Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

I did 4K in just under 24 minutes the other morning. I bought a new pair of running shoes over the Christmas but they havenā€™t arrived due to brexit.

My current running shoes have seen their day and my feet were fairly sore after 2k and felt every stride from that point on. Will go again tomorrow again though

On 40k myself @Fran be half way there by Friday hopefully

:muscle:

Did a HIIT session this evening. Mother of Jaysus Iā€™m fair sore after it.

Iā€™m on 72km done for the month so far.

What did you do for HIIT? ā€¦ Iā€™ve been doing a few total body workout things myself but might get out and do some kind of interval run over the next few days.

I was watching operation transformation last night and Niall Moyna has come up with this

Basically you should, at a minimum for 30-39 year olds

Be able to do;
16 press ups without stopping
22 sit to stands in 30 seconds
Run 2.3km in 12 minutes
Your waist should be no wider than half your height.
Stand with your eyes closed on one leg and balance for 30 seconds.

I can manage all of them, (just about in some of them) except the balance. After ten seconds Iā€™m like a fella in an earthquake.
I wouldnā€™t consider myself very fit, moderately so at best, but fucking hell if thatā€™s the minimum acceptable thereā€™s a lot of lads in this country miles off it

Anyone under 50 should be able to do all that ā€¦ but youā€™d be surprised, when you dont use it you lose it fairly quickly. The balance one is the one that would catch me too ā€¦ my ankles arent worth a wank.

Anyway, isnt that roughly the Guardā€™s fitness test aboveā€¦ think they run 1 mile in 10 mins.

Clicked 39.9km total this morning but might get a couple of extra km in later as Iā€™ve to collect car from service :slightly_smiling_face:

Squat jumps
Push ups
Kettle bell pelvis thrusts
Sideway stretches holding the kettle bell
Plank
Kettle bell in one hand and up/down over your head
Shoulder taps in plank position.

Think that was it. 15 secs HIIT, 45 secs rest and do three reps so around a half hour in total.

Groin is well stretched and aching today.

Iā€™ve hired Joe Wicks to do similarā€¦ I can pass on his details if youā€™re interested?.. Body weight exercises only.

Iā€™m gonna chance a band workout later

Send it on the Leafy Southside WhatsApp group :crazy_face:

I plan on trying to log 100km running in the month of February, let me know if anyone else is interested.

100 in Feb sounds doable for me as I work my way up towards 10ks this month.

Put me down.

cc @TreatyStones @PhattPike

Three 45 minute runs a week should get us close by my reckoning.

Iā€™d be up for that chief.

Checked back through my history there and the highest Iā€™ve done is 60km in a month. Iā€™ve zero interest in distance runs (10km is absolutely the max I can mentally stand) so I canā€™t see myself doing a hundy. If I get started on a bit of trail running that might change but I reckon itā€™ll be March before Iā€™m at that craic.

Any chance you could throw up the 40-49 year old targets for the 75% of us on the board in that bracket?

Youā€™ll never guess what happens if you click on the link Juhy

Give him a break heā€™s over 40 he canā€™t be expected to tā€™internet

If there was a degenerate tip in it that lad would stand on his head