Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

For February Iā€™ll match your January elevation and you can match my mileage. Piece of piss for you.

Youā€™ll have some craic trying to find a hill within 2km of your gaff. Youā€™ll have to go up and down the stairs

Iā€™ll do my own thing. Or else youā€™ll have me out driving the car slowly every evening with Strava

Thereā€™s a lad I know who started doing some cycling near me. Wouldnā€™t be that fit, but was doing 5 or 6 ks in about 20 odd minutes. He ā€œranā€ a 5k for charity and did it in 23 minutes. Iā€™m not sure why lads would be bothered forging times. I heard there would be lads running and stopping the watch every k and taking a break and going again. I never even knew about the leader board craic til you mentioned it yesterday.

Elapsed time on Strava in the analysis section is the downfall of many a hero posting a PB. A 23 minute 5k that has an elapsed time off 33 minutes

Strava are clued into that.
All strava PBs and KOMs work off elapsed time, so you can say you have a PB but the app wonā€™t register it as such

The heat map on Garmin connect nails them. The oul Roryā€™s Stories run

Sounds like there is more to that one?

Yeah I wouldnā€™t be that tuned into myself. Havenā€™t had ten runs using it yet so havenā€™t seen much use or things on it. Iā€™m sure lads screenshot times for tweets and instagram but not sharing the strava details.

Did the marathon distance in a week the last 7 days. Took one day break. Going out in the evening times as it suits. Youā€™d get into it in fairness but itā€™s a commitment.

You didnā€™t get the ride this week

Edit done on that mate.

You shouldā€™ve been a teacher.

Or have better willpower at 6-7am

Ive done about 60k so far this month. Id have run this morning but was on a meeting at 0630.
Iā€™ll go weds.
Need to try and get the watch to talk to Strava really, but it tends to drop the signal a fair bit anyway.

4k there at lunchā€¦ Was aiming for 5 but I did a .5k incline that I wasnā€™t ready for and it killed me. That 1k will upset the apple tart down the road.

whos the apple tart and does ms sullivan know youre disappointing her?

Just in from a 10km shlog. I didnā€™t really follow this when it kicked off, and have no real target as such. I just go out and run. A 5km, a 5.2 km interval run and 10km done so far. A shuttle run session next I guess. :grimacing:

A steady 7.5k done at lunch. Weekend alcohol extinguished

First run of the year planned for later, would be happy with 6.30 per kilometre- Iā€™ve been too good to myself over Christmas

No offence mate, but is that actually even running,
Youā€™ll do 5:30 a k