Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

That’s my birthday a Christmas presents sorted for a few years now

I ordered one of your belts off AliExpress…3.50 :+1:

No wonder your hammers are fucked, get Asics or adidas

I think I’ll treat myself to a pair of spikes in the summer and roll the years back

Tis all the one, I only buy socks in Dunnes so I’m fucked regardless of footwear.

I’d say I do 90% of my running in Nike and have never had any issues.

Some lads think you can only run in asics

Yep, running shoes very much depends on the individuals. One of my friends is a lovely natural runner. Has ran two marathons (3’28 in 2013; 3’21 in 2017) without doing huge training blocks in advance of them (I’d say his max training weeks were 45-50km and there were not many of them). He runs in Asics Gt2000, a shoe prescribed for overpronators. He says they work best for him, so he ain’t changing, although he doesn’t look like an overpronator.

I was looking at some Hoka Torrent 2s lately for the trails but wanted to buy Irish (especially as they’re a new shoe to me and wanted a relatively easy process for returns). Nowhere in Ireland has them in my size. I was going to order the reliable Salomon Speedcross instead, but again I couldn’t get a single pair in my size.

They obviously never watch major marathons

Nike Zoom x invincible

52 per cent injury reduction

https://www.nike.com/ie/t/zoomx-invincible-run-flyknit-running-shoe-lQ6JKM/CT2228-101?cp=35596902505_search_||10564800174|103186513854||m|EN|cssgeneric|454138246558&ds_rl=1252249&gclid=Cj0KCQiAvvKBBhCXARIsACTePW9yrPctkUr8f-kJ43Ti9c6XIOLrAnqDZAD_9GvuXbREXlViEHipJYoaAi8BEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

This thread was set up to push products on us…

Coming across a load of sites online for running shoes and gear that I can’t get in Ireland

Trekinn.com
Bergfreunde.eu

Anyone have any experience of any of these places?

Not personally, I know that alltricks is owned by Decathlon and is supposed to be very good, reliable etc.

Wiggle is a big one as well

Never took to Nike at all, always get pain in the soles of my feet from them

First run this evening in my new runners that were suggested by @Fran. Lovely shoe so far. Definitely pushes you away from your heal and onto your toes. The fact that there are pink flashings on them isn’t an issue.

Just about to go out for a walk in them, I didn’t even notice the pink trim until you mentioned it

The Mrs took one look at them and said “they have pink on them”, sure I’m stone colourblind in anyway.

Seeing as we are having all our posts being monitored by the adverts, anyone have any good runners that helps on knee joint pain? I’ve a pair of asics and are grand, but the long distance runs have left me with fairly sore knee joints. Once I hit 8k I can start feeling it. Goes away after a day, so nothing major, but I would say a better pair or more cushioned runners would help. A website advising of good runners has a good few suggestions and most of them are in runhub. Best advice from on here tho.

I don’t think anybody here can answer that to be honest, what’s right for me mightn’t be for you.
It might be worth seeing a sports therapist if you are serious about sorting it out, insoles more likely to help than a specific type of runner. i presume you’re wearing cushioned runner?

Yeah I have a reasonably cushioned sole and I wear insoles for fallen arches. It’s as much a recommendation for a decent pair of shoes that help joints as I’d say the more I’d run, the better I’d be able for it, but want to get a decent pair to help that now that I am running more. Speed wouldn’t be the priority. I don’t think it’s a huge injury or big problem.