Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

you need to foam roll your quads and calves

Iā€™ve bought rakes of stuff off Wiggle. Themselves and NIā€™s Chain Reaction are the same company now

Ok ladsā€¦ Fuck off to the capitalist pigs thread with this stuff.

Listen to this man @Gman

Edit: and do your IT band

Train your feet pal, the insoles and orthotics are only a cod.

Movement101 should have Vids on YouTube.

I sent him a number of PMs on this before but he wonā€™t listen.

Hoka one ones are good that way, but you really need to concentrate on running as softly as possible. I changed with great concious effort to land on my forefoot and now tend to land on the outside of my forefoot and roll across it as the softest way of landing. Itā€™s harder on the calfā€™s at first, but you get used to it, and it just becomes natural. It was either that or pack in.

Iā€™ve been using these for over a year and they were the finest. Time to move on, whatā€™s good for both road and trail?

Youā€™ll probably get more use out of this style given your track record.

I completed 5k, 10k and incline challenge last summer, bucko. I also beat the sub time required in the latest 5k challengeā€¦ Youā€™ll be chewing on one of those boots when I beat you in the upcoming 10k challenge.

to add to your watch and flip belt and Steigen socks

All I need is those fancy socks the boys are on about above and I canā€™t see anyone beating me.

Fair play mate. I did something good once as well.

My track record = winner.

Oooh! trainer fwends

Have you been doing the 5km challenge in a pair of suede Gazelles? :astonished:

I used them last summer alsoā€¦ Not great for off road tho.

A pair of proper runners will do wonders for you.

For forestry roads etc., normal runners should suffice

There are some trail shoes out there that also work on the road. If youā€™re hitting steep trails or mountains, youā€™d need something more specialist. You will see people sometimes make the differentiation between trail and fell shoes (more grip on the latter but theyā€™d wear like fuck if you ever took them on the road)

I currently have two shoes in circulation. The Brooks Ravenna for the road. The Salomon Speedcross for the mountains. I also have two pairs of Asics Fujitrabuco, but one is about to be retired and the other is going to a friend because I donā€™t like the fit. The Fujitrabuco are useful as I find they go ok on the road as well. So if I was doing a long run with some long road stretches in it, Iā€™d use them. I used a pair with approx 400km in them when I did my marathon attempt back in October as the Speedcross would have been too rough on the road sections.

Iā€™m looking at doing the Kerry Way Ultra Lite in September if the body is in good nick, and Iā€™m researching what would be a good shoe for that (some road sections in it)