as an impact sub at most. Lynch must start here in his place.
-
Downes is key. Looked in superb shape and sharpness last year but could not score if he was in Ma Ryans. It is vital that we find a way to get Downes on the ball more and to get his confidence up.
I agree that Dowling looks fitter and leaner than ever. It was noticeable today that he was trying to take the ball on and go around his man. Won few frees from it. Hadnt seen that since he was 18/19.
My team for Clare as it stands would be;
-
Quaid
-
Hickey
-
Richie
-
Seanie OāBrien
-
Paudie OāBrien
-
Dodge
-
Condon
-
Browne
-
Jimbob
-
D Hannon
-
G OāMahoney
-
C Lynch
-
Mulcahy
-
Dowling
-
Downes
Hannons position is down to him pulling the finger out. Tobin better from bench, as is D Breen. Dodge to 6 by default. Seanie OāBrien a better option than Walsh in my opinion.[/QUOTE]
I agree with the thrust of that post, but thereās a few things:
Dodge doesnāt have 70 minutes in him and definitely not at centre back. Wayne will be 6 come summer, you and everyone may as well accept it. He bring a lot of positives but will have the odd mistake. We donāt have another potential 6, except hickey IMO.
Paudie not a wing back.
Youāre way too hard on Walsh, I donāt know why. Heās an unspectacular and unflashy corner back but heās a good defender. Iād actually consider him more reliable than Condon in the corner.
Hannon will be good come summer.
Breen had a poor game today, I hope he can get his confidence back up, he is an effective player when at his best.
Youāre right on Downes. We need him at his best if weāre to do anything. Iād blame management a bit for his downward trend in form last season, confidence seemed to drain out of him as the summer progressed.
Weāll see come Championship. Even if Clare beat us in May, I would still not bet against Limerick being in the last 4 again this year. We are always shite in the league.
Mac, you are appearing a bit obsessed!
Relax for a while.
Agreed, In both Limerick and Wexford camps though there is enough talent to be optimistic for the summer ahead, particularly looking back at last years championship. I would put far more weight behing ye beating Clare and ourselves beating Tipp and running KK in the semi-final very close then any game played in March.
Still not happy at all with today though.
[QUOTE=āThe Most Infamous, post: 1114420, member: 1783ā]Agreed, In both Limerick and Wexford camps though there is enough talent to be optimistic for the summer ahead, particularly looking back at last years championship. I would put far more weight behing ye beating Clare and ourselves beating Tipp and running KK in the semi-final very close then any game played in March.
Still not happy at all with today though.[/QUOTE]
Clare wonāt be worth a hat of craps this summer. Weāll beat them and lose by 5 to Tipp. A run through the qualifiers and anything could happen.
@choclatĆØmice I agree