Limerick v Kilkenny - All Ireland Final 2022 - The Hego final

We would have taken the arm off any man to just win one a few years ago. Now we have 4 in 5 years. Make hay while the sun shines. Some day it will end. Hopefully with another one for good measure.

But 3 in a row. Never would have dreamt of that in 2’18

That’s one of the amazing things about them. For a few different reasons not adding new blood to the team was supposed to be the downfall of All-Ireland winning sides.

Look, you can argue the others all you like, and there’s 4 in the shouting.

But without Hannon, I dont think this happens.

Its as simple as that.

Give him HOTY.

Jaysus that was a full on hectic day!

Cracker of a match. We had the chances. Didn’t take them. Limerick worthy champions and were fully made to earn it. What more could you want?

Roll on clubs and do it all again next year.

I hate the way they hold the hurl these days, halfway up the shaft. Mick Mackey would spin in his crypt

Ask your sister.

I suppose the main protagonists were from the 2015 and 2017 U21 winning teams so they’re mainly 26-28 years of age. You’d imagine there’s another 3 or 4 years in them yet. It’ll be a big transitional rebuilding job then I’d imagine. Although the Limericks will point to Cathal O’ Neill, Adam English and the likes.

Kilkenny are annoyingly tough. Got the fright of my life today.

Cody and Mullen needed to have big days, with one of the other lads coming out of left-field with a Taggy Fogarty 06 type performance. But it never looked like happening.

In the end TJ didn’t even score from play while at the other end the Limerick half-forward line hits 1-13 from play. Again it’s a credit to Kilkenny that they were so close at the death. Sheer stubbornness and refusal to give in. If they manage to get a few forwards to the next level they will be very hard to beat.

This is a once in a lifetime team, comprised of two great young teams basically, the young lads in 2013 and then that 21s team.
We know it won’t last much longer and we will enjoy every second.
My only hope is that this team has a legacy of making us winners instead of the losers we were until 2018 and that we will never again be 45 years waiting.

You called it pretty well beforehand

I’ll buy thoae whiskeys in Limerick

He’ll be like a new signing…

Classic of the genre report filed by Cathy Halloran from the treaty city

I’ll come back to all of this tomorrow, I am way too bollixed now. All I’ll say is you can never put KK away, this was the victory this team needed.

I think that was the best yet. You always want to come out the rightside of a close one. But fuck me it made it tough going.
That is this team in the all time category. It wouldn’t have been fair for them not to be. But had they lost to KK it would always have been mud to sling at the them, like the Kerry teams of 00s that couldn’t bate Tyrone. Even though they were a fine team themselves.
No fucking asterixs now ye cunts.
Kilkenny were absolute warriors, felt we were always better but could never shake the bastards off even though they never led in the game. They found so much space at times it was baffling, and I thought their fullback line dominated our full forward line. But they just didn’t have enough danger in the forwards. The goals were well worked, but it was all that kept them alive.

Quaid had one or two uncharacteristic slips. But his puckouts were pin point as always.
I though two goals aside our fb line shackled them brilliantly. Finn is all time. They tried to rain it down on them and they coped by and large brilliantly.
The Limericks warm up was actually hitting high balls in between two of them which ive never seen them do before, but they obviously knew what was coming.
And the half back line were outstanding. Morrisey went ovet on Wally after he caused us a lot of issues and then quietened him. Byrnes is in the convo for hurler of the year big time. So consistent. Nash was the best all year but for a corner back to get it they’d need a massive final and he was more solid than spectacular.
If you look up leadership in the dictionary, there is a picture of Hannon. Last ten minutes he dragged us through the game. He deserves hìs place in history.
Midfield was hard today, both sides tried to go over them. But i thought both fought hard qnd contributed well. WOD is a wrecking ball.
Tom had his best game all year, never hit the heights he is capable of but he misses lynch.
Hayes is unreal. What a ball winner. An animal. Cleaned Kk today.
Hego. By God. A man possesed. Christ he was unstoppable. He was throwing KK lads around like rag dolls. In the air, on the ground. Shoulders thrown. Rucks won. Points from distance and what a fucking goal. And the goal was our breathing space all game. MOTM. Another all timer. When i think of thr league game vs Galway in 17 and he had 4 goes at picking the ball before falling over it. He is Kiely/Kinnerks proof of pudding.
Mul worked hard but it never went for him. Some servant if he goes, he leaves behind a fantastic legacy.
Sham Flan never caught fire worked his socks off but not his finest outing.
Gillane similar. Think he was injured. Balls he snapped up all year weren’t sticking. Lawlor did a great job on him in fairness and yet he still caused a fair bit of racket.
Subs then were fantastic.
Casey hadn’t a huge impact but great to see him on the field. Deserved it.
Boylan. Huge impact. Great score. Load of work.
CON. See above.
Reidy. Again loads of work. Himself and Boylan are two more rubber stamps on Kinnerk and Kiely.

I would have been happy with one. 4 in 5 years. Dreamland. If this team never win another game it wouldn’t matter

Is that the Burlo?

He’s probably the 5th best Limerick forward but Tom Morrissey is a brilliant man to somehow turn up in loads of space by himself

TSG start with a segment all about them

Byrnes for HOTY. I think over the course of the year he has been the man.