Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

Yeah huge, Iā€™d find it very difficult to motivate myself to go out and do an inteval session solo. 2 of the lads Iā€™d train with a lot are mid to late 50s so no reason why lads couldnā€™t take it up and get down to similar times. I canā€™t keep up with either of them at the moment.

A gentleman never tells

Iā€™ve kinda gone off the fast 5km challenges but I feel like I need something to kickstart the year

Was out doing some shuttle runs earlier and was thinking a good target for February would be to get below 21m 30s for a 5km again. Did a 20:30 last July before I got injured and have been struggling to get into a rhythm again but have put down a decent week. Would love to go sub 20 mins which is a target for the year.

Running 2 years and going under 20min for 5km (and you reckon you could get sub 17 etc)is some coming

Assume you were playing regular sport prior to starting running

Iā€™m as slow as a wet week but following on from your point about footwear, I found it was a good move to get pair runners from a specialised running shop, get good advise etc

I played lots of sports when I was younger but hadnā€™t done anything in a few years before I started running
I donā€™t think I could go near 17 without serious lifestyle changes, I could probably lose a stone for starters, at tne moment I could manage that pace for no more than 2k

You were running such fast times I presumed 96 was your year of birth :blush:

Plus one.

The Romanian dead lift with the kettle bell is fantastic for the hammers.

I struggle to do 5k in under 24 mins. That said Iā€™d take my chances with any man here over 100m :gun: fast twitch!

Ah sure itā€™s obvious in hindsight

What time would the good runners here do 100m in?

You can be as fast as you want, itā€™s all about how fast you can run with an elbow in your face

Iā€™ve no idea. 13 secs maybe?

Big difference between long distance and sprints. A good start, a savage accelerationā€¦ Hitting top speed within 15 metres and on the balls of your feet till the line.

Hamstrings in tatters for 2 months

Quads more lightly to rapture

Jesus the hamstrings would be fucking singing though at our age. I donā€™t think I flat out sprinted for the last ten years of my sporting ā€˜careerā€™

God no. Sprinting is for young lads. 5 yards in the head and a good smattering of dark arts

A bit of yoga can prevent alot. Running in straight lines is fineā€¦ Its the twisting and tuning thatā€™s the killer (eg Astro 5 aside)

Jaysus a flat out sprint for a fella over 35 and shtiff is asking for a grade 2

3/4 pace and small strides