Liverpool 09/10

[quote=“hannibal”]Hull made a great start last season and had great team spirit right up until that muppet Brown gave his half time team talk in the middle of the field.(man city away?. Their fortunes went downhill from there.

West Brom, if i remember correctly. spent very little following promotion. Most of their signings were on season loan deals. They at least tried to play a decent type of football unlike Hull,(Geovanni excluded). I got the impression that the West Brom board/chairman were unwilling to risk spending money in case of relagation.[/quote]

Ah that was a sign that he was really starting to believe his own publicity. Changed the keeper for no reason either. Think the lack of quality was eventually found out more than anything else. I’m struggling to think of who be brought in that summer, giovanni and boateng were frees I think. Still tho keeping Hull in the EPL was a significant achievement, Keane spent millions on sunderland the year before and was applauded when Reid singlehandedly kept them up.

It’s clear Brown is a spoofer but where does that leave Mowbray, Southgate etc

yeah i think liverpool are going to bury hull this weekend…‘chocolate’ brown is on borrowed time…players are beginning to play like they are sick of him too…liverpool (-2) is 6/5…

It is early October and already Liverpool have more defeats than the entire previous season.

I didn’t think we played badly today for the first half and Anelka’s goal was somewhat against the run of play. But once the goal went in we never looked like threatening them really. That said, after their second goal, Benayoun missed a sitter to bring it back to 2-1, which could have been vital given that Gerrard forced a great save from Hillario at the end.

You do have to question Benitez’s wisdom buying a 20 million replacement for Alonso that will only be fit when Liverpool are more or less out of the title race.

Benitez (fat spanish waiter) is useless, liverplop will never win a league with him at the helm.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]It is early October and already Liverpool have more defeats than the entire previous season.

I didn’t think we played badly today for the first half and Anelka’s goal was somewhat against the run of play. But once the goal went in we never looked like threatening them really. That said, after their second goal, Benayoun missed a sitter to bring it back to 2-1, which could have been vital given that Gerrard forced a great save from Hillario at the end.

You do have to question Benitez’s wisdom buying a 20 million replacement for Alonso that will only be fit when Liverpool are more or less out of the title race.[/quote]

Liverpool are far from out of the league. I don’t think they’ve got the squad depth to win it, but that said, with a little bit of luck it’s not beyond the realms of possibility. I wouldn’t be wild about any of the big 4 squads.

While we weren’t really outplayed today there was little or no threat - it was kinda like the hope was that Torres or Gerrard would pop up with a little bit of magic. Thought the decision to play Riera ahead of Benayoun was foolish. Got some decent ball out wide but there’s little point firing balls in for Terry and Carvalho to nod clear. Thought we should’ve tried to play through them possibly with Kuyt on the left and Benayoun on the right but both with instructions to come inside. Would never really fancy Kuyt against Cole. All in all, pretty disappointing.

Rafa to be gone by Christmas?

4 defeats and league gone.

Rumours are of a rift between him and Gerrard/Torres over the sale of Alonso.

Farmer, was the Rafa/Bruce row serious and what was it over?

I didn’t see it balloobas.

Two Sunderland players were down injured, one of whom Bent was eventually stretchered off, while the two were on the ground Benitez was tapping his watch, Bruce went ape as he knew they were genuinely injured

Benitez has never had or will never have the ability to win an EPL title.

The Villa boys are up in their hats here today…

Get back in your box and take your money grabbing hoor Barry with you. :D:D

At least now Pool fans know it wasn’t the money that he went to City over them, he just wanted a decent chance to finish in the top 4 :smiley:

Liverpool Beach Ball Thrower Caught On Video

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Rafa to be gone by Christmas?

4 defeats and league gone.

Rumours are of a rift between him and Gerrard/Torres over the sale of Alonso.[/quote]

Think Benitez might well be on borrowed time alright. Actually thought I had text you pre-game to say I thought we’d be beaten today but I checked my sent items and it appears it didn’t send. Don’t agree at this early stage that league is necessarily gone but the lack of squad depth, given Rafa’s spend to date, is appalling. That and the lack of him bringing anybody through from the academy really annoys me. There’s the bones of a good team there: Reina, Johnson, Skrtel, Mascherano, Gerrard, Kuyt, Benayoun and Torres are all top players imo. Below that you’ve got a tier of adequate players. I still have high hopes for Agger and hopefully Aquilani will turn out to be quality. But thereafter there is far too much deadwood.

I think it’s probably time to ditch Carragher too. I think Skrtel and Agger could form a Vidic/Ferdinand type partnership so I’d like to see them play together regularly.

Wouldn’t think there’s anything but hack journalism behind the rumours of a rift over Alonso. Nobody wanted Alonso to go except Alonso himself. And as I recall Gerrard talked up the possibility of Barry coming the summer before last.

Getting back to the point about academy players too - Paul Anderson had a fine game for Forest against Newcastle today and Adam Hammill did the business for Barnsley. These lads never saw the light of day at Anfield whereas lads like Leto, Gonzalez and Nunez were brought in as wide men and weren’t even mediocre.

In short, I wouldn’t be too upset to see Rafa gone.

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]I think it’s probably time to ditch Carragher too. I think Skrtel and Agger could form a Vidic/Ferdinand type partnership so I’d like to see them play together regularly.

In short, I wouldn’t be too upset to see Rafa gone.[/quote]

My sentiments exactly. Good call CC.

Pool get undone by one of their own fans. Classic. :smiley: United should put the final nail in Liverpools title challenge next Sunday. :clap:

Tisnt Pool your mob need to worry about shan…

Going to be some new songs being belted out from the Annie Road end next Sunday :clap:

I know they arent but to end their faint hope of winning it will bring a smile to my face. Liverpool were found out today as a two man team. If Gerrard and Torres played Im sure they would have got a result.